Were you financially stable when you got married...........

…or was it something you and your partner achieved later on in life?

Re: Were you financially stable when you got married...........

Nope, my husband wasn't financially stable fully and I wasn't doing anything either(my inlaws discouraged me from studying or working) we had to live with his parents on a very little money for year and a half.

nopes

but its been 3.5 yrs and mashallah we are on one foot now.. i think its gonna be another 1.5 yrs before we are up on both feet... inshallah..

used to hear other couples say how they looked back at their poor beginnings and laff it off.. wondering if i ever will be able to get to that point

mashallah.. we have.. i sometimes miss those days where eating out meant goign to the 7/11 to grab an ice cream or honeymooning meant a weekend stay at a b and b. :)

im just really glad i didnt ***** bout the financial difficulties at the beginning of our marriage cuz now that we are comfortable money wise, i would hate to think i was a reason of tension for my husband rather tahn moral support .

Nope, had just finished MBA a month before i got married, had not started working yet, had zero savings, some debts and did not ask anyone for help, was not making great money in that job and had all the expenses to set up a new home, deposit, furniture, etc etc. the plan was to have an engagement not a wedding but thats how it worked out so was not ready mentally really and definitely not financially, but it was okay.

Nope.....things were fine actually, but a little over a month after our wedding his father passed away suddenly, which changed all our circumstances.....not just ours but everyone elses......even now, though we're not totally there yet, our circumstances are still 1000 times better than what they were a year/two years/three years ago...Alhumdulillah

No - We were both fresh out of university and though were both lucky enough to find great jobs had a tonne of student loans.

No, but it all worked out got.

Just to give a clarification I wouldn't really suggest others to get married before they're stable enough.

Then some of us will have to stay single all their lives. :D

nope we had both just finished uni when we got married so were just working minimum wage jobs but we lived with family for a bit so that helped in reducing costs and now after 2 years we are getting better inshallah within the next year we'll be financially stable like we want to be

Well what exactly here is being financially "unstable"?

to some it means not even being able to pay for rent and having to live with family members, while for some it means not being able to own that giant house and lots of designer clothes....

ahh but in there lies one of the big issues that is making a mess of the desi community. The definition of stable enough is dodgy. I would suggest as long as the person is gainfully employed and is done with an undergrad degree, they are ready.

here is how the math works

and before i get into the math of it, remember that the requirement for many girls families is that the guy have a MBA, law or med degree or Masters in IS/IT etc etc and be financially stable.

dude graduates at 21-22, not financially independent, works a few years or may go directly into the next degree
for MBA dude has to really work a couple of years..or should, so at 24-25 goes to a MBA program (avg starting age at most good MBA programs is 25-26) after two years he is out with his degree, so 26-28, probably has loans, or even if he does not, def has no real money. needs a couple of years to become financially stable, and even if we say it takes less. so the dude in this case is financially stable at 28-30. the timeline is a little different for lawyers and doctors. but around 30 is the number.

Now on the other side of the equation, girls ..or their families really want them to get married anywhere from 22 onwards, girls dont want a major age gap, guys dont want a major age gap, biological clocks are ticking. small window there. girls and guys who miss the window run into challenges, and especially those who are very picky because while they are being extremely picky, the field of candidates shrinks rapidly. seen it many times.

I agree with X2 on this one. In my family stable enough means you are able to support your family, i.e. pay your rent, grocery, car, other loans then you are stable enough. I think you can do all that with any entry level job with an undergrad degree. You move up in life as you gain more experience.

Stable is different for everyone but for me it would mean just enough to support a family. I dont want him to have it all before I walk into his life...ya know?

I was stable throughout mashallah

Throughout your marriage? ^

No before, after that women make sure there is no financial stability

Re: Were you financially stable when you got married…

^ Chalo Chalo…its because of us you all get anywhere in life to begin with…:rolleyes:

Aww we make you think that :frowning:

^ “thinK”…usually when you ask a man to “think”…he grunts something back that sounds like “ooga ooga”

So no…that would be false shakster. :silly: