On your wedding day, did you do the whole sharmeeli-bride thing or were you smiling and laughing as much as you wanted?
Re: Were you a shy bride or not?
I was totally laughing and smiling, but not as much as I wanted. My dad actually hushed me twice!
Haww, really? ![]()
Okay so is it bad to sing songs on your own mehndi?
i was a shy husband
I was a otally numb bride. I had no feelings that day ![]()
I'm not a bride but personally I like brides who fall somewhere in the middle. They're not super shy like head down, eyes closed the whole time but they're not too out there either. Although I did just go to a mehndi where the bride did a whole coreographed dance for her husband and during her entrance she danced her way in too. It was cute because everyone there knew she LOVES to dance but I think it was too over the top.
Middlish!
I love to dance to too sindhi...:(
I feel like its bride's day...she should do what she wants! If she feels like shakin her groove thang, it should be fine.
But then again we still have a lot of the haww-hayye karne walay jo kabhi khush nahin hotay. In this regard I find non-desi weddings awesome because its the couples' day to have fun.
I was somewhere in between. My wedding was in Karachi and I was very conscious of being seen as the corrupted Western girl, and making my parents feel self-conscious too, so I was more toned down than perhaps I would've been had my wedding been in the US. But I did not keep my face hidden or my eyes down the whole time, because that would have felt fake.
Aww, Reha I love to dance too! Its just that it was the first wedding I've been to where the bride did an actual coreographed dance so it was a surprise for everyone since we were all expecting a shy bride! But at all the other weddings I've been to the bride always dances on the mehndi but on the dance floor with everyone else which I think is totally acceptable. And I agree with you about it being the bride's day and letting her do anything she wants!
A very shy one…!!..I had the whole ghoonghat thing going on on the mehndi day…![]()
somewhere in the middle but like niki api said ..i was numb on my wedding day too ... i had no feelings ! :p and the moment i entered the hall ...and saw the huge gathering ...i did become pretty conscious ... :D
my head was totaly down at my nikah .. did not move it an inch .. but i have decided i will be smiling and laughing at valima :)
i love ghoogats.
Princess Diana....ahhh my heart melts whenever I see her wedding footage. She was the perfect, perfect example of genuinely shy bride who was also happy and enjoying her time. Her shyness just made her look so much more beautiful, gave her a nymph like quality.
You just don't see brides like her anymore...
I didn't try an portray anything specific, and was myself. They're were times when I was they shy bride (nikkah, walking in, sitting on the stage intially, photos with hubby) and there were times where I was smiling and laughing (meeting friends and family, the rasams, speeches, photos with friends).
I was spaced out through out most of the thing, during the Walima I just felt super tired and spent most of my time trying not to nod off lol.
I was also somewhere in between… I’m usually a really outgoing and LOUD person but knowing that everyones eyes were on me just made me feel really self concious. Guess I was pretty spaced out too. Plus I had preconcieved notions about “kya bura lagta hai” … Anyway it was all just really awkward for me. Dont know if others here feel the same way but I wrote about the whole awkward experience: The Awkward Bride ~ Published in Suhaag Magazine! | and I was surprised by how many people identified with it (do comment if you feel thats what it was like for you as well)… hahahha shattering the myths of glamourous desi brides I guess.
Maybe i will not be shy bride but for it i will be act like sharmili kainya ![]()