Weirdest nicknames

i don’t know why, but my family has some of the weirdest nicknames - this is direct and extended family members both. All of these individuals are now adults, but they are still called by their nicknames (though only close family members use these nicknames to refer to them):

Baba
Kuku
Bibi (No, Khanzada, that’s not me :hoonh: :stuck_out_tongue: :D)
Munna
Tunna
Aadmi
Hero :o
Acha
Khaasa (“Acha” and “Khaasa” are two brothers)
Bacha
Bachi
Bachu (above three are all siblings)
Lambu
Haathi
Cheeku
Guddu

hm i am sure there are more weird ones that i don’t remember right now. Does anyone else have any similar ‘unique’ nicknames.

LOL

We share some common nicknames in our families like Bibi, guddu, etc.
Nicknames are so common in my family that when my khala was getting married, at Nikkah time, my MamoN came in running and asked, "Sando ka shih name kiya hai" because they need it write it down in Nikkah forms :-D

It reminds me of another thing, once my school friend called me and my chacho picked up the phone. He hung up saying that its a wrong number just because he didn't know my real name either. :$

The most funniest ones in my family are,

Papoo
ladda
pannu
lala
meeni
gajoo
choto
pino
sando
moody
... and the list goes on :D

I havne this wierder habit of using someones whole name and never abreviating it :bummer:

hahaha nadia! i thought it was only my khandan..

heres a few

Juggu
Kaka
Kaki
Coco
Pinky
Gooria (every second girl.. even if shes 50 is called that.. not me :snooty: )
Babli
Nono
Momo
Chotu (my bro)
Aapa
Bibi
Nanna (as in nana bacha.. the guy is 34 now :halo: )
Nanni

I guess some nicknames are common in all families :smiley: here’s a list of the nicks i remember..

Bobo ji
Bibi ji - these two were the eldest in the family -
papa - its not papa as in father.. sort of a punjabi version
Kuku
Papu
Bilu
Babu
Nanna - this nana is almost 50 now :smiley:
Mani
baby - thats my mom! :hehe:
Nanni
Sonu
Mano
Aapi
Tari
Honey
Cheeko
oh and Guria..

My family doesn't really like having nick names but they still have a lot of em:

Need
Nino
Fana
Mana
Maani
Baasa
Sayl
Berri
Miyu
Chammo
Iiyu
Miya
Mitthu
Tub
Shina

my family seems to be big on calling boys:

phola
babu

Arite heres. my family...

Bilo (female)
Bilu (male)
Paa
Paapa (Punjabi not the father)

Kaalu
moodi
sooda
guddi
zaina
baby (dozens of babys, they are in their 40s and still called Babys)

yusi
naara

and whole lot more...some stopped being used...some i cant think of rite now.

Re: Weirdest nicknames

OH MY GOD…I cant stop laughing..Acha and Khasa

hahahahahahahah :rotfl:

i know several people with nick names like the ones mentioned here..

my own immediate family doesn't like calling people with nicks..but my choti phupho loves changing every single name..

sometimes i don't understand why people call others with nicknames that don't reflect genders

like munna for a girl..

and muniya for a guy

what i find really interesting are the stories behind the nicknames :-)

i have two relative uncles...one is lalay and one is balay..and some people ask them where is kalay.

*Originally posted by Sharafat_Ka_Namouna: *
I guess some nicknames are common in all families :D here's a list of the nicks i remember..

Bobo ji
Bibi ji - these two were the eldest in the family -

Bobo aint a nick...Bobo is punjabi name for Phupo. Bibi aint a nick too, i think it means mom.

These two aint nicks..they are proper words.

The wierdest nickname in my family is my cousins - Noor Jehan.
U might not think its wierd until u realise he's a guy.

^^...well its not exactly wierd if u look into it.

I mean..Noor is a unisex name...and Jehan means the world. Light of the World. That dont sound too femine..does it.

Re: Weirdest nicknames

Funny :smiley:

Mine was baggu gosha :blush:. It is a fruit (punjabi). Looks quite like nashpaati (peech). It is usually covered in a delicate cloth. I was impressed when I first saw that fruit :gizzy:

I guessed yours…
rite :roman:

A bit off topic, but i read this news clip a while ago, and no one can beat these guys when it comes to funky nicknames :D

KARACHI: Rangers conducted a successful raid on a terrorists hideout in Latifabad and arrested some of the most wanted bandits. There names are as follow:

--Kashif alias David.
--Ubed alias K2
--Salim alias Tension.
--Asif alias Dakhan.
--Ajmal alias Paharhi.
--Shafiq alias Dhobi.
--Salim alias Denter.
--Mohib alias Commando.
--Iqbal alias Topchi.
--Latif alias Ghosi.
--Shahid alias Dumba.

haha…nice thread nido :smiley: :hehe:

got a few nicks for family members here 2…

babey
nepu
cat/catty
bhaiya bhoj :smiley:

funny thread

here are some from my family

-Ammasabhai ( Ahmad Saheb Bhai)
-hitler mamu
-Jackya (Zaakir)
-Konda Phuphi
-chimpu (coz apparently the girl looked like a monkey when little)
-NariyalBi (that was for me, coz I hardly had any hair on my head when little)
-Boss
-Hafsar (officer)
-Balo
-chand
-bhallo
-Nusha
-Gayrullah

shud i disclose mine :hoonh:

guriya :blush:

i know its corny :smiley:

:smiley: Hey i didn’t think this thread of mine would take off the way it did. Thanks everyone. Some of you have some interesting/cool nicknames too.

Sharaabi, LOL i’m glad you found that funny! :smiley: Those two brothers are both grown adults now, bachay kachay sab hain, but they are still called “Acha” and “Khaasa”. :hehe:

Irem, i always loved that nick - i think it suits you perfectly.

DM, i must have the stupidest nickname :smiley: The only one who was named after a milk company :grumpy:

[thumb=H]nido6483_4708057.JPG[/thumb]

hamf :smiley: