ok those of you who are parents, have you ever reacted like this:
scenerio: a girl of about 5 or 6 yrs of age is coming down an escalator… her mom is in front of her .. the girl is a bit hyper and her mom is scared she may fall… the escalator descends and the mother gets off.. the girl all hyper tries to skip down the stairs to jump off, nearly falls down the remaining stairs but catches the edge rail… finally lands safely to the ground.. gets off the escalator but slips and falls face down on the marble flooring
the mother catches her… asks her is she ok… clearly the mother is shaken… but .. teh girl says yes i am ok.. the mother then slaps the daylights out of her for being a jackass i guess… and says *janwaro ki tarha acting karo gi yehi hoga.. agar lag jathi tho!!! * followed by even more slaps… clearly the mother was relieved that her daughter was ok and not hurt but.. it just made me laugh at the fact that … it seemed like all the slapping meant oh you didnt get hurt by the escalator, that was a good miss.. but let me slap you just incase cuz you missed out on getitng hurt initially!
does this kinda parenting make any sense to you parents out there? would you be so relieved that your child didnt get hurt that you would slap them to show your relief? isnt it better to tell them off.. something like.. see thats why you should stand straight when going up or down an elevator..
There is a classic Mullah Naseer uddin joke like this incident.
He sent his kid to fetch water from the water pond in a clay pitcher and told him that do not drop and break this pitcher also slapped him on each side of his face.
One friend who was watching asked why did you slap him before breaking that pitcher . He said " what use that slapping would be after he breaks the pitcher" :D
It is exactly what America is trying to do with Iran saying since you are going to make a nuclear bomb , we want to bomb you in advance. :D
i honestly found it funny not in teh sense that her slapping her kid was funny but the idea behind it.... oh no you didnt get hurt... let me slap you then!
maybe after yrs of living in a civilized society that prohibts the beating up of children, we have gotten used to letting our anger out verbally (though no cursing)...
what if we were back in the home land or a country that is not against beating up kids.. would you have slapped your kid silly for doing something dangerous?
probably khawa - I guess if you grow up around it. My parents were not "slappers on the face" even in pakistan. I mean you would get the occasional "chapat" on the back of the head or when I totalled the car at 16 I got a jhoota thrown at me. But I just resort to yelling which I still think I need to work on.
It's not like the child understand the consequences any better if you slap them.
If you are proactive and preemptive with kids then it gets you better results. No I do not mean you slap them silly like my post above preemptively. You need to be very vigilant while raising kids. Meaning you need to tell them consequences of bad behavior , bad manner , bad decisions , bad company , bad habits, bad morals etc etc. Need to teach them importance of safety and security . Reward of being good human being, good company , good habits , good morals , in short everything good about life. Start at an early age.
Yeah mirch - but that talk come BEFORE going to the escalator (or any situation). Believe I have a 4 year that LOVES to ride them. But before going on them she know how to get on, off and how to behave.
It's the same for older kids - talk to kids BEFORE the cigrattes and the drugs. Not slapping them AFTER they have already done so.
I do find it weird… slapping kids is crazy, woh bhi public mein sab kay saamnay… poor kid.
Why didn’t the mother hold the child’s hand? My daughter always wants to go down the escalator by herself, I tell her you can do so when you’re old enough to carry the bags
This is very disturbing. First of all, this is a clear example of a parent losing control, VERY common in our desi culture. You should ALWAYS maintain control. Do you slap your spouse or your boss when you get really mad at them? NO! Then why your innocent child? Probably because the child is defenseless and can't do anything about it, breaks my heart.
Secondly, slapping is the worst thing to do to a child, it takes a HUGE toll on the child. A slap on the face is shown to affect self esteem and self worth. There are documents out there on interrogation techniques and slapping is one of the most basic techniques because it's meant to shock the system, take away any human element and treat the prisoner like a sub human. A slap to a child's face is torture, don't do it, PERIOD. Tumhara bachaa hai, kuttay ka pilla nahi. If I EVER see a parent, I haven't yet, but if I EVER see a parent slap their child across the face, I will be slapping THEM in the face, God willing.
This is very disturbing. First of all, this is a clear example of a parent losing control, VERY common in our desi culture. You should ALWAYS maintain control. Do you slap your spouse or your boss when you get really mad at them? NO! Then why your innocent child? Probably because the child is defenseless and can't do anything about it, breaks my heart.
Secondly, slapping is the worst thing to do to a child, it takes a HUGE toll on the child. A slap on the face is shown to affect self esteem and self worth.
if the child got hurt, she'd remember not to do it again. and if she didnt, the slaps should remind her not to. this is a smart way to train animals in circus. :P
i agree with aahmed .... slapping is a no no.. especially on the face... but i think its the culture.. mid east as well as desi.. slapping is the only way we think we can get the point across to our kids...