Week 34 Questions

Ok ladies, I am back with some more questions :blush:

1 - Trying to understand all this difficult terminology ! So what exactly does “baby in Breech” mean? my Midwife said baby’s head in in the delivery position and I am headed for a normal delivery but I read some scary stuff on the internet about ladies experiencing “breech” at 35 weeks and midwives trying to turn the baby etc etc … how does one know that its time to tell the midwife tht baby is possibly in breech? :konfused:

2- Also , tried reading up loads on Mucus Plug. when does it come out? I mean should I expect it out anytime after 36 weeks? Some one suggested you got to keep an eye out and see if its green discharge afterwards then that means there is a chance of infection and needs immediate reporting to the midwife:konfused: .. once I see the plug out, must I immediately call up the midwife and let them know or wait until the next midwife appointment?

3- I get some shrieking pain vibes these days, mostly in the vaginal area .. just stays for a few secs and goes away and happens like once or twice in a day .. hasnt alarmed me yet .. but now I am thinking I have no idea what to expect in the coming few weeks before heading to the hospital. So please guide me.. how will I know that contractions have begun? and when is it the right time to call the hospital? like right away or should I wait for sometime before calling them?

4- I want to know how to recognize the start of labour pains

5- Whats this scan talk that everyone mentions.. so when does a midwife tell us about the expected weight of the baby? do they do any scans closer to the Due date?

Thanks so much everyone .. just that I am on my own and husband works late hours so want to be absolutely prepared, knowing what to expect and do when the time comes ..

Re: Week 34 Questions

One last thing, you can read up as much as you want, but there’s really no way to be prepared for contractions, labour and delivery, so try and keep an open mind about it. Its good that you want to be informed but sometimes reading too much on the internet can be a bad thing. For one, it can set expectations in place for things to go a certain way and if they don’t, it can be very distressing. Just know that no matter what, you’ll get through this and will have a healthy baby at the end of it insha’Allah!**

1. Babies in breech position are when the head is not downwards. They can be sideways or up in your ribs…meaning they would come out feet first. If this is the case, they try to move the baby so he or she flips…but if it’s not successful it usually results on a c-section.
  2. Mucus plug coming out may or may not be an indication of labor. You probably should tell your midwife about it though. When i lost my mucus plug, my water broke 3 hrs later at home and thats when i went to the hospital. My friend lost her mucus plug 2 weeks before having her baby. It’s just an indication that ur at the end lol. If your water breaks you should defo tell the midwife, esp if it is tinged green or brown. If u see the water is green or brown colored, it means the baby has passed stools inside you…if he swallows any of it, leads to problems in the lungs/breahing/infection.
  3. The pain is probably because the baby’s head is pushing down. You’ll feel his pressure and pain in your vaginal area cos of the baby’s head. It’s not contractions. Contractions are very timely and easily noticeable. You’ll feel a tightening sensation radiating from your back, wrapping all the way around to ypur front. And it will last for 1 min, with 3-5 min breaks between each. You should go to the hospital when you each contraction is 1 minute or less and coming every 4-5 mins for at least an hour. Thats when ur defo in labor.
  4. Tightening sensation, wont be painful at first. And will be very precise, time-wise. Read #3.
  5. It varies…some hospitals do a scan and some dont. It’s not accurate towards the end though…expected weight can be off by as much as 2 pounds. My friend was told she’d have a 6lb tiny baby…when she had her she was 9lbs lol. They’re not very reliable so i son’t think they’re usually done.

I just had my son so all these questions are kind of fresh in my mind haha. Hope it helped!

omg, so much information , thank you so so so much SGC and Punk :hugz:

SGC, I know what you mean about keeping an open mind. the only thing that scares me is that midwives dont talk much about things and generally the medical care of all sort here in the UK take benefit of the fact that the patient doesnt know much .. this can actually cause more issues .. since last few years i have made it a habit to go in well informed about the questions i want to ask and the possible terminology that will be used by GP’s or consultants .. becasue only then you are able to genuinely question them and they treat you right knowing that you are an informed patient .. Most people have started doing that now ! serves the medical staff right .. believe me, they just act crappy if you dont question them back …

Ok ladies one more thing I wanted to ask waters breaking … what to expect ? is that more like blood oozing out or water like thing ? is it going to be really messy? like will I need proper sanitary stuff for it or is it a short one time thing ? how long does it last? is it very painful?

With my first son, I was induced, so the L&S nurse actually manually broke my water bag…

With the twins, both amniotic bags broke simultaneously on their own.. I don’t remember much about their delivery because I all happened so fast and was quite scary, but I’ll never forget THAT moment! I was at my Ammi’s house (due to complete bedrest), it was early morning..about 6:30. It was the start of my 33rd week, and I was scheduled for a dr’s appt anyway. I started to sit up in bed and I heard this snap and all of sudden this warm, clear water started coming…it was so weird! Since I hadn’t experienced it with my first born, I was a little confused! I called for my Ammi…she took one look at me and called my dr & my husband right away. The hospital was only about 5 minutes away from Ammi’s house…ans I countinued to leak/drip amnionitic fluid in our car on the way…in the parking lot…down the hallways of the hospital…I was so mortified!! :smack:

Regarding the water breaking…acc to my experience it was very messy,not bloody and not painful.I was having lunch and it happened all of a sudden without me realizing that it as about to happen.I had been having slight contractions since morning that day an it was 2 days before the due date.
We were ready to go to the hospital and after I had changed my pants,I used a sanitary pad and a towel on the car seat,but by that time it had settled.
It is not something that will happen before every delivery.Sometimes the water does not break before hand,so just keep that in mind.
I was just glad that it happened at home and not when I Was out because I had been at babies r us the night before …!

My water broke 6 in the morning while I was still in bed.
I got up, went to the bathroom and another gush of water came out. It’s not like you’ll have one gush of water and then that’s it. My water kept “breaking” .. or oozing out until I was at the hospital where the nurse had to manually empty the water “bag”. Thank god I wearing a maxi pad :hayaa: It is not painful at all .. just uncomfortable .. feels like you peed yourself. But then the entire labor and delivery part is VERYYY uncomfortable :hehe:
This is how it was for me … might have been a different experience for someone else.

Yup, I agree…the actual spontaneous water breaking is not painful at all…however, with my first pregnancy, when the nurse manually ruptured it with that long crochet needle looking thing…now THAT hurt like a *%#$&!!!

It still amazes me that I actually *heard *​the snap!!!

ohhh ok, I see .. I almost thought it would be more like blood , but glad to know that its actually water oozing out !

Chips, thats quite helpful tip you gave there , so waters dont always break until last minute …

So right after the waters break, do you always get to the hospital? or still wait for contractions ?

Khatti, it must have really shocked you hearing the snap :cb:

when the water breaks, you cant hold it.. thats what the midwife had told me that if there is a discharge that you cant hold on (like your pee) thats your water breaking! I lost my mucus plug on Saturday and baby arrived on Sunday. My contractions started a few hours after losing mucus plug (that is bloody) and then they started to get more painful and uncomfortable.. I as fingertip dilated on saturday and then sunday when I got to the hospital, I was 4cm! It was agonizing to be having contractions through every inch of dilation since some women dilate weeks in advance without any pain!

Labor pain is like no other pain you have ever experiencend before.. I was having back labor and the cruel part of that was your back is constantly aching.. and I had the back labor because the baby was facing backwards.. he was facing down but instead of coming out sunny side up, he would be coming out facing down(if it was a normal delivery)the midwife had me on my hands and knees a few times to turn him into anterior desired position but it was just not happening.

i dont even remember how it broke, i was sleeping after taking pain relief injection, nurse came wth the breakfast she made me up n i told her i am feeling very watery watery n she said oh your water bag burst, didnt feel anything in my sleep :rolleyes:

its always suggested to go to hosiptal if your water bags because then baby becomes immune to infection, best to deliver now, my sil water bag burst but there were no contractions so doctor induced her

my waters broke when I was almost 9 cm dilated…right at the end. And it isnt painful at all just really icky and messy haha .

as for contractions yes you’d immediately know coz they are pretty timely. Start like a mild period pain in intervals and gradually build up.

SGC and punk have pretty much answered everything. Just keep an open mind and go with the flow.

:hugz:

^^yup…this is it what DA said.
Once it breaks you need to notify the doctor/MW asap.
In my case although I was having contractions ans the water broke at home…we knew that the contractions were not strong enough and were irregularly spaced.I was admitted and induced within a few hours.Things did not progress well nad there were decelerations in the baby’s heart rate so they had to do an emergency C section.

But just a word of advice…be prepared for anything.I wish you a smooth and safe and easy delivery,iA…but don’t be freaked out.It is good to be well prepped and read up about it,but don’t let it make you freak out of the whole deal…!

my water didnt break till 10cm…then doctor broke my waterbag with that needle Khatti is talking about…
it was yukk but was not painful…

my contractions started 2days before the baby was born…
at start the pain was like periods but then it got worst n worst…alongwith contractions…your tummy will be hard like rock at that time…when i went to hospital i was 6cm…i couldnt walk so went through wheelchair…

like everyone said keep an open mind and dont panic stay relaxed n think that this time will pass soon inshaAllah

it really depends on how things are run in your country.

here.. it doesnt matter if ure water breaks. as long as u arent oozing out green water.. u gotta wait it out until your contractions form.. after 24 hours max.. they induce you. … depending on how you are dilating.. some women just never get contractions on their own so are induced.. this was my case with mdiget.

it was a river for me.. i oozed water for 2 hours straight … the first hour was a gush.. the 2nd hour was still a flow… and i leaked until delivery. it was CRAZY. pads werent enough.. i had to use diapers they give at the hospital… any bladder control ones will do … i phoned the hospital and they told me to come in when the contractions started.. they never did.. so we calle din and they asked us to come by… we did.. after 8 more hours.. i was induced cuz the contractions just werent happening… from water break to induction.. 19 hours had passed.. they were laid back bout it cuz the hearbeat was strong for teh baby and the water i was leaking was clear with a hint of red which we were told shows that dilation is in progress …

so it depends on the water quality.. and contractions… dont be surprised if u are asked to stay at home if you arent getting either of the 2

oh the joy :rolleyes:

cant thank you ladies enough for sharing all this information. Really its helping me ease up on the whole thing. I am not at all scared of going through the experience. Coz like I said, the more I am getting to know about what to expect, the more at ease and relaxed I feel.

Even though there is so much information on the internet but half of it is so confusing you really cant create a mental picture of what to expect. I also am aware that things may not go as planned , which is ok , at least I will know the basics of this game .. I am sure I will able to handle the rest In Shaa Allah :hugz:

Jazak Allah once again for being there :hugz:

you are gonna do great :slight_smile: worry is natural and asking questions are a given.. especially the first time around.

my water was broken at the hospital. i didn’t see what she used (thank God! i would have freaked if i’d seen a giant crochet hook in her hand :p) and i didn’t feel a thing until the water started gushing out. over 2 litres of warm water came out of me (think about one of those big bottles of Coke that are a litre and times that by a lot lol). it was BIZARRE! it was like peeing but i couldn’t stop the flow, i just had to wait it out. i was lying on the waterproof hospital bed but there was so much water, i got soaked up to my neck because it just gushed everywhere. the doctor who broke my water was amazed haha. not something you feel special about :stuck_out_tongue:
after that, the bloody show started hard and fast and it was disgusting, and stressful for me because i hadn’t experienced any prior to that moment, and then came the pain. needless to say, i got the epidural very quickly past that point!