It's not rude and not about saving money, in UK there is limit i.e. how many you can have in a hall and I remember on occaison ppl were asked to leave becuase the limit has exceeded and it's for Helath and Safety reasons.
Some people Mashallah have 5-6 kids and their kids and you end up over the limit and then problem with the hall/Hotel Management
at our wedding we sent out invites saying 'no kids'. The guests had a good time and were relaxed and has a result made for a better atmosphere knowing they weren't running around having to keep tabs on their children. If a host asks, you should kindly oblige by their request(s).
I have been to a wedding where some kids were playing with the deco on the 1st floor n suddenly a lamp fell on the bride's head. And guess what ? The parents didn't say something to their children.
And another wedding where children were playing n started fighting. One of them told something to his mom and there was a big argument between the mothers. This beautiful wedding was literally destroyed.
If ppl want to bring their children then they should look after them or else don't bring them.**
My mom used to drag us to wedding when we were kids, I HATED it.... we of course had to behave ourselves and smile at everyone and sit in one place, it was horrible. Wedding are boring for kids.... I wouldn't put my kids through that torture. Getting a babysitter for one night should not be a problem for most people.
1) "No Kids Please" are often printed on the cards when the marriage or any other function is happening in a setting which is suitable for adults only. For Ex: Champagne Opening, Dance Floor.
2) I had never seen any desi or (card) wedding where they banned the kids, not in my life yet.
What do you guys think about "no boxed gifts"? why people want me to pay for their "ikhra-jaat" ?
We have been to desi weddings where kids were not invited and they were quite enjoyable events.
I prefer to take my child where I go because I want her to know how to behave in all sorts of settings and I also want her to be familiar with our customs and traditions however, if my hosts have decided to restrict their event and have asked me to honor them with my presence then I feel that I should oblige.
Besides...sometimes it is nice to have an adults only evening.
I dont think this is rude....everybody have their own preferences and constraints...if kids are not invited and u wanna go....do some kind of arrangement....drop them somewhere or find a baby sitter else stay at home!
I have never gotten an invitation for myself which states ‘no kids’..(maybe because my baby is just a few months old…:D) .If I do get such an invite I dont think I will mind it.If I can arrange for a sitter or someone to look after the kid,fine otherwise I will just politely excuse myself.
I remember when we were kids my parents used to get the invitations stating “Mr & Mrs” and it was understood that kids are not invited.It was never an issue when we were younger and when we grew up we kinda looked forward to such evenings when ammi abu will go attend a wedding or an event and we sisters can have a blast
I don't think it's rude. Some people want to host certain types of functions. When kids are involved, things are inevitably more casual. Though I don't have children, I wouldn't have a problem going to a function without them, nor would I feel it to be a rude request. Invitations are usually sent out well in advance, people have more than ample time to find a baby sitter or some other arrangement. If they can't part from their kids, then they don't have to go. And like others have said, sometimes it's preferable not to take the kids, because of the timing of the function.
i don't think it's rude at all. i haven't got kids but if my family recieved an invite like that then they would happily leave the children at home with a babysitter for the night. besides i think its totally inappropriate to bring children to an evening event. i've been to walima's that have gone on until midnight with loud music and dancing and ppl bring their young children and babies. it's better to leave kids at home in this situation
i just got a shadi invite from my buddy in New Jersey for August, it says 'no kids' but before the card came I was talking to him and asked him if this is the kind of thing to bring my daughter to and he said absolutely. So it might be for not so close friends?
I believe that it is their day, if they don't want kids there, it's their right, if it offends you, don't go.
No issue with an event that says no kids, depending on situation and how close I am and if i can find sitters and where it is etc I will plan appropriately.
local events no issue, but if its out of state, then unless I am very close to the person and/or I can find reliable child care there I will not go.
Unless it's a family wedding, I don't think my kids would enjoy a long and somewhat boring event where they don't know anyone as such and I would definitely not want them to run around with other kids either...so actually, even if the card didn't say "no kids allowed" I would try to find a babysitter for them or have some friend watch them... well at least at the age at which my kids are at now.
I dont think that we should always take 'no kids' policy personally. Many o times, according to fire marshal codes, depending on the size of the hall, number of exits, decor (banquet vs buffet style seating), number of guests, its safer not to have kids with you.
If the card says, "No kids allowed" or "No kids please" it is a little rude, but nothing to get extremely offended over. Like TLK said, there are fire marshall codes, you cannot invite too many people. I think people now understand that not everyone is loaded and weddings do cost a lot of money.
But I've never seen that printed on desi wedding cards. The better and subtle way to imply that message is to put "Mr. and Mrs. ---" on the invitation. If you want to invite the kids, then "Mr. and Mrs. --- and family" or "The --- family."
** Because of all these desi ppl who buy these 3£ glasses at the cheapest store. They prefer taking `£££ because they can buy something that they want. Not something that they’ll throw after few days.
I think having a wedding with ni kids is a very sensible thing to do considering most of them run riot. The person who spends thousands of pounds doesn't want their guests' children wrecking everything. The parents could hire a babysitter for the day? Leave the child at someone's place?
i dont have an issue with the no kids bit... what i was actually trying to say though was, how do u organise the kids then? lets say if grandparents are invited as well so u cant leave them there?
we havent been able to find a good babysitter.. actually havent looked is prob the right thing to say...
I dont think its rude for someone to say kids are not invited... actually it never really says is that blatantly on an invitation... if kids are not invited.. it basically just states ur name and the spouse's name on the invitation... and they leave out the "& family" bit..
and how are kids the ronak of a wedding? the bride and groom should be