Traditionally in Christian marriages bride and groom hold hand and
make vows: ‘to have and to hold
from this day forward;
for better, for worse,
for richer, for poorer,
in sickness and in health,
to love and to cherish,
till death us do part’ .
In Muslim Nikah ceremony all s Qazi does is asks the bride and groom if they accept each other for certain amount of Mehr.
Shouldn’t there be a wedding wow said in Muslim nikha ceremony too ? To remind both of them that they are accepting each other for:
better, for worse,
for richer, for poorer,
in sickness and in health,
to love and to cherish,
till death us do part.
Why I am saying this ? Because I saw a very disturbing thread in Life1 forum this morning where a husband is sending his wife to her home when she gets sick and she is seriously ill , she needs his help and support and he is kicking her out of home at a time when she needs him the most. Link.
Well, i don't think one needs to go so far as to say that vows should be incorporated, however, one should be advised / reminded of their rights / duties as a husband and wife.
Introducing vows to the Muslim ceremony, wouldn't this be biddah?
well mirchi bhai no need of that but such ignorant husbands must be taught a lesson so that none of them could dare to do any injustice with poor women who are becoming the victim of such idiots!
hmm.in my nikaah the maulana asked both of us if the marriage was our choice and not forced by anyone and that we should love eachother for who we are and take eachother as is and forget the past and take care care of one another no matter what..same in my sisters and cousins nikaah..hmm,Ithought it was standard?
who has more divorces? christians/goras or muslims/desis?
maybe for us there's no need for these words b/c (well most) of us know its there?
whereas goray/christians who apparently say these vows have a much higher divorce rate.
The thread you pointed out, is indeed very sad, but it is not a common occurrence now is it? I was sick in hospital, my husband visited me everyday, he didnt kick me out saying that I should pay my own bills. I'm sure majority of husbands are the same way.
who has more divorces? christians/goras or muslims/desis?
maybe for us there's no need for these words b/c (well most) of us know its there?
whereas goray/christians who apparently say these vows have a much higher divorce rate.
The thread you pointed out, is indeed very sad, but it is not a common occurrence now is it? I was sick in hospital, my husband visited me everyday, he didnt kick me out saying that I should pay my own bills. I'm sure majority of husbands are the same way.
right on the spot!
I agree with you vows mean nothing. Plus vows are not religious but cultural......
Nigerian christians have their own customs....... South Americans have their own.........etc etc...........but as i said ; " Lets not get carried away with what others cook in their houses.....anything could smell good from distance.......untill you eat it lol"
You are right too.
Mehndi , mahyoon, rukhsati, sahra, shamiana , shadi hall, very expensive shaadi ka jora , 10 course shadi ka khana , dholak parties, are all very Islamic traditions and adding wedding wows to this formula will invalidate all those very Islamic wedding ceremonies.
the western ladies are first to leave their husbands when they go bankrupt unlike us , mostly muslim women survive with what ever problems come their way during married life. and not even this I have a lady at work who wants to divorce her husband because his sense of humor is not good enough for us, they have 2 kids and she is tired living like this, and I was like duhh lady give me some space.
Mirch bhai are we talking about islamic wedding or pakistani, there is a big difference …right . Iran’s president Mahmoud Ahmadinejad 's son got married recently and it was a islamic wedding i believe.
saying kabool hai is wedding vow enough IMO. The rest can be said in the privacy of your own home and doesnt have to be infront of x number of people.
Christians take their wedding vows..looks cute and romantic at that moment...but its mostly meaningless gibberish later down the road anyway. sigh how quickly people forget the vows they took.
I dunno about having vows.....but I do like the handful of weddings I have been to where the Imam actually gives a little speech/lecture during Nikkah where he talks about duties of husband/wife, advice on making marriage work, to love each other...etc..very sensible/practical stuff for both. I thought it was great.
yep some Imams give really good speeches.....i absolutely love it. as long as they are not ridiculously long.
Hmmm, other than sending the wife away because she's ill, I also heard that some desi men like to send their wives and kids back home to her parents if he's going through rough financial times. Jeez, why did you get married eh? And in the case I'm talking about, the wife is willing to work to support the home. But he says it's against his "ego" to let her go to work but it's OK for her to go for an extended stay to her parents house. Shame shame.