Re: wedding lehengas
ChandaKh
yeap one should be amused upon hearing such negative comments. You know they were made out of jealousy. :)
ChandaKh
yeap one should be amused upon hearing such negative comments. You know they were made out of jealousy. :)
i didnt mean henna on the hands, i meant the mayone/mehndi events etc! oops!
silsila- i think what everyone is trying to say is that you cannot say one thing is better than the other and say one is derived from a certain tradition and one isn't.
you are not so original for wearing ivory. its not like you wore black on the shaadi day. just relax and stop putting other peoples choices down.
With respect pf your takin things out of context and gettin way to personal towards me. We are havin a friendly discussion on colour. Pls read my post and what i am saying there is nothing wrong with what colour u wear! Its personal choice. my bridal was beige not ivory x
everyone needs to calm down or i'm going to start deleting posts. seriously girls, we're all adults here- lets act like it.
all that was said was red is not the only bridal color; other colours can, and do, look just as lovely- the main thing is they're worn by a bride and thats what makes it bridal.
cool? cool. :)
lets move on!
Thanks somegroovychick!
^yeah i know...and there i was..thinking people would be more tolerant concerning what colors to wear....and man was i wrong...controversy after controversy......'green kyoon pehna' "dholki pe sar par dupata kyoon nahin liya' 'hatoon se lagta to nahin hai ke kaam kartee ho' 'eyelids pe shadow kyon nahin lagaya' "red lipstick kon lagata hai...mix karni thi'.....'base kyon nahin lagaai..skin nazar a rahi thi tumhari...makeup walon ko paise is liye diye they'....mom and i were shocked to her such things....i just wanted to run away from there as soon as i could...so much criticism.....and it didnt end at my infamous 'green gharara' hahaha....
LOL! i can sooo imagine aunties in pakistan saying that.
interesting find:
In relations to Aisha’s marriage to the Prophet, it must also be noted that, wedding was done. It was said her mum dressed her in a wedding-dress made from fine red-striped cloth took her to the newly-built house where some women of the Ansar( helpers), those who helped the prophet after Muslims were persecuted and left Mecca) were waiting outside the door.
so red isnt stemmed from hinduism....
I think there could be many reasons for wearing red- mainly because it is such an attractive color, also, color of the blood, heart, etc.
All of you girls looked lovely:
Silsila: pearl in an oyster
Chanda Kh: radiant emerald
Shay: sparkling amethyst and tourmeline
Pakifairy: royal ruby
SGC: priceless peridot
You all looked like GEMS; each beautiful in their own unique way:) Pray I do too!!!
I think there could be many reasons for wearing red- mainly because it is such an attractive color, also, color of the blood, heart, etc.
your right; my main reason I chose red was because I LOVE the color. My favorite color i pink, but I absolutely adore red and classical/traditional feel:):) yeah and it reminds me of Valentine's day:)
PF, my comment was not personal it was an observation of the colour red! The colour of red is taken/adapted from the hindu culture by muslims as well as mehndis etc! There is nothing wrong with that! But some brides, don't like red, and thats there opinion/point of view! I don't like it when ppl say ur not a bride if u dont wear red - which is where this interesting yet friendly debate began.
i agree that a bride is a bride, no matter what colour she wears. red, white, beige, purple, black, yellow, blahblahblah. its your day, wear what looks best on you.... wear what you love, wear what you are comfortable with.
To me, black and maroon are such gorgeous colors. I have always been so attracted to them and wouldn't mind having all my clothes in those colors!
For the longest time, I wanted a bridal lehenga where black would be a strong part of the colour palette. Half my wardrobe is black, so I figured, black can be done any time, anywhere. Also, my hubby is totally against black in the wardrobe, especially for the wedding. First of all, he wanted me to wear white (he's a coconut!! :P), which I refused point blank, since I cant see myself as a bride in white. His next choice was red, so after lots of sighs, I cancelled the black idea, all together.
I am actually thrilled I chose red in the end. The wedding sharara was gorgeous, mashaAllah. Very traditional colours with a mix of contemporary embroidery (stones, beads, light touch of pearls). True red pure chiffon with champagne applique and rich emerald pipings. I am thrilled to say that the look came off as classy & traditional, at the same time.
For the valima, I have a few outfits already made. It would just be a matter of picking one, once the date is set.
^ sounds divine! also sounds like you've already worn the red outfit... so where are the pics??
sgc, dont you sleep?
^ YEP! the rukhsati was in July!!
the valima is hopefully sometime in winter inshaAllah.
ill take pics of the outfit once i see my sister in toronto.
she brought it back for me, since i ran out of space! :P
hy every one do u not have to wear White for your nikkah(in islam)? im sure thts wat i heard.
sgc, dont you sleep? ^ YEP! the rukhsati was in July!! the valima is hopefully sometime in winter inshaAllah.
ill take pics of the outfit once i see my sister in toronto. she brought it back for me, since i ran out of space! :P
your rukhsati was in july so how come your walima was so far apart? just wondering in my family walima is straight after the baraat (usually a week or one day)
i wore green for my engagement ( though u cud wear any color)
I was still getting told i wore the wrong color, thats just asians for you lol :)