wedding lehengas

Re: wedding lehengas

oo im all for different color for the lehnga.. one of my friends did a combo of bright pink and orange.. and it looked lovely.. another one did black velvet with a bronzed red! that lookd HOT!

I wore an emerald green gharara for my nikah..and i heard so many HAAWW HAIIIS!! some even said I looked ugly, and have bad taste etc.....oh well..I got over it the next day..LOL....
i wore green because I wanted to..and apparently 'kabhi koi dulhan green nahin pehnti' hahaha..wear whatever color you like...the important thing is that YOU look good in it..not some model in a random magazine!!!
I am wearing maroon on my rukhsati.....Inshallah.....

ooo chanda.. whens ur rukhsati?

December Inshallah :)
3 months to go!

hey...not tha tim gettin married or anythin but just for future refernce.....this blak n bronzed red sounds interestin...any possiblity of seeing it sumhow????

red does not mean ugly, its a tradition copied by us from the indians (i could be wrong) for years to come. personally i never wanted to wear red as it did not suit me, i'm bored of seeing red lenghas all the time at weddings and I love to be different/simple/not in your face. its all down to personal choice!

my outfit had red in it and it was anything but "copied". one can sy ivory is copied from western culture s well. in fct so mny people are NOT wearing red now that i think it has it's own reglness to it. silsila, so i did not copy my red from some hindus.

To me, black and maroon are such gorgeous colors. I have always been so attracted to them and wouldn't mind having all my clothes in those colors!

Hey guys, every color is beautiful at its place. Whatever color one likes to wear comes down to personal preference, it has nothing to do with… it was a copy of this or a copy of that…unless the person wearing that certain color says that I like abc color in xyz and would like to have something similar for myself.

Even if everyone wears red on their wedding or white or ivory, or whatever; the color itself will look unique on every individual. At the end of the day it really doesn’t matter how many cultures have had it as their predominant festival color, what matters the most is that the person wearing that color enjoys it. :cheegum:

are u serious? When brides are wearing all sorts of different colors people thought green was wrong for a dulhan???

^yeah i know...and there i was..thinking people would be more tolerant concerning what colors to wear....and man was i wrong...controversy after controversy......'green kyoon pehna' "dholki pe sar par dupata kyoon nahin liya' 'hatoon se lagta to nahin hai ke kaam kartee ho' 'eyelids pe shadow kyon nahin lagaya' "red lipstick kon lagata hai...mix karni thi'.....'base kyon nahin lagaai..skin nazar a rahi thi tumhari...makeup walon ko paise is liye diye they'....mom and i were shocked to her such things....i just wanted to run away from there as soon as i could...so much criticism.....and it didnt end at my infamous 'green gharara' hahaha....

^ :eek: are you serious?? who said all that?

Chanda Kh

^oh lord. :bummer: Jitnay munh utni batain. Where did your nikah take place if you don’t mind telling? Was it in Pakistan or abroad?

lol shay....kya bataoon....in mein kuch pardah nashinon ke naam hain..lol...lets just say..i was shocked..lol..

sajal..exactly...
my nikah was in pak(lhr)...i went from US after 11 years....it was all good...as long as I am back here now.. :)

and secondly....i really wish people, brides, brides to be, would not bash each other......especially a wedding dress...colors do not have a religion....its a personal choice...

^ "colours do not have religion"... i love that! you're absolutely right.

also, i am horrified by the things you heard- yeesh! i honestly feel like pakistani's in pakistan end up being 10 times as rude and blunt as pakistani's anywhere else in the world. i think what it comes down to is being petty and jealous because green or not, you looked lovely, and they were probably wishing they/their daughters could pull off the bridal look as well as you did.

PF, my comment was not personal it was an observation of the colour red! The colour of red is taken/adapted from the hindu culture by muslims as well as mehndis etc! There is nothing wrong with that! But some brides, don't like red, and thats there opinion/point of view! I don't like it when ppl say ur not a bride if u dont wear red - which is where this interesting yet friendly debate began.

:) mehndis have been part of the Arabic culture for centuries...Egyptian mummies have been found with henna dyed hair and nails....Arabic Muslim brides have had mehndi parties prior to their wedding day.....
Mayoon on the other hand is adopted from the Hindu culture...where they do the ubtan/tael(oil) rasam... :)

awwwwwww thanks sgc!! horrible stuff comes out of people's mouths on the most important day of someone's life....i find that pathetic..and lowly...so as far as i am concerned....I dont take such people seriously..i was telling this to someone earlier..that instead of me being sad about it...honestly...i find it very funny... :)

Exactly, actually if I remember correctly then it is a sunnat to put mehndi at the time of wedding or any other happy occasion like eid.