Wedding Invitation Wording

hi i am new to gupshup.

i am getting married in feb next year.

need to print wedding cards in both english and urdu.

anyone has any idea what should be contents in urdu?

do you know any website that has the invitations wrtitten in urdu?

thansk in advance.

Re: wedding card content

How ironic, I was just thinking the same thing today! haha..

Somegroovychick is the person you shud get in touch with!

i think in urdu it says the same thing in english, but… in urdu haha
i’m assuming this will be a formal wedding, so the wording is as follows…

Bismillah-ar-Rahman-ar-Raheem

Mr. and Mrs. X and Y
request the honour of your presence OR request the pleasure of your company
at the marriage of their daughter
Miss XY
to
Mr AB
son of Mr. and Mrs. A and B
on Saturday, the tenth of July
two thousand and nine
at eight o’clock in the evening

Banquet Hall DEF
Name of City

you can find tons of alternate wordings online that you can then translate into urdu depending on your preference. VerseIt.com is a good resource.

when u go to the card organizers they ll show u so many samples so it ll be more easy for u to choose.

thanks a lot for replying.

@ some groovychick
i will try verseit.com though it won't be easy translating to urdu.

@ torquisepari
the card printers here do not have urdu samples. they can print if i give them the text.

it would be great if i could get the invitation in urdu.

**Once I received a wedding invitation, and the text in the card is so different, so captivating, couldnt remember the exact wordings, but the one in mehndi card is too different..Something like " chooriyoun ki khnak mien, mehndi ki khushbu mien,..."

" chooriyoun ki khnak mien, mehndi ki khushbu mien,..."

Lol! Thats so over the top!:D

let me find some urdu invitation cards in my home today n will post them here at night.

Lol! Thats so over the top!:D

That actually wasn't funny.. sounds funny to you because I dont remember the exact text... that sounds funky rather, unlike routined shadi/mehndi invitations.

for my mehendi invites, i had written,

Bring your best wishes
and your dancing shoes!

You are cordially invited to the
mehendi celebration for
Me & Him
etc. etc.

it took me so long to think of those two lines!!! i even posted a thread here about it :p haha

people loved it cos it got the message across about the nature of the event as we had a lot of non-desi people coming :)

Just saw your pictures SGC. They're wonderful! What a beautiful blend of two cultures and religions. Looks marvelous!

^ ahh, thanks lady! :)

it would be great if you could that.

but if it is too much of a hassle, then forget about it.

@tashfeen

chooriyoun ki khnak mien, mehndi ki khushbu mien....it sounds very nice. very creative

peshawar ya islamabad mai koe achi jaga hai cards ke???if yes mention plz:)btw koe apni shadi ka card post kar dai zara idea hu jae:)bahir sai dekha dai agr ander wala nahi dekhana chahta:P

Reception Invitation Wording

Hi guys,

Me and hubs are in a dilemma! We got married 2 years back in US but we didn't have a proper Walima/reception function because all his relatives live in Pakistan. We are finally having a reception party in Pakistan next month so we are not sure what to put down in the invitations! Please suggest the wording.

I found this sample online but not sure if it's appropriate or not:

Mr. and Mrs. CA's Pils
Invite you to join us
In celebrating the marriage of our son
Mr Right
To
CorruptAngel
Which took place [DATE of wedding] in [Location]

Come toast the happy couple
Saturday, November 2nd, 2008
Grovers Country Club
Plano, Texas

Or

Mr. and Mrs. CA's Pils
Invite you to join them for a dinner honoring
Mr. and Mrs. --- and CorruptAngel
Saturday, November 2nd, 2008
At blah blah banquet hall

Re: Reception Invitation Wording

Well I would say go with the 2nd one but either say "Mr. Right and Mrs CA" or "Mr. and Mrs Right" or "Right and CA"....

^Thanx lusi! I think 'Right and CA' will sound better. I also want something nice written on the cards other than usual stuff but can't think of anything right now. :(

Second one sounds better.

I was just thinking, since you're having an actual Valima, why not put it on the card that that's what it is. You will have a proper wedding card to always keep as well.
Here's an idea : :)

Mr. and Mrs. CA's Pils
Invite you to attend the Valima ceremony of their son, Mr right with CA.

Or:
Mr and Mrs CA's PIL would honor your attendance at the blessed Valima ceremony of their son, Mr right to CA.

yea i think second is better... i like YP's too... as it'll b ur Valima so have the word valima written on the card..... And i think in Islam aswell the shaadi is incomplete without a valima..