Wedding in Muharram?

hey all, hope u r fine, i just had a question, my sister is planning on getting married in december but we are confused on dates because we are not sure which date Muharram starts… does anyone know?

also, wat are the rules regarding marriage in Muharram? for Shia’s i know it is not allowed but is it the same for Sunni’s?? i know people usually dont get married in Muharram out of respect but we live in the uk and it is hard to get married in pak in the summer holidays because it is too hot and our only option is december when there are xmas holidays for the kids from school… so just wanted some help.

ure help will be much appreciated, thank you all xxx

Re: wedding in muharram?

I have no idea about the religious aspect of your query. But people die/are given life everysingle say, regardless of which religious time of the year it is. Isnt a wedding just another aspect of life?

hmm yeah it is but i think if theres loud music and stuff durin the wedding days it might be considered as unreligious or something :S i am also terribly confused...... o gosh!

muharram begins mid december. around the 15th or so.. my cousin is stuck in the same prob. she'll be getting married in december but it will be right before the 1st of muharram. it is ok for some to have weddings during muharram, but during the first 10 days strictly.. ppl will become engraged.. well thats what i've heard.

so after the 1st 10 days its fine? :S

I think this doesn't apply for sunni's. You can get married in Muharram if you want.

yes i think everybody respect first 10 days of Mohram...

and yes all the marriage hall and lawns are open in Mohram for marriage...if marriages were not allowed ..to phir koi bhi marriage hall ya lawn open nahi hoti Mohram mai...

Assalamu alaykum,

Majority of these customs have been passed on from the Hindus.
Mufti Ebrahim Desai said:

To refrain from any act, marriage, journey, etc. in some months, Muharram, Safar, etc. was a custom of the pre-Islamic era based on superstition. Rasulullah :saw2: condemned that by saying, ‘Laa Safara’ (There is no evil in the month of Safar). There is no restriction on marrying in any part of the year and neither does any part of the year itself have any negative consequences. And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Some people have this ideology that the month of Muharram is an unlucky or a cursed month, due to the marthydom of Hadrat Husain :razi: . Again, all these beliefs are baseless and wrong. Muharram is one of the four sacred Months out of twelve. The Holy Qur’an and the sunnah of the Holy Prophet :saw2: have liberated us from all these superstitious beliefs of the non-believers.

[Khayr, may Allah swt enlighten our hearts with the truth and guide us on His path and keep us steadfast. Ameen]

So go ahead, and get her married whenever you want to. :slight_smile:

And may Allah swt put infinite barakah in the wedding and give them the best of both worlds. Ameen.

its not just about whats "ok" for sunnis though, there are many reasons to avoid muharram other than purely religious reasons. it can be dangerous to get married in the first ten days of muharram due to riots that may occur in pakistan...it could be disrespectful to shi'i guests/family members that you might have. if you choose to get married outside of the first ten days, its still more low-key than shaadis usually are.

well my uncle whos very religious was once asked this question about marraiges in muharram and in reply he related that hazrat imam hussain himself conducted the nikkah of a man and woman from his kafila on the 7th or 8th of muharram, now i do not have any refernce for this so if this info is wrong then im sorry in advance but it does totally make sens... he went on to say that things that are haraam are haraam all the year around and shouldnt be done in any month, weddings are a sacred institution and if conducted properly it could be done any day of the year... and i so totally agree!

I second that. The reason why some people avoid having their marriage in the month of Muharram is due to the rasmein they carry out. Most of them are haram, (loud music, dancing, mingling with the opposite gender etc...) So people try to avoid it in the "Holy months", and decide to play the role of a proper muslim during that period of time.

It's just like Ramadan...Everyone goes to the masjid and prays. However, as soon as it's over, the masjids are empty again; families don't eat togather and the distance grows once again until next year!

Khayr mate, it's said there's always khayr in mashwara. Allah will do you good since you have good intention.

^ I completely agree with the religious logic, in that there's nothing** religiously **wrong in having a wedding in Muharram, even on the 10th. In fact, the 10th is originally recommended as a day of fast because it was the day when Firaon was drowned, among other events held on the day, and most countries actually celebrate the day with special puddings, etc.

However, since she was asking specifically about having a wedding in Pakistan, I'm just saying, conditions are already bad in the country and having your wedding in Muharram can be risky. Pray for the best inshaAllah since you can't avoid it and everything will be fine inshaAllah!

Cursing any time, is against us Muslims, so saying that the month of Muharram or Safwa ( i think Safwa) is wrong, you can get married on any day, at any time. Shia's have different beliefs and let's not get into that. But for Muslim, their is no such thing as a bad time, as Allah prescribes all time and cursing time is quite like offending him etc. Google it up for more specifications as I got married on the 1st of Muharram as well and alot of people were being critical, but that was in Pakistan and really they practically don't follow Islam. So google and do your own research :) Inshallah it'll go well for you :)

Safar... goodlord!

thank you all so much for the feedback.. may Allah bless u all for helping me out xx

if you dont wana play music, play naats and soft islamic type music.....my mums friends daughter did ths. and relgious text does not forbid marriage at any time excpet maybe ramadan times...not sure...

hye all..

listen 2 me strawberryorbit

it,s for ur favour that don,t arrange wedding in MOHARRAM, otherwise u,ll see the
bad results in future..i have seen the results... just trust me...

i think theres nothing wih getting married in muharram if the wedding will not contain music and dancing. Altho its not haraam, outa respect for th prophet (Saw) family i wudnt do it coz personally id feel bad

why wat happend?? :S:S:S
and after hearing everything i think it shud b b4 or afta muharram :S