Wedding in Karachi

Re: Wedding in Karachi

Everybody loves designer, i mean they are popular for a reason. But I think for a lot of ppl, that's where it ends, at admiration, because they know they can't afford it nor would they want to. And I don't think their lives are lacking for it :p And I don't know any body even living in pakistan who would cry b/c they can't go designer. It's mostly girls here (UK/US/Canada) who don't know better. I can understand that someone who wants to spend beyond their means really needs to get their head checked; however, on that same note, just because you can afford it, does it mean you should spend it? I know most families living abroad can afford a 60-100,000 lengha but to others even that is a huge amount. I have to be totally honest, I do feel like a hypocrite for balking at that amount. In the past there have been arguments against spending so much on weddings and judgment has been passed on those ppl who had "nice" weddings, that they were show offs, marriages will have less blessings etc and that did strike a nerve with some people. But...where do we draw the line? So many ppl complained that my parents spent too much on my wedding when they had no business butting in and it really pissed me off..in fact when anyone tells me i spend too much, i get mad. So even though the 825000 lengha and hte mentality that went behind it IS crazy, are we really to judge? I only slept 3 hours so I kind of don't make sense but..eh =//

I personally know a few girls who have done that, they are family friends I met when I visited Pakistan. Honestly, I haven't seen that many here who are that much into spending on a wedding dress. What I wrote was pertaining to WHY girls these days would rather opt for an expensive bridal dress compared to settling for something from off the rack or even getting something copied on their own. For the richer part of Pakistan, it's understandable that they do have money to spend but the other classes aren't always so rich and yet, the girls in those families insist on expensive dresses because of the so called fashion influence. Overall marriage expenses are really not my concern, marriages aren't usually cheap and I don't know why people can't understand that. I know my parents and my inlaws are planning on spending a heck lot of money on my wedding because it will be the first one on both sides but I am sure that even they draw a line when it comes to 16k dresses.

i think if you like a designer outfit and can afford it, thats fine, but if you can't afford to spend so much on it, why wouldn't you go get it made from a bazaar? my mehendi gharara was a copy of a karma gharara and frankly, i don't think even karma could have done a better job... it was stunning! there was gorgeous kaam on it and it cost me a fraction of what i would have paid the designers. i don't care so much about their name... do i wear gucci and prada on a daily basis? no. does that matter to me? no. so why should it matter who made my dress so long as its good quality and what i want?

i think its really dumb that people would look down on an "off the rack" garment.... it reeks of immaturity.

holy crap i wrote a lot :eek:

Wow 825000 wedding dress, no baba I dont have that much money hehe and just for one night. I want to spend but no that much hehe.

It should be reasonable. How about Karachi markets, where can I find good shararas, I have heard Jama is good.

The best and the most trusted one...but you'll need straight five hours to; commute, find parking or a cab and of course over 100 outlets to browse.....and finally...you'll find your choice.

Moulvi Musafir Khana is my only branch where I feel horrendous to visit due to car parking and a deluge of traffice on M. A. Jinnah Road.......near Radio Pakistan-Karachi. At the same time...this road never sleeps due to SABRI NIHARI and DILPASAND being right there.

Khush Rahein......

My aunt got her shaadi ka jora from India which sana safina'z said would design for some bulky price she got it for so much lesser from there..even if you add up the airplane ticket prices and all..

825k is outrageous but ppl in Pak will try to justify it by saying shadi ek baar to hoti hai...huh...andit doesnt stop at just shadi ka jora, ppl make dozens n dozens of dresses for sake of showing off.....Hello?? By the time you get to the 15th dress everything is already out of fashion...how unreasonable and retarded!!

^ the 30-50 joras was practical a few generations ago (when fashoins didnt change so quickly and there was always something happening) but not anymore. But ppl in pak still get them b/c they come in use for them more than for ppl living abroad...personally nowadays i think its better to get a few good joras than for a large amount of so-so ones...

people do spend a lot on those 30-50 mostly formal and then some casual dresses...i just don't see a need for so many party outfits even in Pak....Infact, in Pak the fashion changes often and it's not difficult to make some new dresses when a person needs to....I think it's just one of those cultural practices adopted by Pakis that doesn't make sense no matter what!!

Pakis don't make sense :p

dresses for 500,000? 825,000?
i dont believe you.

I agree, people like me who live abroad and have not much plans to go to Pakistan quite frequently have to make more dresses than normal, like around 25-30.

Get a copy of the famous magazine LIBOS or visit the website....
It will be mind boggling for you..and quite a few on this thread!

Another thing......first I do not give hypothetical statements, second I do not lie........I may have my weak points (like everybody) but a liar...I am not! I can quote you examples and weddings......where dresses worth even a MILLION Rupees have been ordered and worn.....

Its a mad world out there-----bachhay!

IF a wrist watch can cost Rs.2.5 Million.....a wedding dress is no less important for the very fortunate ones!

Khush Rahein.....

Arjay is right!

I requested a qoute from Umar Sayeed recently for a few bridal dresses and the qoutes that I got were 5 lakh, 6 lakh and 8 lakhs. It’s all about supply and demand…If people are willing to pay for it, then the designers are obvioulsy going to charge you extortionate prices!

If you go to Umar Sayeeds website:

http://www.umarsayeedus.com/

when you click on womenswear section, the bridal lehengha shown by the model lying on the couch is for 825,000!!!

omggg
this is unbelievableee
i mean..considering the fact that people in pakistan can afford dresses which cost around $10-15,000

i think id want a car or something with that kinda money lol

but what are they selling? quality of product or their name? or both?
i mean that outfit better have something outta this world for someone to pay that price for it.

DONT LOL!!! I have attended a wedding in Lahore some two years back where the girl, besides Rs.580,000 worth jorra and tons of other items...was seen off with a PRADO and a house....aggregating to Rs.30 Million (TEEN CRORE) from her Dad (my school fellow)..........as jahez !!!

I called my friend a crazy horse...and he reverted sayin "KIYA KAROUN...CIGARETTE BANAKAR PEEYOUN NOTOUN KO......APNI QABARR MEIN LAYKAY JAOUN KIYA?"............I was his guest for 10 days and he lodged me at the PC..alongside over 15 guests who came from Dubai and Bahrain....

Tow ye car waar...subb azaaq ho k reh gaya hai bachhay....lagta hai ugglay duss saal baad....A JET PLANE SIX SEATER will be gifted to the girl.. by the parents!!!

Ye shaadi pe kharchaa eri samajh se ba'la tarr hai.....total nonsense.
**The best is that what ever money you would spend for dnner reception and jorra ghorra...should be handed over to the girl or the oy by their parents...to keep it...spend it or burn it.....but this spending huge amounts to invite people....is absurd!!! **

Yes----the immediates of MOM & DAD be invited or they should themselves join...hold a mini reception and allah allah kher se allah... larka - larki apnay gharr aur.....

....KHUSH RAHEIN.

WOW!!! i had no idea people spent that much on gifts! 580,000 worth of stuff?????????!!!! holy crap. i see his point though about the money, however, he could have made a donation to a charity instead or sponsored thousands of kids. oh well, to each their own.

Rs.15 Million (EIK CRORE) goes to various..like EDHI, Yateem Khanas and some NGOs like..TCF, AIDA REAUE and FOUNTAIN HOUSE-Lahore.. every Ramazan from him with instructions that his name not be quoted...! This is besides food every FRIDAY at Central Jail for inmates..and the food menu; Chicken/Mutton Pulao, Nihari, Taaftaan, Zarda and soft drinks.

Khush Rahein..........