Hye everyone, I need help. I am getting married in Karachi in March 2008 but I live in Canada. I will be going to Pakistan just two weeks before my wedding and have to do all the preparation.
Please guide me about dresses, gold jewellers, bridal accessories, makeup, photographer, etc.
There are several threads on this topic. Please do a quick search for information.
I was in the same situation a few years ago. I was married in the Karachi Sheraton, got my make up done at Cistre, mehndi at the Creek Club, and photography by Hakim and Sons.
take all ur appointments on da phone in jan itself... ur family members or in-laws(who ever is in khi) can go n pay da advance if required...
im just going a week before my shadi, but all da bookings have been made since july...but den dec is a heavy shadi season, not sure how it is march...but always safe to get ur appointments done on time, n u just have 2 or so months left :)
im getting married in march 2008 2 in karachi.... im hoping 2 book alle noora for my make up n just my mehndi function isnt decided where itll be.... sob sob
You can always look up SAMANZAAR at Clifton near Clifton Centre.. which belongs to my cousin's wife Shaiyyane Malik. She has a nice collection and designing and both of my daughters had their wedding dress made by her. I'll recommend a good discount for you or any GS member....
Incidentlt...her husband..my cousin...Sohail Malik is also a TV actor and Stage Drama Director (English Plays) besides a flight engineer at PIA.
Thanks for all the replies. Regarding the wedding hall, it will be booked their by sister in laws family. I am not worried about it. I am just worried about me hehe. I mean makeup, dresses and photography in particular and also I have to lose some weight till then.
I have gone through some of the previous threads and that really helped me out. However, I would like to know average estimate of the money spent on makeup, photographer, dresses in Karachi.
However, I would like to know average estimate of the money spent on makeup, photographer, dresses in Karachi.
MAKE UP--------> From Rs.10,000 to 50,000
PHOTOGRAPHS----> Rs. 50,000 plus if by Rooha Ghaznavi or Jimmys or Zaidis (though not much in demand these days due to a volley of digital cameras with family members and created websites for posting them to family/friends as prints of the pics have become very limited.....to the extent of ONE album for the blissfull couple and their parents only) *
*]DRESSES-----> From Rs.100,000 to Rs. 500,000 if by Faiza Samee or Samanzaar...and the list goes on...and on and on. Interesting, there was recently a wedding dresses made for someone I will not quote her....for Rs.825,000 **only.*
Khush rahein......
BHARRA PARRA HAI YE MULK AISAY PAGALLOUN SE…!! Apko heiratt hogi k Rs.1000,000 ka jorra bhi banna hai last year!!! jo shayadd aik barr hee pehna gaya hai…!!
Sahee kaha aap ne…bohat takleef hai unn logon ko jinkay pass faaltoo paisa hai…aur Maulana Edhi dekhtay reh jaatay hein…
On the other hand…ye AAN O SHAAN (not filmstar) ka mas’ala kuchh ziyada hee zorre pakkar gaya hai…like inviting people for weddings at Marriot, Sheraton or PC and offering dinner means straights Rs.1.5 Million bill!
You can always look up SAMANZAAR at Clifton near Clifton Centre.. which belongs to my cousin's wife Shaiyyane Malik. She has a nice collection and designing and both of my daughters had their wedding dress made by her. I'll recommend a good discount for you or any GS member....
Well you know how us paindu girls have low taste…we find 50-100,000 dresses gorgeous..of course any classy girl with good taste who doesn’t want to go to the dirty bazaars sticks to designers and finds off the rack paindu and low class:snooty: :pagli:
^ did it have real diamonds on it or what? or was it made of actual gold?
ridiculous!
and i agree with you, sara-- my dress cost me around 62000 rupees and it was gorgeous… i just don’t see what spending another 62,000 could have gotten me that i didn’t already have! bazaars are awesome because you can get whatever you want made to your specs with the finest quality, and i can vouch for that, and not spend a fortune doing it either. And if you don’t have time, theres ready-made options – off the rack is NOT paindu
^ try saying that to the snobs who think they’re too good for off the rack.
then again, a small minority of ppl go there anyway, the majority ppl still go to bazaars (anarkali, rang mahal etc) b/c they know there’s more variety and they can afford it..so i doubt they’re losing any business :pagli:
The 8+ lakhs dress was about 16,000 dollars??!! Oh my Lord! I understand that alot of people in Pakistan are filthy rich and some of them don't even know what to do with that much wealth but look around you man, there's so much poverty and what not. It's ridiculous that someone would spend SO much money. I really wanna see a pic or find out what exactly was on this dress that made it so expensive :S
^^Sara, you're right. It is usually the so called 'elite' class of Pakistan who mostly opts for designers and all, and all the wannabes who want to follow them. I know of a couple of girls belonging to 'middle class' families who cried and cried to get a designer bridal dress when they very well knew that their parents couldn't afford them. I mean there are customers out there, that's why the Pakistani fashion industry is flourishing so much. Not only that but any paki channel you watch these days, they all have tons and tons of shows just about the designers and the fashion scene so naturally, it will eventually get to people and influence them especially young girls- that's where alot of them want to follow the trend.