Hi,
I live in California and will be getting married soon. I know its too soon but I am already going hyper thinking about the perfect dress and the perfect jewellery and the perfect makeup. We dont have any desi salons around the area I live, so I was thinking of getting my makeup done by MAC or any other local salon that we have here. I was thinking to take a few pictures to the makeup artist to give her an idea what kind of makeup is expected. I want my eye makeup to be more dramatic like the way I see on pakistani brides. There is a show on GEO tv Saj Dhaj, they sometimes show beautiful bridal makeup with shimmery eye shadows. I couldnt find any close up picture of eyemake here in the wedding section of this forum, so could you please guide me to a website where they show bridal makeup or post any pictures. I really want to have a few pictures before I can decide what to show the makeup artist.
I Bought my wedding day dress which is maroon color with white work and stones on it, so the makeup should probably compliment with my dress??
I know this is yet another thread on bridal makeup and another hyper bride-to-be, but I am just going crazy thinking about all this..
Maybe you can try to contact someone in your area that recently got married, sometimes there are desi salons where ladies are working from home independently and yet still their work is very nice...you can try to find out if anyone is running bridal makeup from home by talking to desi ppl in ur area if thats the kind of makeup you want...depending on ur dress & jewlery, u can decide how heavy/light the makeup should be to go with the overall work....good luck! your dress sounds lovely as well, did u get from US also? if you ask desi clothing stores for info on make-up in the area, they may give u some leads as well.
Lublyjubly, That would be helpful in knowing what products are used in desi style makeup, i can tell that to the makeup artist here then. Thank you.
Yes i bought from an indian boutique here in California..
I know everyone seems to love MAC but don't limit yourself to them. It depends A LOT on the individual make-up artist you get so MAC is not always a guarantee. Their makeup colors are just very vibrant and their dramatic style often (but not always) suits us because we tend to wear dark or bright colors on our events.
But do try different counters. Keep in mind what kind of make-up you like and what suits you. Take your jora's dupatta or at least a picture of it to your trials and tell the makeup artist what you will be wearing and that the dupatta will be on the head, etc. If you have pics of desi brides that you like, that will help. A makeup artist will either play up your eyes or your lips. So if you do dramatic eyes, then lip color should be less dramatic and vice versa. I guess in desi weddings, the focus is on the eye make-up so you can tell her to play up your eyes. Other than makeup brand counters, if your local mall has a Sephora, try the makeup artists there. Its always worth a try.
I went to the Estee Lauder counter today at the mall and they tried some colors on my eyes, Estee Lauder has natural tones so the result wasnt what I was expecting it to be.. but then again I didn't show her any pictures of what I wanted. I just wanted to play around with colors and see how it comes out. Anyway, I liked the look but it was too natural, even their darker shades were natural. So, I guess I will try either Lancome, clinique or MAC.
By the way there's a book or magazine published in UK and it has bridal makeup and outfit pictures.. does anybody knows its name? I guess it's something like Bridal Asia Magazine or something like that..
Re: Looking for makeup artist in California (Northern)
could you tell us humeira about the makeup artists in san francisco san jose area? what are their charges etc. and if they travel to nearest cities?
and also if they are any good
Re: Can someone recommend a Bridal makeup artist in California?
hiya…
don’t go to farah she SUCKS… totally screwed up my face! AND charged me for it! she didn’t clean her brushes before using them, she charges like $150-$200 for JUST the trial.. she’s really not that great either.
definitely got to MAC.. i paid $75 for shaadi and $175 for valima, complimentary trials, and they came to the hotel and did it as well without any extra charges. i heart MAC :faint:
if you wanna go the desi route, try the kibriya sisters, i forgot what their company is though.
Re: Can someone recommend a Bridal makeup artist in California?
i wore hijab so i didnt have to deal with hair stuff. and my friend pinned the dupatta for me at the shaadi, and my husband pinned it for me at the valima. hehe…