Wedding drama

Re: Wedding drama

Are you the eldest by any chance? I agree with what some other posters have said, your dad is balking at the idea of you having found someone on your own, and he wasn't involved in the process. The least he can do is meet the guy before all this drama.

You are in your mid 20s I assume as a 2nd/3rd year med student. If you are absolutely dead sure about marrying this guy, then I wouldn't suggest waiting for residency to finish to marry him, you'll be in your late 20s/30 by then, and if you both end up matching at different places, you'll have to do long distances, and that without being married is going to be very hard, people grow apart, etc. Don't make loans an issue honestly, both of you will have loans, and will have to pay them off well into your 30s. I know plenty of people who took loans for med school, both partners met in med school, and got married, and are paying off their loans. As long as you both understand that financially things will tight for a few years, and can accept that fact, then I don't see a reason to wait.

So talk to someone that your father and you are both close to, someone he can listen to and explain your POV. Get married in 3rd/4th year, apply for couples match, and chances are good for couples matches so iA it'll work out. Best of luck.

It may tough but if you both are sincere and willing to sacrifice then there should not be problems. You can involve family friends who can convince your father. Wish you all the best.

Yes, I'm the oldest. And the first one in the family that's bringing someone home for marriage on their own (my other cousins in Pak had arranged marriages and the one cousin that had a love marriage to some girl in the family was shunned from some of our elders for picking his own girl--EVEN THOUGH SHE'S A RELATIVE. ugh).

Yes I'm in my mid 20's and so is the guy. he's looking at a lengthy residency as of now--6-7 years at least WITHOUT a fellowship and mine is probably going to be around 4 years. If we wait until then, we're going to be in our mid 30's by the time we're "settled" and that thought scares me.

Our school is pretty understanding about couples and if you're married they do everything they can to try to place you in the same location for rotations...so that's at least 1-2 years of somewhat of a "stable" married life where we can live in the same house together and, even though we'll be broke students living off loans, we can have some sort of normal adult life as opposed to living off ramen noodles in a studio apartment like a bum. Couples match is also something that we for sure want to do. His residency of choice is significantly more competitive than mine but he's a smart dude, mA, so I'm willing to compromise on location and try to match with him. The idea of having to wait until we're 35-36 (or older if either of us does a fellowship) to START our married life together is hard to imagine. We both live away from home, and I'd be lying if I said we didn't want that companionship sooner rather than later. We've already accepted that money will be tight, and he's good with financial aspects so we're planning it out. Plus, we'll be doing the Income Based Repayment option so that should help a little with paying back our loans. And I mean, we're NOT planning on running off. We're both from fairly strong family units (even though mine sounds insane right now, I realize) and they wouldn't just leave us out there on the streets if we really needed help (not that either one of us is relying on that).

We're dead-set on marrying each other. So we don't see the point of making it more difficult on one another by waiting. In the even that couple's match doesn't work out (God forbid) then even if we DO have to do long distance , at least it won't be the end of the world if we fly out and visit each other since we'll be MARRIED. To do that as his gf / fiance would be impossible. Our families are both very conservative and wouldn't be okay with it.

Also, we both have younger siblings that are reaching the age of marriage. My family wants to have me married before they look for my brother and sisters. For me to wait until i'm in my mid 30's would be ridiculous in that regard too.

**There are hiccups in every marriage or situation that will lead to marriage.

If you've made the decision to marry, have the strength to follow through and deal with the hiccups. If you can, you're ready for marriage. If not, wait for the right time.

All the best!**

Get married. The job stuff will fall into place later. Hospitals/residencies/med schools are understanding of these things and quite supportive actually.

It's funny because before I was thrown into the whole medical world, I had always heard that the entire profession was sooooo anti-family and anti-marriage and your superiors would judge you if you ever even mentioned wanting to get married/have kids/take family into consideration when it came to your career. After this past year or so I've realized that that's not the case at all --at least not at the institution that I'm not. It's not an Ivy league school, I'll give it that, but there's been plenty of people that have gotten engaged/married/had kids during their 4 years here and the school was fairly understanding. Unfortunately, that "condescending/judgey" image still exists to people outside the field and my parents believe that to be true, as well. My dad has voiced his concern that I won't ever finish school if I get married, which BAFFLES me because my bf knows and respects my career aspirations (he's in school with me and sees how hard I work...) and I feel like if he didn't want to be with a girl that wants to be a dr, he wouldn't be leading me on since he MET ME IN MED SCHOOL.

I believe in letting son/daughter buy car of their own choice but I’d still be running carfax and basic mechanical inspection. At 18 kids normally fell in love with anything that has 4 wheels and drive. wait…we are talking about rishtas? well same applies …:chai:

Wedding drama

My cousin and her hubby were/are both med students and got married in between last year. I think her hubby was further down the road than she was but right after setting the wedding dates, she got a fellowship in Boston. They got married a few months ago and now she's preggers so once she pops, she'll still be moving down there for a year with the baby. It's temporary and they are very okay with their decisions because with med school your in it for a long haul and life just has to work around it. They didn't want to risk her chances of not being able to get pregnant since she's approaching the big 3-0. Her parents are both docs and everyone understands it's all temporary. These sacrifices are easier on in the beginning then they are later down the road, at the end of the day you still need to finish whether you marry now or later and regardless of when you finish you still need to marry. As long as you guys realize being married won't really feel like being married for the first couple of years as your figuring it all out then it's okay. Your fighting for the bigger picture. Everything else will fall into place.

It seems that the biggest hurdle for you is your dads blessing more so than your plans for school.

My dad's lack of blessings have a lot to do with : 1) his lack of control in this situation 2) my med school

Parents want the best for their kids, I get that, but sometimes looking at it purely objectively takes away a lot of stuff that should be considered. It's gonna be hard--I've seen my med school friends go through hell being married but I've also seen my single friends go through hell too--but I'd rather be married now rather than later. i don't want to be getting married at 35 and having to have kids immediately. I know he's my bf but it's still fairly "halal" and I want to enjoy married life before I have to start thinking about having kids...which I can't do if we both wait until we're done with school.
His side is more receptive because they're all physicians. That's why they're "rushing" things (in the words of my dad) because they want us all squared away before rotations start. My family, on the other hand, has no physicians so any info my parnets have is from third party sources. So they're seeing it more as pure desperation on the guy and my end.

I dont understand... Even if it's desperation why should it matter? If he's a nice guy and a good fit and it's understood that ur life revolves around med school AND u found a guy who gets that and supports that then isn't it a win win. Why do ur parents want to go thru the stress of haye beti 30 whatever ki ho gai acha rishta he nahi mil raha ab kya karain. And since his family is also full of drs. they'll understand all the high maintenance it requires and won't even expect u to be all bahu like. K Hamari bahu yay nahi Karti wo nahi karti, they'll just be glad u both r keeping each other on track and that u guys have each other for support. U know u shouldn't have even given ur dad any background info of personally knowing the guy and falling for him. It should've just been k yay random rishta hae larkay waalay boht peechay paray huay Haen, larka boht acha hae, uski family Ko jaldi hae to him bus bismillah kartay Haen (ur mmom would convince him to all this). U should have tried that first, and if that didn't work then u could go to next step letting him know that yes there is a pasand involved and u would "prefer" to get married to this guy and now.

Best time is 2nd or 3rd year of residency.

Sorry to say but your father is just being difficult. There is no hard and fast rule for these things in life, you marry when you think is right for you. Your husband being from the same field will understand your commitment to your profession better (hopefully) regarding rotations etc.

Tbh, in life you have to multitask things, waiting for one thing to end so you can start the next is hardly feasible. I think this is the right time for you. All the best.

My parents (including my mom) probably would've been FAR more dismissive if I had given them the indication that it was a random rishta. Also, my mom's pretty smart and she was suspicious something was up for a while--had even asked me about it a few times.

I agree and so does my mom for the most part. Finding someone that fits most of their criteria (their actual criteria is fairly impossible to meet, tbh) and someone that understands/is supportive of my goals is >>>>> someone that fits their checklist. It's just trying to get my dad to see past his expectations/fears and look at the guy in that way too.

iA everything will go smoothly. All I can do is make sincere dua at this point.

Your dad is being like many dads from the subcontinent. He comes for a conservative family where arranged marriages are the norm and someone having a "love marriage" ( i hate this term) is a big deal because how could his little girl find someone all on her own? It's an ego, and log kya kahein gaye issue more than anything else. He's being unreasonable, and if you can't find someone to get through to him, then you need to toughen up and take a stand. He will get over it in time.

You wanting companionship is natural at this stage in life, your dad should be encouraging it since he's obviously wanting to get the siblings married also. Not sure what else he is looking for, he has a potential guy who cares for his daughter, is educated, and has a bright career ahead. In the grander scheme of things, all his "concerns" are trivial. I don't know of anyone who will quit school after they get married, esp if they have thousands of dollars worth of loans to pay. Anyway, you need to involve a mediator, whether its from the family/friends, or a muslim scholar from the community/masjid that your dad would be willing to listen to. Hang in there and pray. Best of luck.

The worst thing he can do (and I can see him doing it) is just sitting on the decision. I think at times they don't realize how people need companionship as they get older because most of them (my parents at least) were married fairly early so they've never experienced that feeling. It makes me sound so desperate--which I'm not. I just am ready to get started with the next step of my life. And it feels like a natural progression.

Here is my view on the whole med schcool vs. marriage

You will be fine. Med school, residency etc. is not rocket science, when things are bound to happen, they happen. You’ll have some struggles like everyone else and you’ll just have to deal with them with the best approach you can, whether you’re married or not. I got married before starting med school - best decision ever. Never felt I had to compromise on what I wanted to do academically due to my marriage, it’s always been great to have a support system at home who was also a student at that moment although in something else. I did take semesters abroad/summer school courses, research year and rotations out of city and it worked out just fine for us and I had a kid too. You just need to be openminded about it. So let’s not make a bigger issue out of it then it actually is. Best of luck. :k: