wearing same colors as the bride... thoughts?

My mom is wearing something similar to the color I’m wearing on my wedding day, and yesterday my mil asked me if it’s okay for her to wear it as well since her designer suggested it’s really ‘in’ these days. I told her it doesn’t matter to me, infact, I would love the color coordination.

Even with the guests, cousins or whoever, it doesn’t matter to me if they would like to wear the same shade as me.
What’s your take on it?

Re: wearing same colors as the bride... thoughts?

I think it really doesnt matter if someone ends up wearing the same shades/colours as the bride and I certainly wouldnt mind either. As long as they r not wearing anything super heavy trying to out do the bride. I went to a cousins wedding 2 yrs ago and it was the first time I was seeing their family in like 15 yrs. I had gotten made a very pretty lehnga choli in the shades of blue/pink/silver etc and coincidentally, the bride (my cousin) was also wearing similar shades at her wedding but hers were lighter. When she showed me her wedding lehnga, I said omg these shades kinda look like mine..ppl r gonna think Im the bride's sister and she just laughed. Afterwards, she got her mom to call her our hotel room n speak to my mom n tell her to not let me wear those clothes on her wedding and instead make me wear them to valima.. I felt so bad. I saw their family after 15 yrs n thats how she talked. She even went as far as saying that if u wear those shades then dont bother showing up..and this is my first cousin Im talking abt. I felt really bad and hurt and from that day I made a promise that when I get married I wouldnt mind who wears wat shades but for their family, I am gonna send them a list of colours I do not want them to wear as they are specifically for me. I think some brides just over react with this stuff.. so wat if someone is wearing the same shade as u. Most brides wear red so ud have a problem if someone wore red? its such a common colour. I think it's absolutely fine. I think it'll be cute if ur mom n mil wore similar shades to urs. :)

I really don't see a problem with it. Like angelfairy said, so long as you aren't trying to outdo the bride with kaam, you're good to go.

Angel...that sucks. I feel for you. I don't know why people lose their minds over stuff like this. But you know what would really show your relatives that you don't give a flying flip about what they do? Not saying anything to them and looking more fabulous on your wedding day than your cousin ever has her whole life.

I think it depnds on what the colour is. Colours such as red and maroon are very 'bridal' and if your close relatives are wearing it, people will notice it and comment on it. If you are wearing something like purple or sea-green, it may go un-noticed, IMO.
And I must add, it is generous of you to let others wear the same colour. If my mom or MIL wanted to wear my colour becasue they liked it or it was 'IN', I'd tell them to save it for another function i.e. mehndi or valima.

I won't mind if somebody ends up wearing the same colour as me on the wedding day, but for sure i'd like my mum n sis to wear sumthing different.. Since i think it looks better in the photographs.. everyone stands out in their own way.. I'm having a colour corordination on my Wedding InshALLAH.. Some ppl are not too happy with the idea, but its okay.. can't keep everyone happy..

uniform:@:

True.. but then if they really, really want to wear a particular shade that’s similar to mine, I’d feel kinda bad telling them not to :bummer: Same thing with the mil. I guess as a bride, you stand out regardless and outshine everyone else (that is if you have your look going for you), after all, it’s you up on the stage everyone’s looking at :wink:

i wouldnt mind if someone wore same colour as me inless it was my younger sis she thinks she should be centre of attention at everything

=)

Totally agree with u Pareezay... And even i can't say this to anyone please Do Not wear this colour on my wedding, lol...

neha55511, right uniform i know people in Pakistan don't like it.. but to me it looks really cute cousins in same dresses..

^ i dunt mnd it
but i HATEE it wen.. da people ask u what ur wearing and dey go out n try getting somthing smiliar to dat or even exact so THEY stand out in da weddin...
i mean hellllooo its not their wedding...

I think if your mother wears the same shade then its ok but it starts looking weird if the MIL wears it as well. It's like she is trying to outdo the bride. I saw wedding pics of a friend's wedding and the MIL wore the exact same shade and work as the bride and I thought it looked so bad!

But there isnt anything wrong with the mother wearing the same colour as the bride as it shows solidarity, unity and is rather cute. I think we just make a big deal over a rather little matter. The bride sits on the stage, she has all these people around her, the photographer and videographer film her every move, so if one guest wears the same colour then I dont understand why it looks so wrong. Everyone focuses on the bride so much they dont usually notice others.

LOL.. my sister is the opposite.. she's like, i don't want to match you! but i kind of want her to with my mom. i think it will look nice.

i think it looks nice for mehndi, and even for weddings, girls can totally decide on a certain color or style, and do it in their own ways.

lol.. thank god noone has done that here yet.

i attended a wedding recently where the jethani of the bride wore her wedding bridal, with saat lara and everything, just the dupatta on the head part was missing.. she was way more dressed up than the bride herself who looked much simpler in comparison. now that just looked weird. i thought it was nice of my mil to call and ask, i told her to go ahead with it.. i told her even my mom is thinking of the same color.. now if i had told her no, but then she would see my mom in the same color, she might get offended.. but im hoping it would look cute.. haha.. i'll update here after the wedding how that went.

We're 4 sisters and our youngest sister made us ALL wear red on her wedding (exact same shade with different combos, like red & green, red & purple, red & gold, etc.)....everyone commented on how gorgeous we all looked and the pictures came out awesome. So yeah, I think your mom and MIL coordinating with you will look totally cute... if you have sisters, make them wear the same color too.... go for it :)

well my cousin is wearring her bridal on my shadi. she'll probably end up wearing her jewelery as well. the clothes wll be similar since they're by the same designer. she asked me and i obviously told her to wear whatever she wants.
i dont think anyone's trying to outdo the bride unless they're like messed up in the head. its just that girls spend so much money, time and effort on their bridal dress so they want to wear it whenever they get a chance which is like hardly ever.

Great idea. will look really nice.

MIAinVA awwww, im sure it looked cute.. MASHALLAH.

we'r 2 sisters now, my lil sis sooooo wants a dress thats different to everyone else.. :)
My other sis died a few years back, while all the wedding preps I always think/wonder if she was here, she would have got ths for her self.. My two lil sisters could have worn sumthing similar.. But ALLAH knows whats best for us! we'll Miss her tho....
May Allah bless all, and hope all goes well InshAllah...

^aww, sorry to hear :(

miainva- that must have looked really nice!

I was at a wedding where the bride's mother, and 3 sisters all wore red - along with the bride of course. it actually played out to be really cute. Everyone's outfits were vastly different from one another and very sophisticated, so it could be that as long as the outfits themselves are nice it doesnt matter. i thought of doing this at my wedding too - i only have one sister and shes 8 years older, so why not?

if the mother in law does it....its kind of odd.

Wearing the same color/shade as the bride does not make anyone a bride and the spotlight shall remain on the bride herself only.

I don't think it matters if other girls wear their bridals on relatives weddings! I mean, when else are they going to wear them! The bride is the bride no matter how dressed up her cousins/sisters are..
As for the same color thing, that shouldn't matter either :) No one can outshine the bride.. I went to a wedding a few wks ago where the mother of the bride was wearing her own 25 yr old shaadi gharara! So the bride and her mom were both wearing red and no one thought it was weird. They were both happy with it :)
I'm wearing red at my wedding and I've made my little sister get a red gharara too because it looks good on her..