wearing hijab.

2 threads in 1 day - yipeeeeee

Okay so I’ve started.wear if.hijab. now in.the uk my relatives.have been.positive or.neutral.

In pak ( although a Muslim state) no one realty wears hijab / abaya and for.them its like extremism.although namaz is prayed etc.but.Pakistania areso desperate to be liberalised they forget their roots

Anyhow, if I do.get comments from.in laws.or family what can.I say.how do I remain strong and.not take.it off.

They will.probably laugh; (

So.need.advixe

Arggggg HD enough of.this keyboard

PS.husband is happy.mashallah. but.husband happiness is never enough is it.

Re: wearing hijab.

Let them laugh, you don't have to explain your choices to every dick and harry. If they bother you too much, ask your husband to help you.

I haven't heard or come across anyone who laughed at hijab. Why do think they'd say to you?

you are wearing Hijaab for Allah because it's His command and not for your hubby or your inlaws or anyone else. they are at fault/sinning if they do not wear Hijaab. let them laugh at their own ignorance.

ulTaa chor kotwaal ko DaaNTe! Hadd ho gaii! :(

I don't think she literally meant laugh. Some people when they see someone in hijab who has never worn one makes mocking and teasing comments like "Are you more Islamic now?" "how long is your hijab phase gonna last?" etc. which quite honestly is none of their business but hey we are pakis in the end so we make it our business

You've just got to be steadfast with it. At the beginning people might comment, but if you can remain steadfast, they'll eventually stop bothering to say anything when they see it doesn't affect you anyway.

All good that you arewearing the hijab but I don't agree with the implication by op that in Pakistan people have forgotten their roots and hence don't wear the hijab.. Of course people should support you for your decision and certainly not laugh / think of it as extremism..

You implying that ppl who don't wear the hijab or ppl who don't think it is Allah''s command to wear the Abaya have forgotten their roots is the same as other poeple thinking wearing the hijab is extremism..

^Agree.. I was going to post something similar..

Also being 'modern' and a good Muslim aren't mutually exclusive..

Good for you for choosing to wear hijab but if you (rightly) want people to respect you for it please show that same respect to others..

Your post kinda judges those who live in Pakistan. There are plenty of women, whether they are educated, uneducated, liberalised (as you mentioned0 , not so modern, conservative women who wear hijab and abaya in Pakistan. Why one wears hijab, and why one does not wear hijab is up to them.

I've worn hijab for many, many years. Wearing hijab does not make me a saint (I am far from it). Those who wear hijab have their own struggles and ups and downs in their faith. Wearing hijab does not make one more mindful of their prayer or more pious.

I was pretty much the first female in my entire khandaan to wear hijab. It was my choice, not the choice of my husband. I received so many taunts from my in laws; heck, my own father did not like me wearing hijab ( he didn't say it to me, but disapproval was there.) I attended a massive family wedding in Pakistan 22 years ago, where my own Phopho yanked my hijab off in front of every single guest, as it was 'paindoo' and "backward". That hurt the most. I kept my mouth shut, my husband picked up my hijab and put it back on my head. End of matter. Twenty years later, my Phopho tearfully apologised to me. :)

Don't make it a tit for tat with your relatives, or anyone who complains to you. Hijab is not about wearing a piece of cloth on your head. It encompasses so much more, especially the way one talks and the way one carries themselves. People are so much more accommodating to hijab now , versus twenty years ago. Be ready for anything, simply don't take it to heart. in one ear and out the other. Oh, and those who want to laugh, let them. You certainly are not obligated to explain the why's etc..

It is your personal choice if someone does not agree to wearing Hijab they are free not to do so. You need to stay strong in your conviction to your choice.

They cannot enforce their code on anybody else. This goes for those also who want to mandate a burqa or Hijab for all Muslim women.

I am neutral to Hijab. One fine morning my wife started wearing Hijab I did not say if it was ok or not ok for her. It is her choice. My daughter does not wear hijab yet. She might or might not wear later in her life it would be her choice.

It is widely accepted that dress code in Quran for women mandates a burqa or Hijab for women I do not agree to that interpretation but I do not force it on anybody in my family or outside of my family.

I can give many logical reasons for my disagreement but it is not going to change the minds of those who believe in their interpretation.

So in Pakistan no one wears hijab/niqab? Umm which Pakistan have you been living in? :/

I don't wear hijab or niqab but I have friends who do and they are not considered extremists or whatever. I am so sorry to be blunt but if your family is so negative about something .. do not judge an entire nation because of it. And if you've made a decision.. stick with it. Reason with them and if they don't understand then too bad for them.

You just move on and be happy you're making Allah swt happy.

once you have started wearing hijab then never give it up. wearing hijab is a good thing . girls do wear hijab in pakistan.

some also wear niqab.

Who cares what people in Pak. or your family are doing or not doing? If you have decided to do it then just be confident.

You shouldn't be justifying your actions or answering to people as it's not for them. Just say this is between you and Allah.

apka hijaab sirf apka faisla h. even apka husband b apko is sa rok nae saktay. achi bt h ka wo khush hain.

ap yae sochain ka ap hijaab khuda ka liye karti hain ...to bs khuda ka liye he karen na. logo na nae lana apka hisaab qayamat ka din

jo log hanstay hain wo ra bht bura karta hain .khuda ka hukam pa hans raha hain. strange.

ap continue kro hijaab ko... logo ka kya h..jb wo apka hisab sa nae chaltay to ap unki kyun sunain

masha.ALLAH. . very stong person u are. and nice husband u have

do you wear head scarf with abaya.... or naqaab?

mashaa Allah, koii Urdu meN post karnewaali to aaii GS par. keep it up. maiN bhii Urdu meN aksar post kartaa huN magar marii likhaavaT bahtoN kii samajh meN nahiiN aatii...vo unkii majbooriyaaN haiN aur is taraH likhen kii merii majboorii hai! :D

Sorry guys I meant people I know and the family social circle.is this way.

They read.namaz.and all.and.even do.chaadar/ big dulpatas on head.but abaya is like ' r u mad'.

Not niqaab.just.head.scarf.

I.have 2.family.backgrounds.in.Peshawar.one side.is fairly.poor.but very MAADERN thinking people.and theother side are rich upper.class also trying.to be LIBERALISED its annoying they think they are something special

i thought you didnt even pray and your husband and in laws were upset about that. suddenly you are more religious than them and complain they are liberals? typical nadz.....

i wear hijab with abaya.. not niqaab.