“yaar cigarette kion petay hu? Achi cheez nahi hai” I told this 13-14 yr old kid who lives near by. He gave me this nasty look & replied “aap ke paisoon ki thori peeta hoon” … shocked for a moment while second thought back in mind was “I shouldn’t have asked him”.
Respect is a good thing. Its something built-in in us, we respect everything, like we respect Islam, different views, our folks, & look at this kid, he still called me *"Aap"*
Every video shop in the city have x-rated movies & unlike west no one will even ask u if u r 18 if u want to rent one, perhaps most of the viewers r teenagers. U will find liquor in every part of the city tho it is prohibited. Every teenager in the neighborhood knows where the place is but our officials never do(?).
*"ye pepsi hai? Is ka color aisa kion hai?"* I asked an old college fellow I saw in this café in clifton. He winked & said *"pepsi nahi hai wo tu bus bottle table per rakhi hai"*.... Ohh yes, the smell.
I often hear things like *"ganay band karo Azaan ho rahi hai"*,... *"Gaali mat do Azaan hu rahi hai"* etc. I wonder do they pause the x-rated movie too if they r watching one at the time of Azaan? Or they stop drinking for the good two min?..... often I feel this anxiety on their faces when they stop their conversations bcos of the Azaan ...like they want it to end quick.
I was talking to this girl who told me she don't fast in Ramadan bcos she just cant stay hungry. *"But I respect Ramadan"* she said. *"Ahan, how?"* I asked to kill my curiosity. *"I don’t eat in front of every one"* she said. Astonished, I was. Yes we all respect.
One of the good example u can find in our society is in Ramadan. When small street based restaurants put the sheets on there doors & windows in day time for the respect of Ramadan. Eat all u want but under the curtain.
Respect is good. But the only respect left is we wont go to buy liquor with our folks bcos we respect them, we eat under the curtain in Ramadan & we don’t speak nasty words, atleast when there is a sound of Azaan in the air.
Johny, that’s the first lecture Al-Kayda recruits hear, then it start getting a bit more specific and detailed… It alwalys starts with curiousity over why and ends with blowing mosques because people there beat their chests or have an Imam Mehdi or believe that Prophets will continue to come for as long as the world exists…
Leave the people alone. No one has appointed anyone to be friggin Mama of Islam and respect. You wana hear your Azan by pausing your DVD, no one needs to know about it.. you have remote in your hand.
Jony: nice thread. We need such thinkings for the check… if no one will think along those lines and then strive for the cause, who will? then we will have people bitching about Al Qaida and Islam. The traitors will have chance to chirsitianified the Islam.
Care to explain the following:
22:78 “And strive in His cause as ye ought to strive, (with sincerity and under discipline). He has chosen you, and has imposed no difficulties on you in religion; it is the cult of your father Abraham. It is He Who has named you Muslims, both before and in this (Revelation); that the Messenger may be a witness for you, and ye be witnesses for mankind! So establish regular Prayer, give regular Charity, and hold fast to Allah. He is your Protector - the Best to protect and the Best to help!”
AQ, it was revealed before I was born, and it doesnt apply to me. Now if you wana beat little kids in your home and teach them respect and what not, no one is stopping you, but don’t go around giving lectures to everyone who don’t need it from every every self appointed Mama of Islam.
Now, if you wana really follow the above commandment, go to US Embassy and preach to all the Kafir Visa officers… you see they are not Musliman, Pakistani generally are.
AQ, i am not sure how the surah u posted is related to what Madhnee said.... are u trying to justify that there are people who are allowed to be "mama of Islam"?
errr… I know how can people interpret Quran totally wrong now when my own words were interpreted in a way which I did not mean in the whole life
PS: it was not a surah.. it was an ayah.. what do you understand by witness over mankind.. and who are the people whom Quran is talking to? Who is it for? Some Aliens from Mars?
Everybody is the mama of their own faith. Religion is between the individual and Allah. However i agree with JB here. These people are hypocricts. 100% That is not respect. It is guilt or rather it is the desire not to be seen by the rest of the people as being unislamic. Islam has now become an image and not a matter of the heart.
easy for you to say that Sadzzz… that’s how AQ and othre Al-Kayda make their living, by stealing people’s food in the name of Ramazan…then they eat it themselves behind closed doors. They know as much about Islam as they do about Illyria.
live and let live, Tang zaroor uranee hai. SO what if the lil boy is smoking, or the guy is drinking or the girl aint fasting? That should not be any of ur worries.