We are slaves

Re: We are slaves

What if you have no career ambitions?

I swear, I think I am the chauvanist pig's perfect example to keep sexism alive. I almost feel guilty sometimes for being sensitive, not good in math, having a hard time making decisions, wanting to go to FIT and wanting to be a housewife instead of high flying career woman, and being overemotional.. I'm the freaking stereotype...

sara when you start entering real life, you realize how important it is to be able to at least pay bills, have some form of medical insurance, and put healthy food on the table. Taco bell doesn't work for too long, especially with every other lady I know getting IBS these days.

Sara: oh stop - you could so do some good fashion designing - find an institute darnit.

Yeah, that's how things work and we have to learn to be happy within that framework. I don't know what you have beef with, the degree you are working towards or this whole having to get an education to be happy thing. As far as education goes, I won't say anything against it. Dropping out of school would be the last thing I would advice. Not having a proper education means less opportunities overall. Unless you have invented something kickass which can earn you millions, I am afraid you are stuck with what you've got.

And what would you do if you won't do all of that..I mean schooling, job etc?

In high school, I wanted to get into a good program in college. In college, I wanted to get into a good program in uni. Once I was in uni, I had achieved my "goal" by being in a good program but I realized I didn't like it anymore. After spending two years in the program, I finally decided to switch programs because I was sick and tired of having to force myself to study for classes that I couldn't stand. Now I'm in a program that I find much more interesting and even though I know it won't lead to a good career without a masters degree at least, that doesn't bother me because I was never ambitious any way and the reason why I wanted to get educated was because I know it would benefit not only myself by broadening my mind, but it would come in handy when it comes to raising my kids in the future inshallah.

While I was in the program that I didn't like, I often questioned why I was studying and basically thinking about the same things you brought up except for the ideal life you mentioned because I always had the belief that one should live within one's means and not give into all of one's desires for the sake of one's peace of mind because wants are endless and you really will become a slave if you want to have everything you want.

Man, it must suck to go to University just so you can get a good job. I dropped out my second year and started working, now alhamdulillah, for the last 6 years, we've been doing so well, I put my wife through medical school and I've been going back to University for the last 2 years since my employer pays for it, and I'm actually enjoying school, I'm going because I want to, not cuz I have to. My job doesn't depend on my education.

In fact when I'm done, inshallah I plan to quit my job (which I do love and have made very good friends here) and I'd like to move back to the west coast and start what I've been planning for years, a dive shop... can't wait... in the mean time, you suckas enjoy your business administration etc...

awww you put your wife thru medical school?

mashallah, if only there were more sensible men out there like you.

Sarah Splendar you are one of the most intelligent unique people I've evr met.

Yeah Sarah, I hear ya..I went through such questioning when I was 15. Better late than never I guess. :k:

PD, true dat, I've been going through it for a years now. Lekin kya karein, I want more out of life than money and a hot shot job and a fancy education. I could busk for smiles and be happy.

aahmed, more information please. What job did you started after you dropped out? And why did you drop out? Sounds fascinating, good for you that you are successful even without a full university education. My mamoo was like that as well, dropped out of school and ran away to Karachi where he bussed tables. Now he's in a pretty high post in the government.

that is so nice of u to put ur wife through college :slight_smile: how did u manage to get such a good job without completing uni?

Fancy Education, Hot shot jobs and money allow you the luxury to get more out of life.

all great masters, the philosophers etc were bankrolled by patrons...genius without capital is like Pamela Andersen in a Gay night club. gratuitous and completely the wrong accessory.

No thanks. I am not that ambitious, nor see the point in wasting 12 hours a day working and then waking up one day at 60 and realizing that I never really got to live my life the way I wanted to, when I wanted to.

Would love to make crafts for a living in Swat or something one day. Beauty in a simple life. You can keep your luxury, I live simply, never desired material things very much, except for a truck :)

Better ask your husband to make a lot of money then. Because pursuit of knowledge requires time and time has opportunity cost associated with it.

It is rich asking to live in Swat and making crafts. I can bet you dollars to donuts that 90% of people in Swat would change places wiht you in a heartbeat.

Make enough money to live, don't live to make money. I pity people who toil their lives away in pursuit of the almighty dollar.

sarah baji :) dropping from college or univeristy, without bachlor is not a good idea. As long as u r talking about boring life then find out something which can make ur life interesting. there are a lot of things. when i join college i have same attuide but when i got job , i felt much better. just find something. :)

honestly, how much do you think maniac influences you? you've become so extremely traditional, you're beginning to sound like a village girl.

I have always empathized with Wordsworth PCG:

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o'er vales and hills
When all at once I saw a crowd
A host of golden daffodils
Fluttering and dancing...

I gazed and gazed and thought
What wealth the show to me had brought

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

Beautiful isn't it. I would love to live like that, build a library in my house and read and reflect my days away.

Yeah I put my wife through med school, I mean there's should be no question about it, should there? She wanted to go and I was earning plenty, why not?

Sarah, I dropped out because I started university at 16 and by the time I turned 18, I figure it wasn't for me... I was a spoilt brat and for 2 years lived on my parents' dime and went SCUBA diving all over. But then when I turned 20, I realized that this couldn't go on and started working. When I dropped out of school, the internet was just starting to gain momentum, the whole ARPANET format was rapidly changing into the internet as we know it today. I was fascinated by it and got in the industry from the ground up and have been working in network security/intrusion detection in the healthcare environment for 7 years now.

Most desis that I know who are in this industry got on the bandwagon for the money, thank God, I was in it because I found it interesting, I've always been a math/logic geek. In fact, when I do quit work and go back to school, I might major in mathematics.

This is the life we muslims have been duped into believing is the ideal way to go. Just a friendly reminder that our purpose on this earth is twofold: 1. to serve the creation of Allah and 2. serve Allah. The latter can be achieved by simple prayer and dua but most important by emphasizing on point 1.

We are sent on this earth to facilitate the lives of those who are not as lucky as we are. Cars houses vacations gadgets clothes and cosmetics certainly do not add to this cause. Similarly a college degree is no good unless you are going to use it in your quest to help the poor and destitute. If you are aiming to get a degree so that it will raise your own standard of living and make you acceptable in society then it is indeed a lost cause. Money to spend on yourself can be earned without a degree as well.

Another fact we tend to forget, infact we never even consider… that the way we plan out our lives is just enough to last this lifetime i.e. highschool college marriage kids retire die. Die and then what? Oh but we didnt plan for what comes after death. It is important to know that this life is an illusion (think The Matrix) and only a test of our patience and other virtues. This is not the real thing. The real show begins in the life Hereafter. A good plan to last this lifetime should definitely take into consideration the Next life as well. And part of how we can ensure a peacefull Next life is stick to our two-fold purpose as stated above.

I’m sorry i turned your university rant into a religious debate. You can however use this to get some insight and then judge for youself how necessary for you it is to get a college degree for which you seem to be slaving away.

Spending some time just reading away. Reminds me of my childhood days. :frowning:

Hm, reading is good I think. But I’ve learned on thing. The best way to live life, is to actually live it through actions. I can’t wait till I graduate. Then the real fun begins. :rotato: