Re: Washington!
^I went there during college; haven't been since I graduated.
yes he's fine...but he wont be saving much. his retirement plan will be close to nothing and certainly you're not considering how much taxes will be cut out.
Problem is, people are broke to begin with so they have to rent out and use their income to pay off everything. They won't have much to save. Too difficult to buy a house starting from scratch lol.
Marry an inexpensive wife, make her a dependant and bam that's a lot of tax returns. :biggthumb
ladies he'll be makin 6 figures...why i will enjoy my right to bum off my brother....as soon as he gets a good job lol if he doesnt let me...im gonna tell ammi lol
I wanna live in dope's America
$50 utilities... $12 meals per day.. $100 gas per month (with DC's traffic!) $800 apartments??? (Projects perhaps?)
^ actually he is not far off.. the numbers are good for rural america and for cities like houston, pheonix and few others. DC real estate after the 1999 boomed and is what is driving the high cost of living. But no reason to be pessimistic the area has a thriving economy thanks to uncle sam pumping billions into the economy. The wages for most part are inline with the increased cost of living.
nahi lollypop man, what kind of a bhooka nanga survives on $12.00/day for food. That is three meals you know! $800.00 mein tau u can;t even get a studio apartment in DC nor very close to DC.
He can share an apartment, use public transport instead of paying for gas, insurance, maintenance for a car, and things like that to save money. If he lives very frugally then he can save some decent money but if he wants to live with typical amenities like, tv, cable, cell phone, computer/internet have his own car, his own unshared place then he may not be savings thousands every month. Initially he will need to furnish his place too so he may not save much at all unless he lives as a freeloader for a few months and saves up himself while his host spends on his food, his laundry, pick and drop svc etc (
)ya then he will have enough saved up to send back home like my cousin ![]()
You just describes a desi. I mean, we are talking about desis here, arent we? Some H-1b desis subsist on daal and chaana and live in banana trees with 1200 other desis.
I would triple that estimate, if i was talking about your garden variety american.
and south american workers too :halo:
Actually the southamerican workers can’t be blamed. They are not here on H-1’s and they don’t make all that much money working petty jobs. You have to give it to desis though! Khaa gai bachat!
me 2:bummer:
Total of $2,130 X 12 = $25,560; assuming an effective tax rate of 35%, your gross salary would have to be = $40,000, so, yes, anything more than that is gravy.
120 for cell AND landline ???
TD and Met fan r brothers? ![]()
I spend abt $12 per day on food if ammi hasn’t cooked anything (or if shes cooked channay :yukh: )
Its kinda scary 60K is just enough to “survive”
Oh yeah, the reason I posted again, met’s last point “dont buy things you cant’ afford.” Reason americans are so much in debt, esp college students, coz they dont understand credit cards n stuff.. not to mention, just the stupidity n greed and materialism, just shopping and shoppign and shopping.. Read Shopaholic and ull understand :halo:
We're brothers from different mothers.
:( I wish I had a chota bhai/my age bhai :(
lol. true its expensive here. but did u know fairfax county also has the highest median household income in US? i think at around 90k.
if its expensive to live here.. then it also pays u more. he will be aight in a few years.
If DC moves to a $12 a day meals, obesity will be eliminated!!!
Hey Man, your friend will be fine.
and different fathers...