Was Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto A Patriot or Otherwise

I’d like to know what you guyz think about Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto. I am not from any party but I have researched about him. I found him a traitor…
If he had an option to choose b/w the 2 P’s…( Pak or Power)…he wud ve gone for Power…so for Patriotism..
You must be thinking how???/
i ll xplain…n no doubt tht he was not the only person involved in the whole game…but he played an imp. role…or the most imp.role…perhaps…
If you take his political carrer, he was the part of Ayub’s Regime…n uptill the last day till he was a part of it…only stated…n read…Qaseedah’s of Ayub Khan…but when he was kicked out…all the bad points of Ayub became visible to him…wat a jerk…n a hypocrate…he was

2ndly…lets analyze the Elections…Mujeeb Vs ZAB
There were in total 300 seats in Natinal Assembly…
162 from E’Pak.(Bangladesh)
138 from W’Pakistan.
Mujeeb won 160/162 from E’Pak.(Bangladesh)…n Zero from West Pak..
.having 98.76% seats won from E’Pak.(Bangladesh).
.n in Natinal Assembly…his % age was..160/300=53.33%..so he had won 53.33% of the Seats in N 'Assembly.
and
Zab won 81/138 from W’Pakistan…n Zero from E’Pak.(Bangladesh)…" point to be noted he didn t paricipated in Elections fron Eastern wing…n Mujeeb did participated…although he didnt won any …BUT HE PARTICIPATED…abt 10 members frm W’Pakistan."
coming bak to the statistics..
Zab won 81/138 from W’Pakistan…n Zero from E’Pak.(Bangladesh).
having only 58.70% seats won from W’Pak., not even 2/3rd from W’Pak…alone
.n in Natinal Assembly…his % age was..81/300=27%..so he had won only 27% of the Seats in N 'Assembly
So tell me who sud ve been the PM …Mujeeb or Zab…
logic says Mujeeb…
But Zab was stubborn…n when Mujeeb called for …Zab orderd his MNA’s to NOT to go to the Dhakka..why?
n he said tht if some one wud go…he wud break their legs…Wat a Patriot he was…??Indeed
n So mujeeb had to make a parallel parliment…n then …we all know

So we can conclude tht he ..ZAB…was the most responsible person for the fall of Dhakka
Some may say Ayub…OK!!! for them i can say only this
tht Ayub was responsible for the leakage of Oil Tanks …but it Was ZAB who added FIRE to the FUEL
yep…he added… FIRE to the FUEL…n not fuel to the fire…
bro i can go on pages …but my fingers are exhausted…

http://www.storyofpakistan.com

Re: Was Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto A Patriot or Otherwise

in Above situation he wasnt a patriot at all, guy who got 160 seats should have been allowed to make governement. naturally he had no chance to be PM that year with 80 or so seats.

There had been a lot written on this subject and I have read quite a bit of that and i dont belong to any party either but YES ZAB was the main player in all these games..
and his role during 71 war is also not that impressive.

This genius did more for Pakistan than any leader,past,present, and probably future.

If he had stayed in office Pak would have reached developed nation status instead of being the 3rd world country it is now.

If he had stayed in office, Pak would have been split one more time.

ZAB was an insecure and selfish man who split the country in two.

developed as in drunkardness/gambling? :hehe:

That is irrelevant, either way,do you really think the majority of Pak leaders don’t drink? including Busharraf

No one has ever done more more harm to Pak than the ugly dictator who forced his way into power

Such rhetoric is used by the family members of B. Bhutto and Nawaz Shariff -- both lost a great deal financially after the coup.

For all that he did for Pakistan, his biggest sin was to breach the trust of ordinary Pakistani "Awam" by smacking promises right on their faces after he came to power. That was totally unforgivable and he should have been hanged for that, but alas he got punished for something else.

Can you support your claim?
esp in the light of 71 incident

I wouldn’t disagree that the guy had genius impulses and had guts but you see, UNDERNEATH IT ALL, HE WAS STILL A “WADERA”!!! :rolleyes:

As for you realdeal (i thought you were indian) but coming as you are a PPPian, tell me how would Pakistan be a developed country when bhutto introduced quota system AND DIDN’T FOLLOW THROUGH WITH HIS PROMISE OF LAND REFORMS :confused:

His political nationalization scheme is the result that Pakistan’s economy did a downturn. Now people oh he gave poor (jahil) people jobs and schools were made cheaper unlike the 22 families era of Ayub but the point is that he just installed illiterate ghundas on posts from educated ones and IN THE END, NOTHING WAS ACHIEVED!

Look at US and its affirmative action programs. They try to get people educated so in the end they benefit the country not take it down the drain unlike this bhutto policy!

It is ironic how both (bhutto and later mujib who also became a socialistic dictator) were both removed by their respective armies (both rulers ZIa :cb: though one zia didn’t survive long i.e. in bangladesh).

It should be a lesson for us all. Bhutto used to say “kursi meri taaqat hai”. Look what it got him! :rolleyes:

PS Bhutto also used to have his own militia call FSF used to silence / intimidate any opposition to him so you can how well he was on his way to being another Saddam!

The good thing might’ve been that if both halves had stayed in power, then the 2 dictators (bhutto and mujib) might have actually ended up balancing each other! :hehe:

But oh well, we’ll never know!!!

:rolleyes: As if the Army govt’s aren’t corrupt.

If thats your point THEN DON’T COME DEFEND BHUTTO!

He was the same guy who worked with the army to break away E. Pakistan then washed off his hands of the matter and become all maasoom and pure!

As you know, or should know, Army controls Pakistan. They would not have let Mujeeb come to power whether Bhutto was there or not. It is Bhutto who saved 1 lakh soldiers who previously bragged they would 'fight to the death'.

As for quota system, that is used all over the world, past and present.
It is highly inaccurate to compare him to Saddam. He had men he used as enforcers , just like the Pak Army uses it owns men to take over the country and deal with opposition.

He was not perfect, but he was developing Pakistan and taking it forward,
his death and replacement by Zia was Pakistan's tragic loss.

Either way there is no use arguing this, he is dead, like Zia is dead, time is better spent dealing with the present, not living in the past and rehashing old arguments.

may be he does, I don’t like him anyway, but Bhutto went on and opened a casino … now that was some thing none of the politicians after that have done/expressed-wish-to-do etc.

He did more to ruin it. Profitable businesses were nationalised and brought to ruin during Bhutto’s rule. He single handedly managed to torpedo an economy that prior to his rule was hailed as a role model for developing countries.

^ yeah, I forgot that part.

you also forgot thta because of his initiatives pakistan is a nuclear power now? i dont think a traitor would allow a country to have nuclear power! he was the ultimate patriot and because of that technology pakistan is stil there! had pakistan not had this nuclear power many would have tried taking over it! mind you post ZAB i am ultimately extrememly anti PPP, because it is a party of the state department!

^ and his very own daughter tried her best to do away with it, it just goes to show the patriotism isn't in the family, really.