Was the forced migration of population in 1947 good for Pakistan??

Do you think the forced migration or exchange of population particularly in punjab in 1947 was good for pakistan in the long run?

I think it was good for pakistan because if there was no forced migration of population in punjab and sindh then hindus/sikhs would be around 15-20% of pakistan’s population today. Dealing with such a large population of fifth columnists would have been a constant headache for pakistan because the loyalty of hindu/sikh to pakistan is suspect and questionable

Take the example of bangladesh. In 1970, hindus comprised 20% of the bengali population and were probably over-represented in the Mukti bahini. The bengali hindus openly sided with india in 1971 to create bangladesh cause they had no loyalty to muslim Pakistan. We could have resolved our differences with bengali muslims in 1971 by reaching some compromise but the bengali hindus who joined Mukti bahini were the real problem

While many thousands of muslims were killed in 1947, atleast we were able to get rid of the hindu/sikh population from punjab and sindh and Pakistan today is over 95% muslim. Otherwise if hindus and sikhs were a significant part of pakistan’s population like around 15%-20%, they would be a fifth column or indian agents living in Pakistan and a serious threat to Pakistan.

Re: Was the forced migration of population in 1947 good for Pakistan??

I wonder if the Hindu Indians think the same about Indian Muslims.

p.s. to answer your question: it's not about the migration of sikhs out of Pakistani Punjab being a good decision or not, it's more about whether the partition was a good thing or not. I have mixed opinion on that - yes, in some ways and no in others.

everything happens for a reason.
i favor the entire creation of Pakistan. no regret or question about it that we were in great in need of one homeland of our own.

i wonder if "everything happens for a reason" will fly if jewish settlers keep kicking palestinians out of their homelands..

queer, why just questioning Muslim existence in Palestine, why not questing the uncalled genocide of muslim in Kashmir, Afghanistan iRaq, Lebanon and Pakistan?

we cant deny the fact that there was a reason why Muslim a century ago, stood for a separate homeland. so if you want a history lecture it good find out yourself.
it is always good to talk to ppl of that time. they should be your primary source, and then look into books. read both sides of the story cuz one side is always a biased one.

the other day i was reading urdu book, and a sikh baba ji (and i am saying baba ji in a respected way) come to me and asks me app urdu perh rahi hain...and he we converse and he told me about how his moved to India form Pakistan, and now how their transportation business which was initially in Pakistan, and then moved to india and now how it is in the nationalized (cuz of state corruption)

the thing is it is only indian who questions Pakistan's existence, we never questioned Indian existence, and we never will cuz WE BELIEVE THAT THERE WAS A NEED OF SEPARATE INDIA AND A SEPARATE PAKISTAN!

ps. you cant relate a centuries old issue of jews-palestine here with a subcontinent one. for this issue its better you dig more and see why there is/was a conflict.

You weren't born then, your parents most likely weren't either - what makes you say "you were in great need" of your own homeland. How did you come to that conclusion?

Until partition, which is only 6 decades ago, all of our ancestors were managing just fine. No one had divided up that area - Pakistan was made, then Bangladesh, fight over Kashmir, on and on it goes. You think partition was a good thing?

Division between people is never a good thing.

no, my parents were. :)
so u have your answer now :)

That is highly debatable.

but it reached the point where i wasnt remained a debatable issue and that is why both the countries came in to being.

So what you're saying is every Muslim wanted the separation, no question about it. Why are there still Muslims in India today. In large numbers.

There's more to the parition than just having a Land for the Pure.

if you do some research you will find out that prior to the creation of Pakistan there wasn't any major massacre. everything was settling by means of dialogues. the problem started after Radcliffe's boundary assignment. where the Muslim-majority parts which were suppose to given to Pakistan, became India's part.

otherwise, if nothing makes sense just question the division that how the hell Pakistan is such a chunna, and India appears as one of the largest countries of the world?????
what kinda division is this???

plzzz...dont bring in bangladesh in to the picture. it was another ill treatment.

another aspect you highlighted related to muslim mobility. well we cant just question Muslim existence in India, cuz there are also hindus and sikh and parsiz in Pakistan as well. (and honestly, i am more worried about these minorities than indian Muslims that how ****ty they are treated)

kher to solve this mystery i would like to make a conjecture here. some ppl didnt want to leave and they didnt, you can drive the same analogy with in your own family. you will see in Pakistan generations of generation will live in a same city, same street and in a same house as of their father's grand father.

now current muslim treatment in india: well i dont want to say this, as single incident (such as Babri Mosque conversion into Hindu temple and then in retaliation i think there was a hindu temple in Pakistan which was victimized as well), but indian movies project the word "Pakistani" as stereotype for the muslim indian. e.g. movies Rang-de-Basanti, and Khaki. so there might be something which indian movie base it to.

may be they are treated well, but can they really call it their land? may be they can but i am not concerning indian muslims much, why cuz it was their option. as it was Adnan Sami Khans options to live in india, as an indian.

it is really not my concern. if they wana live in a fear, sure let them.

we have our own 17 crore population to worry about, which is growing every minute, as a qarz-dar!

but nonetheless, i have no regret to be a Pakistani. no matter what so much sh** is there but i still love it and will always worry about it.

what we got was good country, but then hivas, and lalch drowned it to this level. abb to loug yeh bhi khetay hian k kash hum Great Britain ka hissa he hotay. red passport to mill jata ;)

zobia, what i was trying to say was fatalistic commentary such as your "everything happens for a reason" is basically saying nothing at all. and can be applied to every single event - just or unjust. what is the point you were trying to make?

you seem to have interpreted that as some kind of attack on the reason for pakistan to exist, i'm not sure why. just to make it clear, personally i think partition was for the better, and that today's pakistanis have a very distinct way of thought from today's indians. the more i read views of young pakistanis on here, the more i realize how different we are in our outlook and goals even as individuals, let alone societies.

queer, it wasn't fatalistic that is why i gave u the hint that its not just Palestine, include Kashmir, Iraq, Afghanistan and Pakistan in that list well. but i dont want to move the thread to that side.
and no i was'nt mocking you. i still firmly stand for on this belief that "Everythign happens for a reason".

ppl like Jinnah were honest in their approach, and they achieved what they were aiming for. look at the current outlook of Muslim Ummah. are we honest with anyone? are we even honest with ourselves? hiwas, bhook is had tek bhar chuki hai k jo apna hai wo bhi nahi khana, or jo doerseray k pass hai wo bhi cheen-na hai.

and mind it, its not just palestines, its also jews who are getting killed. If gaza is unstable, so are the jews in that territory.

and then look at Pakistan. everyday we hear some unknown attack, and the brutality is we dont even know who is doing it?
but then look at us? what are those sins that we dont do? today we debated about this gang-rape. do you know ppl there are so confused that they dont even know what is right and what is wrong. this gang-rape was just a news, couple of days ago there was this video posted of a daring show where someone appears on a national TV and confidently proclaims that he and his friends gang raped a girl. now what would you conclude about such society? and what blessing you think should be shower on them?
the current irony there are many pakistanis who are treated as refugee in their own country.
now what blessings you think we should be getting?

Atleast those forcefully migrated people live in peace,either in India or in some parts of the world.Thy do not have to face the harsh realities of Pakistan ,that's Religious persecution,crimes,Terrorism etc.

I think Pakistan has handled it's hindu population with silk gloves.
Ofcourse things would change radically If I were to ascend to power.

^Glad you never will.

I have no regrets about Pakistans creation.

Sure it was probably a double edged sword in that maybe hundreds and thousands died for a small patch of turf…

But deep down i believe in that cause and have zero regrets… I do not blame my forebears for thier decision rather i praise them on having achaived independance a day before the enemy.

Pakistan despite having a third of the force declared independance on the 14th of August India the great “democracy” got it’s independance on the 15th.

Those few hours mean everything to me :jhanda:

And what about the train massacre that happened on September 22nd 1947? Atleast Pakistan sent them to India and not by burning and killing all who were onboard to India. Now you say that they live peacefully?

Just read an example of one family here that has to suffered it:

Live peacefully in India? Just yesterday many Kashmiris were shot dead by the Indian police. Muslims are the biggest targets of hindu extremists. Have you forgotten what happened in Gujrat and Babri Masjid? Muslims are denied to own property. They are denied government jobs. Tell me how many muslims you know in the army or secret services? Muslims in Indian media are portrayed as terrorists and gangsters. Your master shiv sena have killed many countless muslims. Terrorism is on the rise in India with Maoists taking over. India has a higher crime rate that Pakistan and that's a fact. Next time if you wanna bash a country remember to take your head out of your ass and be sober not drunk.

over 70 people dead in karachi in less than a week, and aashiq and others are incensed about 5 deaths in kashmir. okay fine, kashmir isn't part of india blah blah, but why are you killing people in karachi for their ethnicity? forced migration not working out too well?

Actually in Karachi they are some of those, specially their leader, who say : Partition of Sub-continent was wrong.. so what can you ask them for more? Where as Pakistan was obtained for Muslims to lead their life according to Islamic values. If someone dont like it he can go to another country and not call himself Pakistani. Is that so much big deal for them?