Re: Was Moulona Tahir Ashrafi drunk in this interview?
Hungama kyn hai barpa jo thori si pi li hai…!!!
A8x error message “lyrics out of order. Please reboot and edit”.
Is it Diwali tomorrow? Our Hindu neighbors are celebrating it tomorrow.
Hain ji? ![]()
I don’t know exactly when Diwali is. Somewhere now any day I think.
October 23rd is Deewaali in India.
^ Acha.
Hopefully the return trip from Sri Lanka is on time. When is the aghni pareeksha scheduled? Wonder if fire and safety codes have been updated.
It’s " Hungaama Hai Kyion Barpa, ThoRi Si Jo Pee Li Hai". But that’s OK. No worries. ![]()
Haan Ji!
Ashrafi is not correct word for Gold Coin despite the Wikipedia source.
First: The word is Moulaana or Molaana, or Maulaana …and not Moulona as it is in the title. But that looks like a simple error.
Then, his name “Ashrafi” has nothing to do with the Gold Coin and the sarcasm or satirical comment did not make any sense by Muqa Bhai.
He is not proven to be a drunkard by this thread or the video presented.
Now:
Ashrafi and Asharfi are two different words with two very different themes.
No one calls Gold coin Ashrafi since that would be like an African American (Black person in USA) saying “Axed” instead of “Asked”.
" Da Powlice axed him and axed him and he didn’t and died".
Ashrafi (Pleural= Asharfis) is very different from Asharfi (Pleural= Asharfiaan) and someone may use these term interchangeably but that is not the predominant use of these terms.
Asharfi is Gold Coin. (Very common understanding in SE Asia)
Ashrafi is the quality of the person as Strong and Noble. (Most likely Arabic)
In the context of the person in question and this thread, all it means, that he wants to be seen and be called as Ashrafi.
Ashrafi is a lineage and a surname and it goes to someone religious person and perhaps a Sufi in the past named as Ashrafi.
Even Malika Pukhraaj is singing it Ashrafiyan
Faiz Ahmed Faiz - Yeh kon sakhi hain by Malika Pukhraj - Vidpk.com
Ye kon sakhi hai, jis ke lahoo ki ashrafiyaan
Ashrafi is the correct pronunciation/spelling while Asharfii is a “Ghalat-ul-'awaam” pronunciation and/or spelling. it’s** NOT** a “Ghalat-ul-'aam”!
She said Asharfiaan. Not Ashrafiaan. She even paused when she said Ashar-Fiaan.
“…Jin Ki Rooh Ki **Ashar,..**fiaan…”
That is what she said.
Ashrafiaan is not even a recognized word in Urdu.
The plural of Asharfi is Asharfiaan.
Pause is even required when you pronounce a word with sakoot. If alif, sheen and re all have zabar, there won’t be any need for pause.
Ashrafi or Asharfi, I won’t get personal with you to get all my day wasted ![]()
Not getting personal here at all. I was keeping it light. Edited my post janaab.
She clearly said Asharfiaan Bhai Jaan.
You have to prove if there is a word in Urdu Language as Ashrafiaan as you claim to hear.
There has never been a word like that as far I know.
I never heard any Urdu language person saying Gold coin as Ashrafi.
please see zabar on re… Ash-ra-fi not sakoon on re A-sha’rfi
I know “exactly” what you are saying and I wanted to talk about that word also. But did not want to add another word.
What you are talking about is “Ashraaf”.
The group of people who were considered noble and Shareef or Shura’faa in older days. Kinda like but not exactly as Barons in English culture.
There is no real connection to these three words. Ashrafi, Asharfi and Ashraaf.
Ashrafi= From Ashrafi lineage. Please see above for its meaning.
Asharfi= Different word. Used for Gold Coin.
Ashraaf= A group of people who were rich and had money or Asharfis. But that is not all inclusive to people who were rich or had money or Asharfiaan. People who were shreef, Izzat Daar and noble were considered Ashraaf, those days.
I’m not talking about Ashraaf. That page also contains word ‘Ash’rafi’.. re with Zabar not with sakoon (Jazm)
OK I saw that. Missed earlier. Sorry.
I must say that is still wrong. In your support there is another singer Zehra Nigar DID pronounce the word like you say, but she could still be wrong and it was painful to hear her. Malika Pukhraj was right.
Ashrafi is wrong pronunciation for Gold Coin. It’s Asharfi. Please go ahead and talk to any Urdu speaker and use Ashrafi and he/she will look at you like what?
Moreover, like I said the name of this Person Tahir Mahmood Ashrafi has word “Ashrafi” which has nothing to do with Gold coin. ![]()
I think Asharfi is wrong. The correct pronunciation should be Ashraffi with the stress on letter fay. I agree that the name Ashraf and Ashrafi has different meaning.
Since when did “fay” become a letter?