One of my colleagues lost his mother 1 year ago. He is married with kids and has 2 brothers 1 married and another engaged. His father remarried a month ago. He is upset with his father for remarrying, especially coz its just been a year he lost his mother. Was it the right thing for his father to do?
Maybe he really felt lonely? he needed companionship.
However, as a child, its hard to accept the fact..be it a year or 10 years.
Re: Was it the Right Thing to Do?
why not? rather than living in depression, wouldnt it be better to have a companion to share your joys and sorrows with in an age where u do need someone... maybe his kids cant give him the time and care that he once got from his wife... i think its lovely..
but, i do understand where the son is coming from. It'd be hard to see your father/mother being with someone else when all ur life you've seen them with ur mother/father. It's hard to accept.. but we need to remember that, its not as if they are forgetting their spouse, that love wont ever go away... they just need to live the rest of their life and hopefully they can do that with a companion who understands their loss
I dont think it was wrong...he remarried...didnt do anything haram. I know it feels like your friend's mother's memory is being disrespected but the father may have needed someone in his life. After being with someone for your whole life and and suddenly they're gone...dont you think you would be left with a void in your life that would remind you constantly of what/who you lost? Its not something anyone can understand unless you go through it yourself. We cant pass judgement on him. Hopefully, he was a good husband and stayed loyal and faithful to his wife until the end of her days. His children should support him at this time in his life.
^ Totally agree.
After all, the son is married and should understand how it'd feel to lose his spouse.
Nope don't agree with it.
I have been impressed with quality of your threads and posts but this one disappoints me. ![]()
At least you should share the reasons behind your stance. ![]()
If it was my dad marrying some one else, i would feel totally wierded out and would probably have a similiar reaction to your friend. In all reality, its an unbased anger since his father does have a right to marry anyone he wants to.
There is nothing wrong with his father getting married but you collegue might think that it devalues his mother somehow.
we all like to think that our parents as parents and sometimes not as human being. Since he is married and so are his other brothers - they will probably have a life of their own.
his father was probably lonely and need someone to share the rest of the life with.
i think there is nothing wrong with his dad getting married...
when my father passed away i pushed my mother to remarry but she didn't (i was only 12...n didn't understand why she kept saying no to it) its a little different for a women to get married but easier for a men (in our desi society). But i agree with everybody above who said that he probl. needed a partner and was lonely...the son should be more understanding.
i mean who will he with him once all of his kids are married and busy with their families??? the son should support his father.
YES!!!!!
This dude is upset now. But after decades he would tell you that it was right thing for pops to do.
Telling from experience.
Maybe it was the amount of time that he got married rather than the actual marriage that's a problem-
A year could feel like an eternity when you loose a spouse.
^ exactly.
Only having a spouse could assure that dude's father would have a long life!!!
This dude will be happy at some point that his father did it!
I dont think there is anything wrong with him getting married but there isnt' anything the son can do about how he feels.
And I dont agree that the only way to a healthy life is via spouse.
whats that old saying (i'm sure I'll break its leg but)
duniya mey aur bhi ghum hai
ghum-e-mobahat key siva?
u knw whats wrong...i knw a uncle who was 72 when his wife passed away and he married his servant who was only 19...his reasoning was that he needed somebody to take care of him...n this was with in 2 years of his wifes passing
now thats wrong...none of his kids talked to him 4 months...but guess what they were all in the US with their families and he was all alone in paki.
I dont think there is anything wrong with him getting married but there isnt' anything the son can do about how he feels.
And I dont agree that the only way to a healthy life is via spouse.
whats that old saying (i'm sure I'll break its leg but) duniya mey aur bhi ghum hai ghum-e-mobahat key siva?
whats wron with you?
its
aur bhi gham heen heen zamany meen muhabat ky siwa
ghamy mohabat ?? hahaha so lame
I am glad that you not a poet.
Shuttt upppppp
I told you I was breaking it leg before I even broke it..
Now get back to the topic!!!
whats wron with you? its
aur bhi gham heen heen zamany meen muhabat ky siwa
ghamy mohabat ?? hahaha so lame I am glad that you not a poet.
She is a moderator of literature and Linguistics, she can write it anyway she wants LOL
emotional response and not reasonable to me at all. hope he grows out of early resentment.