this is a long post… but…i would really love to get your feedback… ![]()
hmm…k,here goes…
a really good friend of mine yesterday finally turned down a very good proposal from someone whom she knew for about three and a half yrs now and whom her parents liked very much despite the fact that they r punjabi and the guy is pathan…in fact they really wanted her to say yes…and in fact so did her sister and i coz v think the guy likes her and appreciates her aur dil se us kee izzat karta hae…plus he’s a good guy…the rishta had been going on for abt a month now…
the issue has been on my mind and i decided to post abt it here…
she didnt like the person like that but she did think he was a good guy etc and us mein koi kami nahee thee…they were in school together and were good friendz…the reason she turned the proposal down was becoz the guy and his cousin used to like each other but it was an unspoken kind of thing abt five yrs ago…
the guy is pathan and his cousin was from his village in nwfp…he moved to karachi for college and it was there that he became close friends with my friend…most of the time in the beginning he was telling my friend how much he missed his cousin etc…thats how they became close friendz…they actually used to go in the same van…
Since then they had been in classes together etc too and had a very good working and friendly relationship but it was not anything more…just recently now that they r about to graduate and leave college and thus part ways with each other…the guy sent a rishta for my friend which to my friend was not totally unexpected… my friend did like the guy as a person…she was not emotionally involved in liking him…not until the rishta atleast…and she did very seriously consider the proposal but there were many reason becoz of which she said no…and she didnt say no easily either…she was sad about saying no infact she was crying so hard on the phone when she told me she had finally said no k us ko hichkiaan aa rai theen…
but she said she really felt she had to…
her foremost reason was that she couldnt bear the fact that the guy had already ‘given his heart’ to someone else before her…she was hung up on that fact and said that this would make her feel bad her entire life…i tried to tell her that the other girl is married now and has kidz too and livez far away in nwfp… while my friend and the guy live in khi…but my friend really believes in the ‘love happens only once’ stuff…
also she kept comparing herself to that girl…she kept drawing contrasts and telling me how she was the complete opposite of the guy’s cousin…the guys cousin * is mashallah a stunning beauty typically pathan looking and my friend [although mashallah she herself is very pretty in fact i think prettier than that guy’s cousin, she underestimates herself tho…she has even been given modelling offers n stuff even which she turned down]…but she kept thinking that the other girl was prettier…ziada gori, colored eyes, ye wo…my friend was putting herself down in every way in comparison to the guy’s cousin…and her sister and i have given her a good few scoldings too for doing that but wo baaz nai aati…also the guy’s family is pathan and speak dari whereas my friend cannot speak dari…she also felt like her personality was opposite of that girl..that girl was quiet and shy and my friend is kind of outgoing shehri kurri…tho personally i dont believe in these personality stereotypes and my friend underestimates herself too much…her sister and i have been trying to convince my friend that ye sab aiween baatein haen…but she wouldnt listen…also that girl’s family was a zamindar family while my friend’s family is a shehri karkhanon walon kee family…etc etc…so she kept drawing contrasts in every small thing…and for some reason she has it fixed in her mind that the guy doesn’t like her but has just ‘settled for her’ as she put it…
her sister and i were telling her tho that obviously the guy likes her and thats why his family has sent a rishta for her…its not like someone has forced him…his liking his cousin is insignificant now becoz its a thing of the past and shes married…lekin she dint want to hear any of that…she says its not insignificant…us ka bas dil naheen maan rha tha, even tho she liked the guy..which was obvious to me from the way she was crying on the phone ![]()
my friend mashallah is really good and inshallah there will be no kami of rishtas for her…but all this really baffled me and i was thinking to myself did she do the right thing? specially considering how sad she was after her decision…her hichkiaan and siskiaan on the phone r bothering me…plus he was a good guy and i do think he likes her…i feel like its my responsibility or something to make her say yes now… i am not going to force her or insist to her to do anything against her wishes…but ye time chala gya to waapas bhee naheen ayay ga…i keep thinking that
she has only conveyed no to her parents till now, they havent said no to the guy’s family they have given her time to reconsider…
but girls what would you have done if u were her? and what do u think i shud do? i dont believe in ‘love’ and all that so i dont know abt how crazy that guy could have been for his cousin but i do understand what my friend is saying and how she might be feeling and ofcourse if her heart is saying no i dont think she should go for it…but is she being just scared for something that doesnt even exist and missing this rishta from a good guy whom she also likes because of something insignificant?
just want to get ur opinions… shukria
and thanks for reading this long post… :-)*