Waqar Younis should not be a commentator!

Re: Waqar Younis should not be a commentator!

Ok ....I heard Waqar only in this one test and here are my conclusions :

(1) 99% percent of the time , I only heard him stating the obvious. The rest 1%, he was agreeing to the opinion of his fellow commentator.
(2) His word-selection and pronunication is poor.
(3) He does not exhibit the kind of knowledge one would expect from a well-regarded ex-player.

This has got nothing to do with Indian/Paki/Desi or Inferiority complex.

Its a simple fact that not everybody is born with the communication skills needed to be a good commentator - Waqar happens to be one of them.

As for PD's comments about "giving him chance"-- bhai mere , this is not Cricket that we give him some more chances to perform...unless you meant him to be the Mohammad Sami of the commentary box.

Thank you!!!

It's pretty simple - just because one was a great cricketer doesn't mean that he'd make a great commentator as well!

he.he.he

yaar i agree with you that waqar lacks analytical skills but seriously, sometime you develop them over time.....and like i said before, these days if some one does not improve himself in a short period of time (in any profession), he will be eliminated anyway. The point i was trying to make that holding, jones, arun lal, all of them are bad then why to make fun of waqar only who is relatively newer....

And when was the last time Dean Jones, or Arun Lal, or Michael Holding made an incisive comment or analysis? To me they are all the same.

I remember everyone ridiculed Aamer Sohail and made fun of his commentary when Pakistan toured India. In this series, I've listened to his analysis on Geo in Urdu, and he seemed pretty impressive. The point is, when you're speaking a foreign language, there's definitely something lost in translation. I'd bet Michael Holding, Ian Chappel etc. won't be one-tenth as lucid if commentating in Urdu/Hindi.

They might be FROM Lahore and they might live in Cavalry Ground, but that doesn’t preclude them from being Australians. I remember a few years ago, when Waqar’s son was born, Australian media was going ga-ga over whether the infant would one day wear the baggy green.

just being born there doesnt make him Australian unless he lives there too. For example if u were born in U.S and lived ur whole life in Pak what would u call urself?

A U.S. citizen by birth, and a Pakistani-American by heritage.

Waqar is not as bad as Arun Lal though. One biased son of a gun.

Rozi kamani hai bhai... he is alright. I would appreciate if he can keep his original accent though and not be a suckling to the Indians that much. We have Arun Lal for that type of crap.

We have slave mentality who always think Goray are better. Just because that is their tongue language, if a Gora says some urdu words, we always praise them, oh he sounds funny, he sounds nice.

I will ask any of you whose mother tongue is not English, why not start commentating? It is so easy to criticize your own people, specially the one who served the country. Everyone have faults. So give up guys.

Also for your info, I heard Dean Jones talking about India declaring before they finish pakistani lead, and Arun lal wasn't agreeing with him. He said I would like them to play aggressively and maybe declare after tea.

So what you guys say about Dean Jones then? if those comments were stupid of Waqar Younis.

At least show appreciation to your Hero's of the past. Stop criticizing for everything.......

Waqar's "But'aaas" made the $149.95 worth it. Matches pretty much suck.

kya baat hai Faisal, aaj baray mood may ho......i have almost a feeling that someone else is positng with your nick or may be app aaj zara apnay asliee mood may haan (lahorie mood may)....first you have a thread about salman "butt" and now you are talking about waqar "but" "aass"....Allah khair karay.......i dont blame you..there are too many pathans involved in this series.....

Look at you guys.. what have you guys done with your life? what the hell are you guys making his fun for?

Yes he is weak in english and at times unable to express perfectly well.. but to hell with that.. he is trying and he is doing a pretty damn good job! Salay ajatay hain bus aba nay english medium school mein kiya pharwa liya samjhtay hain kay duniya jahil hai!

phoenixdesi bhai..I think the Arizona heat is causing some major damage to the left lobes of your cranial cavity. Waqar was a great bowler but he frankly sux at commentating. Accept the facts or feel free to disagree but remember that this has nothing to do with inferiority complex as I don't mind listening to Manjrekar or the great Chishty Mujahhid (back in the days). Stay away from the sun and drink more gatorade as well!

Come on give him a break. He is hilarious!! Without his commentary, these matches are painful to watch. Sure beats listening to monotone Holding and those 2 biased indian dudes.

ameena apa jee, just because my id has phoenix does not mean that I have to be located in phoenix too…may be i need to update my profile too…hum to pehlay bee bhot thand may baithay howay haan (washington dc)…hamay aap gatorade pilla pilla kay kiyoon marna chahtee haan…:rolleyes::rolleyes:

what are you guys talking about? Waqar speaks great english. i'm not sure if it was my fault to expect him to have Inzamam quality of english, but i was very surprised at how good it was when i first heard him. obviously it is clear that he is pakistani and english is his second language, but i generally don't have a problem understanding what he is saying.

the problem with him is not english, but simply the fact that he is an utterly useless commentator and makes the dumbest and most simpleton comments.

On this other forum I visit, we have created an official “Waqar Commentary Thread”. It has already reached 9 pages, and it’s filled with some of the best “jams” Waqar has produced during his commentary stint so far :rotfl:.