No doubt the guy was one the greatest fast bowlers cricket has ever seen, but mannnn…does his grammar and vocabulary sucks or what!!!
Also, he doesn’t really do any creative analysis. All he does is basically agree with his fellow commentators. A lot of times, he makes just plain stupid comments. Yesterday when he was commentating with Michael Holding, he said that Pakistan would declare sometime tomorrow and will try to get India out, at which Michael Holding got surprised and asked him “You seriously think that?”
He also suggested India should declare when India was still trailing by 60 runs. Sometimes he makes so stupid comments, you just want to bitch slap him.
Jaanay day na yaar! Baichara koshish to kerta hai na,,,,?
Waisay bhi woh English medium school ka para nahi hai,,, ab etna bhi bohat hai us kay leye,,,,,Uski taraf say mai maafi mang laita houn. SOOry! :D
BUT-TAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I THINK THAT STUMPZ ARE REALLY OUTTA A PARK ON THIS ONE!@! U SHULD HAVE JUZZT PUTT A BAT ON A BALL, INZTEAD OF MAKING A ROOM OUTSIDE OFF-STUMP. AND AS I TYPE, I AM HEARING A SOUND OF THE KEYBOARD IN MY EAR. WHAT THE HELL IS THAT? YESTERDAY I WAS TALKING TO A BOB WOOLMER, AND HE AGREED WID ME THAT YOUNG LITTLE MUSHY MUSHY SHOULD NOT BE A ASSISTANT. HIM AND THAT SALIM MALIM WID HIZ BOBBLY-DOBBLY'S.
Let's not make a mountain out of a mole hill. Name ONE Pakistani commentator with perfect grammar and vocabulary. Don't be embarrased and ashamed of Waqar because of what Michael Holding said.
Waqar can hold his own when talking about the pitch, the bowling, reverse swing, wrist position, posture, etc. He is no worse than any other commentator. As for his accent, well, his wife and son are Australian.
Yaar I am not saying that one should have perfect grammar to be a commentator, but Waqar’s is just plain BAD! Like I said, he was a great bowler and he’ll probably make a great bowling coach as well, but I really don’t think commentating is the field for him.
And it’s just not just the grammar, some of his comments are really stupid or don’t make any sense at all!
Waqar needs to quit ASAP. I'd even tolerate Rameez over him. Dean Jones should sit there for 8 hrs without breaks. And please no Mudassir Nazzar either!
Typical inferiority complex....no rameez, no waqar, no muddasar...only dean jones...now I don’t know what is so special about jones...I have heard him many times and he is a below average commentator.........those who have heard Ian Chappal know what I mean....Jones is not at par with any of the eminent Australian commentators by any means but still some people are ready to hear him for more than 8 hours! ....I think waqar does a decent job and his English is not that bad...yes, he needs to do more analysis of the game but please give him a chance...just because jones has got an aussie accent does not make him better than any other desi commentator. And what is so special about Holding....he has been doing it for almost 15 years but he is still so plain and dull...how much passion does he bring into the commentary box? How much analysis does he do? How many times does he quote statistics to put some light on the ongoing match? None…and what do you guys think of his accent....no one made fun of his accent.....so please stop desi bashing and be more reasonable. It is Waqar’s third or fourth series and if he does not improve with time, the competitive business culture will eliminate him anyway but what I don’t like is to ridicule someone like this.
PD bhai, I don't have any issue whatsoever with his accent, and I am not a fan of Micheal Holding either. I agree with you that Holding does not do a very good job with the analysis, but atleast his grammar/vocab. is not as bad. I would not have started this post if Waqar was atleast doing good analysis with poor grammar.
Right on, bro. I just feel like defending Pakistani players today. I stood up for Shoaib Akhtar in defense of his beamer. Oh wait, there's a thread about Salman Butt also. Off I go...