Re: Waqar rejects coaching role
off topic… but u gotta love waqar’s aussie accent… ![]()
Sadzz, he sounds like a real tosser when he speaks with that accent to be honest. The guy asks for too much money and now he is blaming the cricket board. Sheesh.
i think if u need someone then u have to accpt his or her all the conditions.
what do u think?
Re: Waqar to be appinted as Bowling Coach/How about his recall? (merged)
what a shame!
It's really stupid to have a coach for one tour..really! I'm with waqar here..hey you gotta have a living and a long term commitment.
Now we can ask Wasim Akram. Wasim has alot of money ahem :D I'm sure he wouldn't care to be a bowling coach for long or short term . After all he was giving phokat ka lessons to Irfan pathan.
One way or other we desperately need their services!
what's the source of this news?
He is the Oxford of fast bowling, this is his right to demand the same amount of money that PCB offered to Darell Foster and other foreign bowling coaches. Yahan ghar ki murghi daal barabar wali baat hai. Who could be better than Waqar to coach our youngsters, the one (one of those three greatest along with Wasim and Imran) who destroyed all the test playing teams on the dead and dry wickets of sub-continent and the bouncy tracks of Goralands.
If PCB can spend Rs. 2.5 corer on a jamaadaar’s personal trainer and other medical expenses in last 4 years why not pay the national hero and legend to groom the youngsters for our own future. He deserves to be get paid what he has asked for and two years is a very reasonable time period. He can make heck of a difference in the current lot and the upcoming talent in PCB academy. It will be his full time job to work both with the national team on before and during the tours and the PCB’s different projects for talent hunt and coaching for the fasties in domestic arena.
---------------------x-c-v-b--------------------
I recent you calling a ‘national level player’ a “jamaadaar” who has contributed a lot to the sport. I cannot stop you from this name calling, but would like to go on
Record in saying this to you Your valuable criticism is worth a zilch with such outburst in vain
I’m almost certain that you’re not the typical ‘maila type’ who are associated with such lingo. Lets meet for some ‘Sheesha’ @ Alladin some time, I wish to endorse my views about you.
Re: Waqar to be appinted as Bowling Coach/Waqar Rejects coaching role (merged)
I don't think you have to be 'maila' to call someone a jamadaar. Especially if the person being called jamadaar rightly deserves to be called a jamadaar. A Rs 2.5 Crore worth jamadaar. :)
Such a shame, they should've come to a middle point atleast to give it a shot and see how things go then take it from there. Idiots at PCB!
Miandad joins issue as Waqar slams PCB Friday, 25 February , 2005, 14:46Karachi: Former Pakistan captain Waqar Younis on Friday slammed the attitude of the country’s cricket authorities, saying they did not even have the courtesy of informing him about their decision against appointing a bowling coach.
“I am disappointed that we could not strike a deal. I wanted to serve the country and I will certainly work in future if provided with an opportunity,” said Waqar, who has 414 one-day and 373 Test wickets to his credit.
“But what has saddened me more is the attitude of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). I never initiated the move of a bowling coach for the Pakistan cricket team. It was the PCB that started it all and when they decided they didn’t want me, they did not have the courtesy to telephone me and inform me of their decision,” the former captain said.
Waqar is the latest former Pakistan captain who has been “humiliated” by the cricket Board. Last year, another former skipper Javed Miandad was sacked as coach halfway through his two-year contract.
The master batsman later served a legal notice to PCB in which he has demanded an explanation for his ouster.
Last week, former Test batsman Haroon Rasheed was dismissed by the Board as the Pakistan team manager, when four months of his contract still remained.
“I came to know of the PCB decision when newsmen called me to take my reaction. I am extremely disappointed,” Waqar said.
Pakistan yesterday decided against appointing a bowling coach on a long-term basis, thus shooting down the proposal floated by Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq and coach Bob Woolmer.
PCB chairman Shaharyar Khan, who was manager of the 2003 World Cup team that was led by Waqar, had told newsmen after the ad hoc committee meeting that he had wanted Waqar as bowling coach only for the Indian tour whereas the bowler was interested in a long term contract.
“Yes, I wanted a long term contract because you need time to make things work. But there was never a mention of money at any stage,” Waqar said.
“Frankly speaking, I think there were some people in the cricket Board who didn’t want me as Pakistan bowling coach,” he said, without elaborating but probably hinting at PCB Director (cricket operations) and manager designate for the Indian tour, Saleem Altaf, who had been quoted by Urdu newspaper Daily Express earlier in the week that a bowling coach was unlikely to be appointed.
Javed Miandad sympathised with Waqar saying the bowler was fully justified in asking for a long term contract. "I think Waqar was justified in asking for a long term contract. Every professional will ask for proper time. In addition to this, which professional works for two months or three months? “Let the PCB first explain if they wanted a bowling coach and if they really wanted it, then Waqar Younis was the best choice. Not appointing him means they (PCB) were themselves unsure,” Miandad added.
http://headlines.sify.com/news/fullstory.php?id=13679952&headline=Waqar~slams~‘discourteous’~PCB
Clarification of press reports regarding Waqar Younis
by Pakistan Cricket Board
Media Release - 25 February 2005
Clarification of press reports regarding Waqar Younis
There have been some press reports regarding Waqar Younis being employed by PCB as a bowling coach that need to be placed in perspective. The facts are as follows:
The suggestion that Waqar Younis should be appointed bowling coach to the national team for the India tour initially came from captain Inzamam-ul-Haq. Chairman PCB consulted the National Coach Bob Woolmer who stated that he would be happy to have Waqar Younis on board for the India tour.
On his return from Australia where he had been a commentator on television, Waqar Younis was informed that one of the hurdles to his appointment was a possible conflict of interest that the PCB wished to avoid. Waqar Younis clarified that if he was appointed bowling coach he would not be taking on television assignments for that period. [Incidentally, PCB did not summon Waqar Younis from Australia to engage in these discussions.]
At the 18th Feb meeting of the Ad Hoc Committee, after a lengthy discussion in which Woolmer repeated that he was comfortable with Waqar Younis being assigned as bowling coach for India, it was agreed that Waqar Younis should be appointed the bowling coach for the India tour.
The following day Waqar Younis was informed of the decision. He replied that being appointed for the short period tour of the India and even the West Indies made no sense and that he was interested in a long term contract i.e. until the World Cup 2007. The Chairman replied that PCB’s offer was for a short term contract and if Waqar Younis insisted on a long term appointment, the issue would need to be discussed again by the Ad Hoc Committee.
On 23rd Feb, Waqar Younis informed the Chairman that the shortest period for the assignment that he could consider was one year i.e. until March 2006.
The issue was raised at the Ad Hoc Committee meeting on 24th Feb which decided that while Waqar Younis would be considered for long term assignment, it was necessary to evaluate all candidates who have the necessary qualifications for the post of bowling coach at the National Academy. PCB had all along considered the proposal for a bowling coach in the context of a short term assignment (India & West Indies). No financial terms were therefore discussed in PCB’s meetings with Waqar Younis.
PCB has been shocked however, at the racist remarks ascribed to Mr Waqar Younis and believes that he has been misquoted. As a former captain of Pakistan and a highly respected cricketer, he could not have uttered the base remarks normally associated with uneducated minds.
Media Department
http://www.pcboard.com.pk/Pakistan/Articles/2/2346.html
So its not over yet for Waqar, there is still a chance for him or some other bowler to be a bowling coach for our youngster, though I’d prefer Waqar.
One thing is for sure, PCB is the main party to blame. If Waqar wants some Job security, who can blame him? Calling him for one tour and then appointing someone else would be a slap in the face. I would rather see Wasim or Aaqib (if not Waqar) but I am skeptical of PCB's approach and they might end up hiring a certain no-body (God Forbid)
They could have done a one-year contract with 90 days probation period. Thats all fairly standard in all employment contracts. If the guys works well, fine, else both parties terminate the relationship. Everyone's happy.
What were the "racist comments" referred to in the PCB's media statement?
----------------x–st----j–u—d—n----------
Typical grocery shop newspaper story sir , such papers are full of this stuff.
Shurfa kay haan es tarah to chore ko bhi zalil nahi kiya jata. Shoiab to phir bhi a flag carrier sportsman hai. Yeh ‘maila’ lingo he hai Sherjeel Bhai , Humain suit nahi kerti,2ndly its provocative and unnecrssarly being repeated time after time.
Otherwise we would’nt be discussing it here.
The ‘jamadaar’ as you put it is not playing in India and this series is not worth feeling sorry about it.
This is the worst Pakistan side to tour India. The results are very clear ahead of the coin toss.
I hope Shoaib announces his retirement now than ever
The way PCB and the cricket followers are behaving, it’s an icing on the cake to his farewell. Cricket is doomed and will attract ‘maila’ fans and maila players with a choice and contractual clause to be called a ‘name’ in case of a failure. pun intended
Oh yes! And they should be prepared for their ‘homes’ being burned down and families harassed while they’re still on tour duties.
Poor youngsters are propelled forward by the love of the game and the country despite knowing the consequences of a failure or a misguided allegation.
They will get nothing except for few tsk tsk tsk,
In some media reports, Waqar has been reported as saying “If I had a white skin, I would have secured a four year contract (like Woolmer did)”
wat is the point in taking the gr8 waq' on board just 4 the indian tour? waq' is rite in saying that 1 needs time to work with the bowlers'.
I thought Wasim was the Oxford of fast bowling!? Anyway, I already stated that Wasim would be a much better choice.
It is an insult to Waqar. If I were him, I would not even entertain any future offers from PCB.
-------------x—s-t----j—u–d–n------------
I guess the fan & cricket is passing through a daunting task of ‘picking on’ the probable and toss it around like wild beast ripping apart its pray without consuming it, and then tossing it to its pups.
^ Ditto ! But Wasim Akram is way too smart to sign any ad hoc arrangement.
Wasim Akram is not willing to forgive Pakistani fans or Media about their out rage on ‘Irfan Pathan’ or ‘Zaheer Khan’ episode. Both of them never needed any such help.
Many people don’t realize this that BCCI already has access to ‘Denise Lillee’s’ churning factory of of pace talents and any ‘attempt’ by any Indian pace bowlers to acquire ‘extra tips’ and ‘brief consultaions’ from its Pakistani fame prones is encouraged as it is a ‘ploy’ to disintegrate the already divided think tank and media gurus of Pakistan.
In a nutshell,
BCCI has unofficial cooperation and access to Lillee’s camp and at the same time they encourage their pacers to hang around around Pakistanis, and the rest will be done by the ‘Patriotic’ Pakis and the trash newsprints. ![]()
I suspect an introduction to least one more dubtant from India during this series
is immenent.
what else one can do except ![]()