Waqar to be appinted as Bowling Coach/Waqar Rejects coaching role (merged)

Re: How about recalling him Back

In fact thats not a bad idea at all, but hey what do I know I am just another Indian out to get you guys (isnt it):smiley:

Re: Waqar to be appinted as Bowling Coach/How about his recall? (merged)

-----------z-z-----------

Hey SmoothY Praa, don’t take it seriously. The cancellation ‘ploy’ is used for our Indian friends defeat agenda. :smiley:

The BOYZ in GREEN :stuck_out_tongue: will ‘Rock’ the BLUE’s cradle. :frowning: theek hai naa, :hehe::k: :dhimpak:

:insha:

ab 'Hathoray bazi bund kero,sir mai dard ho gaya,

as much as i would luv 2 see waq return i can't c it happening :( their is no doubt in my mind dat he still isn't finished as a test crciketer, he's only 33, look around u, aussies have 2 paceman in their 30's yet they have no problem playing them in odi's also?????

hmhmmm ... bhai #let uz chat# the reason is they are playing in Kangrooland

Re: Waqar to be appinted as Bowling Coach

I don’t know if that’s such good news. Sami is totally useless. I think everybody calling him “an incredible talent” has gotten to his head. I am sick of all the commentators adding the “incredible talent” adjective every time his name is mentioned.

He could be a good bowler if he had control over his line and length and used his brain. Most of the time you see him serving up absolute rubbish to the batsmen. Sehwag and Tendulkar must be licking their lips.

**Waqar eyes extended role as coach **](BBC SPORT | Cricket | Waqar eyes extended role as coach)

Waqar Younis has revealed to the BBC he will help out the Pakistan side, but not just for the India series.
The former Test captain is wanted as a specialist bowling coach but he told a radio phone-in that he was holding out for a long-term contract.

Waqar told listeners on BBC Hindi and BBC Urdu: “If it is only for the India series, it will be waste of time.”

Captain Inzamam-ul-Haq said: “I support Waqar. He is not a magician who can correct things in a week.”

Inzamam said he wanted Waqar to teach reverse swing to his inexperienced pace cortege lacking the injured spearhead Shoaib Akhtar.

"When we had Wasim [Akram] and Waqar in the team, the new bowlers could learn a lot from them while playing with them.

"But now there is no senior bowler in the team, so we need an experienced fast bowler like Waqar as our bowling coach.

"We had many victories in the 1990s and that’s all because of two guys - Wasim and Waqar.

“They taught the whole world about reverse swing - that was our main weapon. I would like this weapon to be passed on to the juniors now.”

Waqar added: “It’s a loss that Shabbir [Ahmed], Umar [Gul] and Shoaib are not fit, they would have been very effective on this tour.”

** Waqar wants two-year term as Pak bowling coach **
Press Trust of India
Islamabad, February 22

Former Pakistan captain Waqar Younis has agreed to take charge as bowling coach of the national team provided he is given a contract till the next World Cup in 2007.

“I am willing to extend my services to Pakistan bowlers. However, to do that I need job security,” Waqar said after meeting Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Shaharyar Khan on Monday.

The former fast bowler, who was offered the post for Pakistan’s tour of India, said he was willing to give up his association with a foreign television channel and all other engagements if PCB wanted to hire him for a longer duration.

“Shaharyar Khan asked for my availability, I confirmed it provided the PCB gives me a long term contract,” he was quoted as saying by a local daily.

Justifying his demand, Waqar said no one would like to have a job for a short term.

“Coaching is a long term process and one cannot teach everything in just a short period. It needs some years to establish as a bowler or prepare a crop of bowlers,” he said.

Meanwhile, the PCB chief declined to comment on the prospects of finalising the contract.

“I told him he would have to concentrate fully on the coaching job and he also had his conditions. We are working on the matter and we are hopeful that things would get clear soon,” he said.

http://www.htcricket.com/htcricket/14_1252795.htm

You just watch when Waqar showclass his reverse swings, Woolmer will ask him to join the team ;)
Actually If it was upto me I would switch between Waqar and wasim on tour to tour basis thus prolonging their career.Serioulsy these guys are way too good to be retired so soon. Also add to the fact our bowling department is depleted and mediocre at best.

These last 2 post of faisal and ehsan are probably the best news and thing hapenning to
Pakistan Cricket. Unless a 'red tap' springs out from some where,,,,

I don't care about India tour so much any more. In my opinion the 'anticlimax' has already
reached the series. If it does go ahead , then better be fast and done with,,,,

I'm sure the Indian people would like to get back to their normal lives and daily chores of 'Bollywood this & Bollywood that'

Waqar wont be the bowling coach. The two sides werent able to agree on the terms of the contract. Basically Waqar wanted a long term contract, whereas PCB wanted him for the Indian tour only. The PCB made a huge blunder here.
I dont know if any alternate arrangements are in the works or not, but for now, according to a news report coming out earlier, the deal is off.

^ That really is a big shame. What is the PCB thinking?

Apparently, Waqar sahab was asking for too much money. How typical.

"The buffaloo goes back in the water to get oil "

PCB :smack:

Well, Waqar ain’t angel either, so Waqar :smack:

^ ^ Lo yeh kia baat hoi…dono ka sir peet ker peechay kaun reh gaya Captaan bhai,? :eek:

//
~

haan kismat ko koss saktain hain,:rolleyes: yeh to apni hi na,:bhangra:

I still await for some more details into this news,

Another blunder from the PCB, they were to go after Waqar, now they want a qualified coach for the NCA…(latest news from GEO)

** Pakistan fails to rope in Waqar as bowling coach for India tour **
Agence France-Presse
Karachi, February 24

Pakistan failed to rope in former great pacer Waqar Younis as their bowling coach for their forthcoming tour of India, the Pakistan Cricket Board chief Shaharyar Khan said on Thursday.

“We wanted to take him (Younis) to India but he wanted a long-term contract so it could not be decided,” Khan told reporters.

“We would still like Waqar as a bowling coach for the national academy on a long term basis.”

Younis’s credentials of 373 Test wickets and 414 in One-Day Internationals are just second to his more illustrious compatriot and pace partner Wasim Akram who took 414 Test and a world record of 502 one-day wickets.

“It would have been a great honour but I think they never wanted me, there was no mention of the money when I talked to the PCB but yes I wanted a long-term contract because you need time to work on bowlers,” Younis said from Lahore.

Pakistan announced a 16-member squad with express pace bowler Shoaib Akhtar, Shabbir Ahmed and Umer Gul missing due to varied injuries.

The pace attack would be led by Mohammad Sami, Rana Naved-ul Hasan, Mohammad Khalil and allrounder Abdul Razzaq.

Pakistan arrives in New Delhi on February 28 to play three Tests and six One-Day Internationals on their first tour of India for six years.

http://www.htcricket.com/htcricket/14_1256196.htm

Shame on PBC.

If not two years he should have been offered one year contract. It is really a shame the way we handle such cases.

Go Shaharyar GO

Why do you want to recall Waqar? what's wrong with him?

(my car has had 6 recalls in 5 years)

Waqar rejects coaching role

Waqar Younis's spell as Pakistan's bowling coach has ended before it even began.

Yesterday, Waqar told reporters that he wanted the role for the long term. "If it is only for the India series," he said, "it will be waste of time."

But that cut no ice with the Pakistan Cricket Board who rejected his suggestions, insisting the appointment was for the one series only.

Waqare, who was believed to be asking for a two-year deal as well as compensation for the loss of income as a commentator, was not interested in the PCB's terms. "It would have been a great honour, but I think they never wanted me, " he told reporters. "There was no mention of the money when I talked to the PCB, but I wanted a long-term contract because you need time to work on bowlers."

Re: Waqar rejects coaching role

what'd I tell ya - as a nation we all just inherit a myopic short-term vision and want point solutions to our problems that are more long-term - PCB is a bunch of losers!