Wanted: Editors

Dear all:

I am pleased to announce that we have completed the necessary leg work to offer yet another major service to our community – announcing the Paklinks Portal.

When google was in diapers and yahoo was barely crawling, we felt a need for categorized information repository for our dear country, Pakistan and thus pak.org was born. During its glory days, we served millions of visitors from across the globe and directed them to relevant content. Among its top products was gupshup which took a life of its own and sent pak.org in the shadows. With maturing search engines, we felt the redundancy and decided to pull the plug sometimes during early 2000s.

Now, again, we feel the need to organize and present content in a fashion that’s easy and relevant. No doubt the internet is full of information and articles about Pakistan and its history, culture and present. But time and again, users are frustrated at locating the precise information and call some place an authoritative source. Thus the need for a virtual gateway to Pakistan: we shall call it Paklinks Portal.

It’s a massive and complex undertaking. We feel that the content is out there and knowledgeable experts and contributors exist within our GS ranks (members and visitors). It’s just a matter of coordination and organization and we will step closer to making information easily accessible. To keep matters simple and manageable, we will introduce only two components at this time; an articles repository and a links directory. The articles directory will contain such information as history, culture, politics, humor, art, literature, news, etc and the links directory will contain handpicked sites about various subjects to include user reviews and experiences. We accept and acknowledge the existence of many sites trying to do just the same but cannot stress enough the diversity and exposure we have at this site. Close to 60 million hits every month from almost 2 million unique visitors constitute a major traffic hub and puts us in a very desirable position to offer these products. If you look around, no major website has been able to sustain and grow without tremendous participation from its users. We would like to continue that tradition and seek a select few individuals to form the core team of Editors. While anyone can participate and write articles and links, it will be up to the team of Editors to shape and position these gems of information for the larger population.

We will shape this team as a lean but functioning organization, complete with its own working forums and other editorial toolsets. We will have spots for Managing Editors who will lead the Editors in their sections and the various Managers will elect their Chief Editor. Editorial board will be set up to make various strategic and tactical decisions and Editor bios will be published to give the due credits.

In order to seed this team, we are seeking offers to become an Editor on the Paklinks Portal. Please send an email to [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected] with the following details:
Full Name, email, country of residence, education level, editorial experiences, GS nick (you must be registered), and any other information you would like to share to highlight your candidacy.

Azkar

Re: Wanted: Editors

good-Luck** with your search**:)

is this really a good wish or sarcasm?

:smack: **Dua **:smiley:

Azkar, is this a volunteer position?

PS: Waisy mera andaza hy(Ju kam hi ghalat hota hy) k yeh tu formality puri ho rahi hy editors ka intikhab dil hi dil main tu hu chuka hy:chai:

Excellent question:lifey:
I guess Aizazi uhday hain editors ky:hmmm:

Azkar praa, I’m again impressed with your dareness, not only because you are embarking on an idea to pull gupshup out of casualness, but to attach propellers to its conception through paklink.com portal.
I would be interested and happy to contribute which ever way i can.
GoodLuck! Inshallah

yep.

Is it wikipedia of Pakistan ?

Who will be selecting the "editors".
How will they operate,
What are the expectations pertaining to knowledge and time investment.
who will edit the work of editors,
would they be categorized and classified with respect subject matter knowledge,
And with what recognition, besides self expression and satisfaction?

Beside being an Editor, can we become writers too? :)

Goo questions IP ..

1. me, x2, muzna
  2. operational details to be decided later as we assemble the ET.
  3. high / low
  4. senior editors and chief e
  5. yep.
  6. i am willing to give a japhi, pat and shabashi letter. its a community work yaar. no one should expect anything but peer recognition. i am hoping that some banner ads will sell and maybe we can start making enough money to cover 5% of our expenses. :)

much much more.

gr8 idea.

“…While anyone can participate and write articles and links”

www.eyemasters.com :snooty:

**Tu yeh sara kuch peer sahab ki nazry karam ky liy ho ga:hmmm:

Thank you :smiley:

I was replying to the title, not the contents :cb:

:hehe: aap ki jahaalat main bhi eik munfarid shaan hai

**Apny ap ko maha intellectual kehny or samjhny walon main bhi aik jahil insan chupa hota hy:snooty: