Voting in Pakistan

Hey quick question…

I have dual citizenship (US and Pakistan). Does that mean I can vote in the elections for Pakistan? How old do you have to be?

Re: Voting in Pakistan

I would say yes…look it u at the pakistani embassy website…waise I would say that u have to be like 40 yr old:cb:…jk..maybe 21

The question is, did you register to vote? I voted in the last 'drama' presidential referundum, where General Hollywood Musharraf Habibullah secured something like 99.99% votes!

You can if you are 18 years old and have registered your vote! Who are you going to vote for? :)

When are the elections?
No, I didn't register to vote. I'm not 18 yet. =\

Spock - so who did you vote for? Maybe you were the 0.01% that didn't vote for him. :D heh

lol though I supported Musharraf at that time, I did NOT vote for him as it was a sham referundum just like how Zia did it, where you were given the option of whether you want Islamization or not, and voting yes meant having Zia as your president. I took some funny pictures; alot of jamadarz and chooraz on the roads were taken in suzuki's and asked to vote like 10 times for Musharraf.

Btw, though I wasnt old enough to vote, but I remember the 1988, 1990, ,1993, 1996 elections very well... They were so much fun! I enjoyed them in perhaps the most bubbling and entertaining constituency in Pakistan, NA-38, where Shiekh Rasheed (sheeda talli) contests, and so far has won every single time despite being a proven crook. He comes to everyones house personally too!

One of my distant relatives is a governor of some group of villages in Sialkot. We went to a huge political gathering that he held after supplying gas and clean water to the district. The people in the crowd were going crazy and screaming the names of the politicians. I asked my Dad how come they were all so hyper, and he said that the politicians probably paid them beforehand to shout their names and show support for them. :D

Oh and get this - the guy doesn't even live in Pakistan! He lives here and goes to Pakistan for a few months every now and then....and he's a governor there! crazy stuff, pal.

ah kia yaad dela deya Spock bhai.

Although i was a kid in 1988 elections but we used to go to stalls of diff parties for MUFTA (drinks and biryani). Har stall per us party ka jhanda lai ker jatey theey aur biryani uratey theey :D

That referundum was even the bigger drama than Zia's referundum.

you're right. those elections were so much fun in Lahore too. I don't remember the NA # but we usually had Jahangir Badr from PPP & Liaqat baloch from Jamat. Jamat & Muslim league used to have a deal (where ML used to have their candidate for provincial assembly). Liaqat baloch was always the winner.
we also had that other drama religious leader (can't recall his name right now) - big time loser.

You guyssss when are the elections?

I have not decided yet :hoonh:

What do you mean you haven’t decided yet? You haven’t decided who to vote for or you haven’t decided when the elections are? And who are you to decide any of this anyways?! :mad:

I have not decided when the elections are :snooty:

But YOU don’t decide that, pal! =(
Someone else does. Like shouldn’t it be written in the Pakistani Constitution or something?! :mad:

I changed the constitution, don’t u know? :frowning: Get some Pakistani channel at your place lady. Geo or ARY may be so that you can keep your self in touch with whats happening in Pakistan :slight_smile:

I don't watch GEO they use too many big Urdu lafs and I can't understand it. :(

u can always break the "big urdu lafs" and understand the smaller ones :)

Yea but then I'll only get half the story. Not that I would even get the whole story even if I understood every word they were saying....but still =\
I think just reading threads in the PA forum will suffice.

acha

:jhanda:

ooh i was thinking you are pari likhi
america main bi kitni jahalat hay