Voluntary work

Have you ever volunteered for something? If so, where were you based, what did the work involve and most importantly, what were your intentions for volunteering?

If not, would you like to? Where and why?

Re: Voluntary work

I volunteer at a long term care home for the elderly. I think it's an excellent way to gain work experience and a different perspective on people's lifestyles.
I've learnt a lot about dementia, aging and Alzheimer's disease since I've been volunteering than I had read before.

^ That's wonderful, Marmalade!

I have volunteered many times but it was always because I wanted to gain a certain skill or build up my CV etc. I now want to volunteer solely for the sake of lending a helping hand. I would love to get involved in one of those international projects where they send you off to a developing, poverty-stricken country to teach or whatever.

PS: 2011 has been designated as the European Year of Volunteering.

I volunteered during the earthquake and did some work for the flood victims... not as much as I could've though :(
I did it cuz... I just wanted to really, a lot of people got out to help. The job was to collect all the money and clothes and food packs from your area and give 'em to the local aid centers. The first time I worked with a local NGO, the second with PTI.

In future I really want to join those schools where they teach the beggar kids... InshAllah soon.

**YES, i've been volunteering at the local hospital for about 5 years now *.

there are a lot of long term desi senior citizens in the hospitals and some of whom are very lonely people who need to be entertained. i go there and talk to them. they like to hear poetry, talk about religion, talk about kids [good and bad] and they tell me about their life experiences. i love to see smiles on their faces. they truly deserve that. :)***

BBQ you are already doing great voluntary work by becoming CM. That is enough, now go back to sleep. :@:

I did once apply for voluntary work at VS, they never reply back, bad luck i must say...

Pakwoman, KKF: That’s very inspiring! Fair play to you guys!

Firenze: Then apply again. GS is a good place to volunteer for broke students who can’t afford to travel around doing voluntary work - GS is the best I can do for now. :silly:

I did voluntary work for IT security (researching, editing book chapters etc) All part of building up my cv.

I did voluntary work for GS too :halo:

my wife did volunteer work for old people’s IT training organization and also in Youth IT training organization…during that period, I volunteered for house work. Does that count? :bummer:

no, janaab e aali! house work is your responsibility and not volunteer work. :smiley:

What a coincidence... I was actaully going to open a thread on the Topic of Volunteering particulalry becuase in the UK thanks to Mr Cameron PM and his "Big Society" plans theres a rather lively debate going on with regards to this topic...

Well I'm involved with several volunteer schemes from checking up on old folks and the vulnerable people... to working with Youth schemes and even helping out in local ventures with assistance to community projects from planting trees to helping out at major events throughout the year...

Trouble is lately many of my fellow volunteers and I are begining to think this is all part of a clever ploy by the government... you see they are happy to cede all these powers to the people... but I think that when the **** hits the fan the governments simply going to turn around and say they had nothing to do with it... and that it's all down to the community... :p

I used to volunteer a lot, doing accounts, admin, funding proposals etc for small charities. I don't have much time now so can't really commit long term anymore, I mainly do things like charity runs now.
I'm sure there will be lots of opportunities in the uk now with that whack-job David Camerons 'Big Society' idea and relentless public spending cuts.

Glad to know I'm not the only one reading between the lines with all the Goverment schemes proposed by the UK government.

Sarab what do you think of the idea of giving local authorities and institutions more powers?

Personally I can sense a disaster looming but then again not everyone cares much who does the work as long as it gets done.

My concern is the number of volunteer workers who simply dont have the training or natural skills for the job roles and as a Trainer myself I find myself on the very front line... can you imagine the risks and assume something does go wrong... who gets the blame? I think it would be wrong to blame the volunteer workers.

I'm in the same boat as you. I have done volunteer work to build my resume as well. I also want to do something similar by going to an under developed country and helping out with whatever I can.

Thats a tough one Faris, de-centralisation of power could really benefit some 'well run' local authorities but some of the councils in England are a total sham run by inept pen pushers that have become totally dissociated with their constituents.
My real beef at the moment is private companies running public services, this public-private partnership crap has gone to far now, I don't want my schools or hospitals run for profit. It's like we never learn, look at royal mail and the railways, we now pay extortionate amounts for a reduced substandared service.

You're not alone, this is the typical Tory 'slash and burn' approach to spending.

Well I'm sure the Tories will de-regulate everything anyway, if something does go wrong there will be no recourse.

To be honest Faris, I'm feeling really disenfranchised right now. I don't see any option but to leave the uk.

I did volunteer social work with traumatized woman and children. I think its very uplifting infact give you a breath of fresh air. Also when they are thankful for what you do for them you get their duas for life and I think those are especially powerful. They will show up one day. I have Christian and Muslim woman very thankful for what I did for them and MashAllah I think getting their duas and prayers in return is the most wonderful gift of all.

All of you are good people.

My answer to the title is .. heck never.

*come to India :D Mother Teresa Centre is always looking for Dietitians :) *

InshAllah, when I become a Dietitian.

i school fools on a desi discussion forum.

I also routinely take my friends cigarettes not only saving their life, but putting my own life on the line to save their lives

I have on occasions helped girls feel what love is like and then what betrayal is like, you know to help prepare them for the cruel life ahead

every so often I volunteer to help our economy by helping expedite the depreciation of different types of property, which in turn requires replacement purchases, supporting our entire manufacturing and services industry.

i do a lot more, I deserve a nobel price for being noble