Vital Signs/Junaid Jamshed - the legend

*Originally posted by EntityParadigm: *

oh yeah blame rohail. its was salman who left the band bcoz he was ichin and dyin to do things his way but rohail being the leader of the band, simply couldn't allowe him to do things his way so he decided to bow-out of the band with tail between his legs . :~)

All credit to Salman for having the guts to leave the band when it was on top and then later proving that his music is better. Now no matter what anyone says and what the prefernce of a couple of people is, the fact remains Junoon went on to become the biggest band from Pakistan. They sold more albums then VS which means more people appreciated their music compared to VS.

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *

All credit to Salman for having the guts to leave the band when it was on top and then later proving that his music is better. Now no matter what anyone says and what the prefernce of a couple of people is, the fact remains Junoon went on to become the biggest band from Pakistan. They sold more albums then VS which means more people appreciated their music compared to VS.

True, Salmans venture paid off really well, and his concept of Junnon was pretty bold, for instance, getting an Irish-American to be your bassist, and one-third of your band is something you cannot be sure that the fans will appreciate. But I must say, worked out better than what most people at that time would have imagined.

Entity Paradigm, you must agree with the fact that it was a good thing Salman left the band, after seeing how good his own band turned up to be? I mean if he were still in VS, we probably wouldnt have seen all of his potential as a giutarist, composer, and a political figure (sort of).

Definitly the greatest band to come out of Pakistan, and Junaid Jamshed is the best to come out of Subcontinent.
All 5 of their albums were great, I am a huge fan of theirs.
So was the rumore about Vital Signs getting back togeathers, was it true?

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
They sold more albums then VS which means more people appreciated their music compared to VS.

first of all, this is not a very good argument at all. When have sales meant anything in Pakistan? You can argue Junoon being better than VS or vice versa but to bring sales in there is just very weak. If you're intent on using sales as a criterion I do have a rebuttal for you but I would rather that you exclude sales figures as a reason to conclude anything.

Secondly, I remember reading Instep a couple of years where they conducted a rather extensive survey for the top musicians of the country. The results were actually compiled off readers' votes.

The results were:

1) Best vocalist: Junaid (by quite a margin)
2) Best band: VS (by quite a margin)
3) The top ten Pakistani albums included three of VS albums - two of which were in the top three, one being first and the other being third.

So, how can you make a blanket statement that Salman Ahmed's music is better than VS'?

Frankly, for me it is not the music so much but what the band stands for that turns me off Junoon - the documentary being the latest example.

sorry, Spock yaar forgot the catrgories.

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *

first of all, this is not a very good argument at all. When have sales meant anything in Pakistan? You can argue Junoon being better than VS or vice versa but to bring sales in there is just very weak. If you're intent on using sales as a criterion I do have a rebuttal for you but I would rather that you exclude sales figures as a reason to conclude anything.

Secondly, I remember reading Instep a couple of years where they conducted a rather extensive survey for the top musicians of the country. The results were actually compiled off readers' votes.

The results were:

1) Junaid (by quite a margin)
2) VS (by quite a margin)
3) The top ten Pakistani albums included three of VS albums - two of which were in the top three, one being first and the other being third.

So, how can you make a blanket statement that Salman Ahmed's music is better than VS'?

Frankly, for me it is not the music so much but what the band stands for that turns me off Junoon - the documentary being the latest example.

Samby bhai, no offense but its quite apparent thats its not the music that let you down, its the documentary... Kher, VS was great, but when it comes to music Junoon is way ahead of that... Besides, VS is the past, Shahzad is still not in good terms, and himself stated lots of times that he doesnt trust either one of the VS members. Without a chemistry between band members, there is no band.

Also, I have been reading instep since it started, and according to that Junoon topped the sales, with Abrar behind em.

Also, what you said about the documentary, can you please clarify in that thread, and read peoplechamps reply as well?

*Originally posted by Spock: *
Samby bhai, no offense but its quite apparent thats its not the music that let you down, its the documentary... Kher, VS was great, but when it comes to music Junoon is way ahead of that... Besides, VS is the past, Shahzad is still not in good terms, and himself stated lots of times that he doesnt trust either one of the VS members. Without a chemistry between band members, there is no band.

well I don't think I can be convinced that Junoon is better than VS in anyway - as musicians or as representatives of Pakistan. And it is obvious that I can't convert you either. So, lets just stop here - I don't wish to lose a yaar over Junoon. :)

But yaar what's up with the last little bit. I've also heard that VS members don"t get along but then ASN should know what he's talking about because he did say that he's heard some of the songs. I don't know, man. I think it would be great if they came back and Revitalized.

well I don't think I can be convinced that Junoon is better than VS in anyway - as musicians or as representatives of Pakistan. And it is obvious that I can't convert you either. So, lets just stop here - I don't wish to lose a yaar over Junoon. :)

You wont loose me ;) I know Sherry is your number 1, but im still following you around ;) Asif might get jealous though.

But yaar what's up with the last little bit. I've also heard that VS members don"t get along but then ASN should know what he's talking about because he did say that he's heard some of the songs. I don't know, man. I think it would be great if they came back and Revitalized.

Yeah, it would be like old times!

*Originally posted by Spock: *
You wont loose me

good to know that yaar. :)

The results were:

1) Best vocalist: Junaid (by quite a margin)
2) Best band: VS (by quite a margin)

Before I make any argument I would just like to know if there is anyway humanly possible to convince you. All over the world sales determine the success of a band. But apparently you dont want to argue about that. I dont blame you, had I been trying to prove VS is more popular then Junoon or better I wouldnt touch sales either. But anyway let forget about sales.

Ok a survey conducted by Instep is more accurate in your eyes compared to news giants like "CNN & "BBC" who both termed Junoon as the most popular band of ... no no not just Pakistan.... but South Asia.

As for this top ten albums, now what was the criteria to select those, cause sales is something thats not considered correct according to you. So it must be the people's opinion. Again according to bigger media corporations Junoon enjoys more popularity then not just VS but any other band in Pakistan. I dont even know if VS would be in picture when it comes to popularity. Abrar leaves them far behind apart from Junoon. PLus we have Strings that hit the scene big time since their return with "DUUR". Haroon, Fakhir, Noori... the list goes on. At this time these are the bands/singers that people know.

I think that Junaid is quite interesting with his live singing.Doesn't matter if his vocals are not that strong but still they are so entertaining.

First of all like i said Junoon is nothing compared to Vital Signs.

and i am sick of ppl saying BBC said that..BBC said this…i mean who the heck cares about bbc , cnn? hamaray kya lagte hain.

and just an info for JUNOON fans, if they really want BBC facts then check this:

VITAL SIGNS DIL DIL PAKISTAN is WORLDS nr 3 best song!

yes worlds 3rd best song! now beat this.

so no more bbc cnn facts plz.

baat asal ye hai kay AWAM kya kehti hai..PAKISTAN KI AWAM, or har bhooray or jojuwaan VS ko pasand karta hai. Junoon has his own tabka fan…like young ppl…any uncle auntie who likes junoon? well no..probably rare cases..but mostly its music for a young kind of age group.

but vital signs junaid jamshed har aik kay dilon mai rehta hai..from a baby of 2 years to a daddi amman of 120 years.

Salman is crap, when it comes to comparism with VS, masjid mai ja kar guitar bajata hai! aise banday ko SO CHITTAR LAGAYO.

So stop this comparism with Vital Signs, Junoon (N)

*So basically you can quote BBC and provide a link when its convenient for you. On one hand you say who cares about bbc , cnn and that you’re sick of people saying bbc said that. And then you go ahead and provide a link to bbc to prove VS song is #3 in the world. Well here is some more from your beloved bbc. *

**Junoon **
**Junoon are the biggest-selling group in all Asia and have a massive fan base among the young in the subcontinent.

Their high-profile status led, two years ago, to them becoming goodwill ambassadors for the UN on the issue of HIV/Aids.

Junoon are famed for publicly raising views on issues that many in Pakistan would rather be kept quiet, such as HIV/Aids, the Kashmir dispute, and corruption. They dismissed General Musharraf’s attendance at their gig as little more than a stunt.

**Junoon **
**Junoon, who formed in 1990, are regarded as Pakistan’s equivalent to U2.

They have played in Europe and the US, including the BBC’s Mega Mela event in Birmingham last year, and outside the UN headquarters in New York after the 11 September attacks.

They have written songs protesting against the attacks, corruption in Pakistan and the proliferation of nuclear weapons in South Asia.

They have also spoken out in favour of literacy programmes and anti-Aids initiatives.

**Junoon **
Junoon - a Pakistani rock band with a massive international following …
Junoon - described as one of the biggest bands in the world by a London rock magazine …

Now we can say no no more bbc , cnn facts please.

after all those links u give, it cannot beat the link i gave.

DIL DIL PAKISTAN WORLDS 3rd best song! and read it..its WORLD top 3...

anyhow
yes i meant was that if junooneez can give bbc links, then so can vital signs fans.

so whats the point.

Vital Signs is Vital Signs, and in my opinion Junoon vital signs ki jooti ka bi mukabla nahi kar sakta.

we all have different viewpoints...taste..etc etc.

for some junoon is better, well hoga . Apni Apni choice ki baat hai.

So no need to compete. lets just quit it here.

I agree people have different opinions and I respect your opinion. I dont mind quitting right here but you come back saying the link you provided beats all the links I provided. So basically even if I agree all it proves is that VS had one good song. While the links I provide doesnt say anything about one particual song, it praises Junoon as one of the biggest bands around, the most selling band in Asia and a band with massive international following.

ok Lahori Munda i respect ur viewpoint. I have already had enuf with junoon fans already, lots of behas, and it always end up no where. like i was challenged to put junoon clips up because junooneez didnt believe i have the new deewar cd, but that didnt help and things got worse.

so whatever u say...i dont want to do behas.

lets only talk about Vital Signs in this thread.

and the good news is their new video is coming soon which will be sponsored by PEPSI.

Right! :)

Vs the best :P

Junaid Jamshed RULZ

the best singer on the paki pop circuit and a very soft spoken and humble, nice person

Vital sings were the ones who revolutionized Pakistani pop scene. They were decent in thier approach to the music as compared to Pop singers of that era, (Hassan Jahangir etc etc though no offence to HJ :) )

Ppl here are claiming about Junoon's massive international following and media appearances. I agre that Junoon has international fan club bigger than VS, but thats mainly because there wasnt any media projection like today and VS got all popular just through thier music while Junnon besides thier music is great, benefitted from heavy media publicity campaigns...

All five albums are just sheer beauty. Some of theier initial songs are all time great pop pakistani songs, Songs like Tum milgaye, Saanwali, yeh shaam etc etc.....

*Originally posted by saby: *
Vital sings were the ones who revolutionized Pakistani pop scene. They were decent in thier approach to the music as compared to Pop singers of that era, (Hassan Jahangir etc etc though no offence to HJ :) )

Ppl here are claiming about Junoon's massive international following and media appearances. I agre that Junoon has international fan club bigger than VS, but thats mainly because there wasnt any media projection like today and VS got all popular just through thier music while Junnon besides thier music is great, benefitted from heavy media publicity campaigns...

All five albums are just sheer beauty. Some of theier initial songs are all time great pop pakistani songs, Songs like Tum milgaye, Saanwali, yeh shaam etc etc.....

Well said Saby, like always :)