Victims of caste system in Punjab

Re: Victims of caste system in Punjab

bhai log kehte hain ke kai syed jo syed hone ka dava kerte hain wo hote nahi....

though my family have shajra ..but still Allah knows best issi liye.....:)

^which Syed are you?

Don't tell me there are categories in Syeds too. BTW I heard all Syeds are Shah, but not all Shahs are Syed.

^ differentiation between Syeds depending the lineage they follow. Like my family comes from imam Ali naqi.

are you talking about hussaini and hasni?

So you people use Naqvi with your name? What are other lineage?

i dont know that....:D

then refer Shajra :D

ji zarur.............:)

Yes I am a naqvi syed, but don't use it with my name. Just use syed. Some of my family members who are also naqvis use Bukhari (as their ancestors came through Bukhara).

Again all Bukharis are not Syeds? Am I right?

I am not aware of people using Bukhari who are not Syeds (in Pakistan at least).

In my family mostly naqvis, and then kazmis.

“The trouble is that the biradaris and quoms are not all equal, and public silencing of the issue is very much about perpetuating existing hierarchies. The inequality is so severe and deeply embedded in parts of the country that it is hardly even noticed.”

I agree to this, this is one of the practices accepted by all in our cultures.. as by one way or other we also discriminate others.

oh bhai, let go of the poor syeds already. :) "Syed" is not a caste. The concept is present even in places where there is no caste system.

Sometimes it feels like being a Syed is considered derogatory by most people. That is 180 degree turn from how Syeds were looked at earlier.
"badalta he rang aasmaan kese kese".

so all people who migrated with invaders from Bukhara were Syeds? :hmmm:

^ not at all. But have you ever seen a non syed person who writes Bukhari with his name? I agree with you that if some one tells me that he is a Gillani syed, I'd like to know his origin (lineage) as the areas give part of the information.

The topic in hand is about using the caste or other identification for exploitation. One who exploits ( be it Syed or non-Syed) should be treated equally. If Mukhtaran Mai (from gujjar family) was victimised due to links of her brother with a lady from Mastoi tribe.

I have personally seen exploitation in my surroundings by Syeds to non-Syeds as well. Not all Syeds are same.

PS: I do agree that Syeds are present in places where there is no caste system, but they don't use their status to exploit others.

Before coming on this site, I thought all Syeds are Shias, as I lived and known shia muslims most of the life, a few ahemadis :)