Victim of Islamophobia after boston bombings?

Uttar Pradesh Minister Azam Khan, who is accompanying Chief Minister Akhilesh Uadav for a Harvard University event in the US, was detained briefly for questioning at Boston International Airport.

According to sources familiar with the incident, Khan was detained for about 10 minutes for “further questioning” at Boston Logan International Airport yesterday after he landed in a scheduled British Airways flight from India.

The Urban Development Minister is in the US along with Yadav to attend a symposium on South Asia at Harvard University in Cambridge, Massachusetts, where they presented a study on the world famous “Kumbh Mela” held at Allahabad.

The sources said that when the visiting team landed at the airport, the Immigration and Border Protection officials accorded due courtesy and respect at the arrival point and even helped them in filling the arrival forms for entry into the US.

They were received and escorted by the officials of the Consulate General of India in New York and after they were cleared for entry, a woman officer of the US Customs and Border Protection wing of the Homeland Security took Khan to an adjacent room “for further questioning.” The extended interview lasted for ten minutes and the Minister was then cleared.

Incensed, Khan is reported to have kicked up a ruckus at the Immigration area saying he was detained because he was a Muslim and sought an apology from the officer who merely said she was doing her duty.

At one point, the arguments became loud and the woman officer threatened to file a complaint to restrain him from abusing her for discharging her duties as per the manual of the Department of Homeland Security.

She tried to explain to the Minister that additional interviews or questioning should not be construed as an insult or suspicion in view of the security threats and guidelines on entry of visitors to the US but the Minister raised his voice and demanded an apology.

Higher officials intervened and Khan was escorted out of the airport.

The visiting team is due to return to New York tomorrow evening after their engagements and scheduled to leave for India on Saturday on a scheduled British Airways flight.
UP Minister Azam Khan Detained Briefly at US Airport | news.outlookindia.com

Re: Victim of Islamophobia after boston bombings?

dude.. me and my wife were interviewed for 15-20 mins by a police inspector last time i tried to fly out from india. we arent muslim, just flying from an airport when our passports were issued from elsewhere. everyone who passes thru a metal detector gets a pat down. the pat down is really rough and uncouth and done by CRPF jawans, people who are supposed to maintain law and order, not search travellers. US airports are a breeze thru in comparison. politicians are used to VVIP treatment in indian airports, never have to go thru any checks. and throw tantrums when made to wait in the same lines and same screenings as everyone else in the US. 10 min interview.. my boss who is jewish got detained for like 30 mins once.

he had a diplomatic passport.....:)

having a diplomatic passport isn't the same as having diplomatic immunity. it probably gets his visa application easier, that is all.

so how does one get diplomatic immunity...?

so you believe that there is no islamophobia in US?

i think you have to be a consular or embassy employee.

there's islamophobia in the US, people get abused and even killed because of it. but a 10 minute interview as an example of it is pretty dumb.

we indians… citizens of the new super power did not like when our leaders are humiliated this way…

Oh Bhai, amreeka does not respect any international laws or protocols... I can provide many examples... Shri George Fernandes official vist as a defense minister to amreeka comes to mind. The poor chap was strip searched twice...

Amreeka only respects any laws when you can pay back in the same coin... Amother case in point when Venezuela's minister was strip searched and in retaliation Shri Chavez did the same to Amreekans... What happneed after that you can ask mama Google. :)

Why would he not change his name to Kannan?

10 minutes interview is normal. I have been detained longer, and i am sure if i go to arabia me or a white person will receive a worse treatment. you dont call it kufrfofobia.

But i still support our minister if they have asked him questions based on his faith or misbehaved with him. If they did so then he should have come back immideately or lodged a complaint and let our govt take care of the rest.

But there is no reason to shout , yell and act like a neta ji in USA. It is amreeka, all the humans are equal (generally). You are representing your country on that kind of passport, so act accordigly. The entire nation is behind you if injustice has happened to you.

Only if we get rid of our VIP mentality

:eek: really…such thing happens in arab countries?those tyrant arab rulers…

please post such few incidents from arab land airports…i have to bash an arab supporter…

thanks in advance…:slight_smile:

You need to travel a bit to see the way things really are in the real world.
you missed the point completely.

Besides, If i go the Saudia then they will detain me and deport me just for being too … :wink:

i cant afford it.....:(....i have to rely on people like you for info....:)

:hug:

So how did you miss the fact that the middle east has a huge population of Indians? Over 50% of the population in Dubai alone is made up of Indians, compared to only about 13% Pakistanis. A third of the Saudi population are expats, 20% of whom are Indians.

Anyway, coming back to the topic, I don't think people should make a huge fuss about being interviewed at the airport these days. Even if someone wants to racially profile me, let them. I have nothing to hide, let them question me to their heart's content.

and you don't think the indians in dubai/saudi etc aren't racially profiled? even in everyday public life, its a bit like mini-apartheid if you don't stick to the places you are supposed to be.

and diplomats from places with high levels of fraud will always be screened. no one's going to want to be the next borat's welcome party.

^^ Why are you mad at me. You said the same thing that i said.

Only part i dont agree is "i let them profile me cuz i have nothing to hide". Thats wrong, i let them do their thing cuz it is their country their rule. And i agree with them as well, if they dont search me then may be some skinny will get past too which may be a security threat. And i intend to live longer. :)

Work hard and have faith, thats what most of us did here to be where we are. You are a smart man, i am sure there are better things in your life waiting for you.

Oh I'm sure they are, especially the labour workforce, but that applies to Muslim desis/Asians as well, not just non-Muslim Indians and white people like kaka was implying. In fact, you would actually be treated better there if you were a white amreekan.

so the guy was asked questions ... it's not like he is a big big shot - some minister from one of the 30 or so states in India. Why the heck does he even have a diplomatic passport in the 1st place?