very very and i mean very

slow computer. i tried uninstalling some of the things i had downloaded but still it’s mad slow, any idea why??? i don’t think i got any viruses or it would’ve acted funny and plus i have firewall. so wut shall i do? :konfused:

Re: very very and i mean very

does it take long time to start try "win patrol"

The

yes it takes time to start…and when i try to open internet it takes a bit to open that up as well…and everything takes some time to load :bummer:

wut’s win patrol?

win patrol a light weight utility(free).
It let you control start up task in your computer. Nothing will start unless you want it to start.

Either your HD is trashing or some process is sucking up cpu utilization... If HD light is constantly blinking that is an indicator and you can check the processes in task manager.

when your pc starts up goto task manager and tell me how many processes are tunning yu can change the startup items by going to run folder type msconfig and goto the startup to edit wat yu dont want to run.
try defragging the hd also update your antisyware and virus killers

acha so just because you have a firewall, you PC should be lightening fast :stuck_out_tongue:

Check the CPU load? press CONTROL+ALT+DELETE and then press the “Performance” TAB, check what %age the CPU usage thing is showing?

Might be some random program eating up all your CPU.

0% then goes up high and comes back to 0%

:konfused:

*format your HD and reinstall the OS

ermm english plz??

how do i format my HD and wut's an OS?

^ do u by any chance use anti virus ?? like norton and stuff

Phir theek hai.. rehnay do.. koi aur wajah hai..

That’ll be the thing to do, if you cant find the culprit behind this..
but I suggest you dont do this yourself, as you dont know what it is :stuck_out_tongue:

Ask someone from your friends/families to help you re-install windows, mind you, you will lose everything by doing so, iss liyay make a backup of all your important files on CD/DVD.

If the hard drive is dying that wont help either. Here's another few things you can try:
- Run chkdsk on that drive by right the affected drive in Windows Explorer, click on Properties go to the Tools tab and press the Check Now button (under ErrorChecking box). It will tell you the chkdsk will run when u restart. So restart.

• If the problem really is viruses see if the PC speeds up if you disconnect the network cable from the pootar, usually you would feel a notable difference. So once you find out if this is the case you would know which line of troubleshooting to follow.

Also another thing to check is how much RAM you have and how many programs are getting loaded at startup. If your RAM is not enough, your RAM contents are continuously getting swapped to HD which slows down the whole machine.