Thanku :halo:
lovely outfit! where did you get it from and how much was it?
Re: very heavy mehndi dresses
Thanks doll.. Got it cheap 15,000 pkr... Really haggled!
Im seeing that the girls are getting there own mendhi dresses, but dont the boys side bring the dress for you..Thats what my In Laws are doing?
Pyari it depends on the customs in your family. I'm having my own clothes the way I want them. So did my mum for her wedding but she got lots of fancy clothes, gold and other presents from the inlaws. My in laws to be bless them are quite aged and not so aware of current trends etc so they're happy for me to wear what I like!... Relief lol
AngelEyess u look stunning MA! i LOVE ur baraat outfit, its beautiful.
personally i think brides shouldnt wear a really fancy, heavy kaam wala outfit for the mehndi... they should save the wow factor for the wedding day. the last mehndi i went to the bride had on quite a heavy lengha with a big costume set on and it looked really odd and out of place cos her fiance was dressed in a plain shalwar kameez.
basic make up such as concealer/foundation and a light lip gloss is a must, otherwise u end up looking dead in the photos
I dont think it matters anymore.
Do what you want! Wear what you want and enjoy your events by experimenting with different looks...so much fun. :)
I wore candy pink and bright orange on my mehndi...it was fabulous because no one else wore those colors. I had light kaam on the outfit and wore huge pink earrings. Traditionally, people wear green or yellow to a mehndi but I wanted to stand out. I did get my hair and make up done but kept the look very neutral/simple along with a paranda.
My sister is wearing my mom's kamkhaab gharara on her mehndi...with a fuschia colored shirt and dupatta. It looks awesome...Mashallah.
There are no rules...have fun...feel beautiful and enjoy your day!
agreed!
i wore a gharara on my mehendi- it wasn't as fancy as my wedding dress obvs. but it wasn't completely plain either. it had kaam and it was jamavar and really pretty. i had my hair and makeup done and looked fab :D
you're going to have a mehendi once- do what makes YOU happy. i've seen girls in heavier joras and they've looked beautiful. simple suits some girls, fancier suits others. ask yourself what will make you feel like a bride? not your mom, your sis, your bff, or any of us here - what will make YOU feel beautiful? whatever it is, do that.
^ Going simple for your mehndi is not a hobo look its actually the whole point of the event. Its supposed to be in celebration of the brides preparations.
i dunno... with so many girls marrying guys they've dated for years now, i feel like a mehendi is just a pre-wedding party, and that's it. i don't think its about a bride's preparations anymore - she's not sitting in maiyyoun beautifying herself for days and nothing else, you know?
so many brides are planning their own weddings these days and being so heavily involved in everything- gone are the days of your parents arranging it all, including the man you're marrying!
i have to agree with sara- i put so much effort into organising my mehendi, i wanted to make sure i looked good and enjoyed myself and did everything i wanted to, to make the night memorable. plus we had photographers and i know i didn't want pics of my face covered with a ghoonghat or sans makeup- its just not me. and its such a personal thing- there is no right or wrong way. there will always be people who prefer going traditional and those who prefer doing things their own way. my cousin is opting for the simple clothes, ghoonghat route and more power to her, but like i said, its never something i even considered. plus i could see my then-fiance being really confused lol he's not desi so he would've been like, peek-a-boo much? haha :p
LOL at peekaboo much hehe... Yeh your right about it being an important event jeez my mehndi and all its little props is more time consuming to put together than the main day! I guess whatever floats your boat. SGC where is your hubby from? Mine is not pakistani either, he's bengali.
^ mine's hungarian :)
how are you finding planning a paki/bengali wedding? are there lots of differences you are running into? how exciting! multicultural weddings are the best!
i have a plain yellow dress with little bit of gota on it, leaving the heavy stuff to the wedding
that shud b the main point ![]()
DF...my hubby is bengali too! dont u just love them?
^ My best friend is married to a Bengali she is Pakistani herself! They get on really well her nikah was beautiful.
I agree with Amnah. I wish mehndis were more traditional. The bride should wear a simple outfit with not too much kaam and no makeup or very little or natural looking makeup. The heavy outfit and makeup should be saved for the shaadi day. On my mehndi I wore a yellow outfit with some kaam but it was not that heavy and had light jewelery and natural makeup and my hair was in braids with a simple flower. I love old mehndis where the groom and brides side battled out against one another in song and no men to some men came (grooms/'brides father, brother,close cousins then no one else) sigh The good old days
Wore a gharara on Ubton n Mehndi...
Mehndi outfit was from Susraal, it was very colourful n had gotta kaam on the shirt duppatta n gharara... jamavar gharara.
They gave me everything in a beautiful chaaba, gharara, paranda which was quite big n heavy very much to the outfit tho.. didn't wear the paranda since i have v.long hair MashAllah and i thot it wud give me headache....lol
i did the ghungat,since i always wanted to do ghungat on the mehndi... No makeup, nothin at all.
When the rasms started, removed the ghungat.... Susraal brought gottay ki jewelery for me. There was panjangla, tikka, jhumar, necklace, earings etc.... All made with gotta, its really beautiful.
I like the idea of being traditional, but I think its the brides choice of how much or how little she wants for each event! Every girl gets ONE wedding, so why not get everything you dreamed of? if that includes a heavy mehndi jora, then so be it! :)
my mehendi dress was a PLAIN YELLOW ONLY thingy
no kaam no nothing with a chunri dupata with gota border thats it....
I prefer it to be simple, as the bride should be at her full glory on the baraat day :-)
yes 100% - mine was also this simple! i prefer saadgi on mehndi!