what r ur views on vatta satta ki shadi?
i dont think its good, but in some areas its a ravaj. thankfully not in my family.
would u ever go for it? why/why not?
thanks
what r ur views on vatta satta ki shadi?
i dont think its good, but in some areas its a ravaj. thankfully not in my family.
would u ever go for it? why/why not?
thanks
whats vatta satta?
^ I was going to ask the same thing.
sorry guys...shudve included the explanation of the term...
its basically like a brother and sister from one family get married to a bro n sis from the other family
in some areas of punjab its a ravaj so like if X [sis] and Y [bro] r getting married and A is the guy in the other family X is getting married to, then Y gets married to A's sis. if A doesnt have a sis his family still has to provide a girl to become Y's bride. Lets call this girl B. in this case B is bought with money from some other family.
vatta satta is when two people a brother & sister marry another brother & sister. Like two couples with same inlaws.
I think if it work out it could be good, but if it goes wrong, like divorce, then it affects the other couple aswell, Ive seen at least 2 cases where as soon as one got divorced the others followed.
I would never go for it, ever, mainly because there are only 3 of us, if it goes wrong it would cause too much heartache.
we call it dhawathi in our region back home, correct me if i’m wrong big bee, it’s were a husband who marries into a family from which some 1 would marry into the husband’s family in exchange!!!
that wasn’t explained very well… ![]()
If shes from another family (bought under whaterver cicumstances) how is that watta satta.![]()
Wouldnt that just be two couples that are married but 2 of them just happen to bro & sis.
no its a terrible idea, if one couple break up the chances are the other will as well, and its happened many times
Xara - completely agreed but... sigh..some people dont get it!!! i think its just a disaster waiting to happen !!! ive myself seen one vatta satta marriage break and i think if it wasnt vatta satta it would have worked out...
M its vatta satta because the other family still gives the money to buy the girl and most often she's from their baradri
luc which region r u from? :)
old fashioned rivaaj. Not a good idea in my opinion. There should be no obligation or compulsion when it comes to marrying.
Yeah but even if she is from another buradri and they 'buy' the girl, that would just be 2 couples that are only related by one. How is that any different than normal marriages, why would they break up if one gets divorced, how would that affect the other marriage. Its not like they would be closely related so what difference does it make.
irem we r from mirpur azad kashmir... we had this type of shadi happening quite frequently about 10+ years back as i have been abroad for so long now it's hard to say wat's the situation back home re this isuue.... but our family 'n close relatives aren't gr8 believers in this
luc nice area u r from :-)
M hmmm true i guess but still it does make a difference...
5Abi
There should be no obligation or compulsion when it comes to marrying.
agreed, but ... if wishes were horses... :( :( :( sigh
VATTA SATTA is very common in my family.
my naani and daadi are sisters...
my daada naana are brothers..
so their children have mixed and matched and married..
Mashallah it works very well...
my puppoh married my mamu,
my chacha married my khala..
mow my brother married my puppohs daughter and I will marry her brother.. so its carried onto the next generation but we're known for our families rishthay's to work..
its nothing to do with buying, selling dahej and whatnot.. its basically to keep the family close...
^ agreed.. its been running in family since ages and mashallah all the couples are happily married and go along very well....even my parents have a vatta satta and yes I do blackmail my phopo n mamani simultaneously because of my two relationships with her.. :D sometimes its complicated to figure out the double, triple, relationship with a single person but its pretty cute and alot of fun.
Irem: I have never heard of buying a grl from other family in Punjab, I guess it used to be a custom of Pathans and Sindhis but not Pubjabis.. I can be wrong but IMO Punjabis are very much liberal when it comes to rishtas than pathans or sindhis.. no offence intended though :)
PS: I would have gone for vatta satta only if I had a brother...lack of a brother might give a break to this family tradition, AND now my family tends to go out of family more often anywayz, becuase they do understand the Genetic problems that can arise because of cousin marriages if it continues onto the couple of generations.
a horrible custom!!!
thx 4 responses guys
GTG its a custom in the siraiki belt among some zaats
hey irem ![]()
why dont u agree with vatta satta?
ive had a few family members married like this.. it does cause quite a lot of grief but if its handled properly and maturely, i think its a great thing..
hey sadzz ![]()
yaar i dont agree abt vatta satta becoz i’ve seen a shaadi break coz of it…
p.s. i read in ur other thread that u r depressed? i am too
i feel sooo down
my younger brother is ill so i dint even go to the office today, its just him, my maid and me at home. he’s sleeping, maid’s working in kitchen and i’m here.
man i wana go to the seaside with my friends…life is soooooo depressing ![]()
aww ![]()
about vatta satta, i personally think it can work.. ive seen a few siblings being married like that and its been great for them… and others not so pleasant. It requires maturity… thaz all ![]()
yeah im just down about a few things..