the kaur is an encylcopedia - very interesting information. did not know Lohri was a Sikh custom - did see it in Veer Zara - it was cool.
@ Muqawee - first time I have heard of Veer Zara referred to as controversial. How so?
Southie Uncle
That become controversial due to certain religious implications. A Muslim girl marrying Hindu boy or vice versa is not an acceptable thing in our societies.
I was at a restaurant in the US while on travel - there was this really sweet young lady who was serving. There was Ganesha and other Gods' images in the restaurant.
I was oredering - and asked about choolay - she started talking in Hindi. So I asked - aapka Hindi bohuth achha hai. Aap kahan say hain? She said Bombay. So I asked, aapka mother tongue kya hai. And she said - I am a muslim.
I was puzzled, but did not inquire further. Muslims from Bombay - can have different mother tongues correct? Still dont know what the lady's mother tongue is. She was a sweetheart though
Indeed, Punjabans are the only one who can maintain their beauty with glamor, this is precisely what more beautiful kashmiris and pathans can't do. Carrying beauty graciously and with glamor is always punjaban's domain:D
But I think carrying beauty graciously is also dependent on an individual too. There are beautiful Punjabans, but when we think of Anjuman and other actresses of Pakistan, we tend to believe beauty is not an inheritance. :p
That become controversial due to certain religious implications. A Muslim girl marrying Hindu boy or vice versa is not an acceptable thing in our societies.
Forgot all about that - truly did. It was the best love story ever.
And I thought Rani Mukherjee's character and the Pakistan court were portrayed in favorable light. All in all, my favorite movie.
Lohri is hindu-sikh culture, sometimes family’s contain members from both community:D
Pathans are also found in entire subcontinent, Salman is also pathan:up:
Veena Malik is punjaban and so is Hina Khar I suppose and compare it with any other ethinicity of the sub continent. Amritsar and Lahore wala’s use same language and even same abusive words. of course it is not inheritance, but ‘nakhre’ and ‘paintre’ with style is best with Punjabans:D
Character Noor Zaka was the best one:D
the best comedy is in hyderabadi movie “the angrez”
it is intelligible to punjabis like Dogri spoken in Jammu, Pashtoons are pactyans tribe, Punjabi, sariki, dogri sindhis are mostely indo aryan group
These all languages are interconnected and common vocabulary and if you have heard and learned a language properly, you can have better knowledge of other languages too. I know Sindhi and our parents and grandparents speak pure Sindhi, without mixing words of English (as is the norm with our generation :( ), and due to hearing pure Sindhi from them, I can understand 90% of Saraiki, Punjabi & Hindko (spoken in Hazara and some parts of Kashmir).