Since valentine is totally a christian celebration, is it really necessary to celebrate in Pakistan? And is it really that necessary to give flowers on specific day? Aren’t we doing “biddat” here adding new things in religion?
Re: Valentine in Pakistan
But its not celebrated as religious event in Pakistan.
Even for fun we are creating a new thing which is wrong.
But we have started following so many bad things from others cultures (including Dowry, show off, denouncing relationships) and celebrating Valentine's Day by just exchanging gifts and flowers seems a harmless thing compared to those things.
The occasion promotes the culture of free sex and male-female relations. Also becoming common are public displays of emotions including advertising love messages in newspapers, going out on romantic dates and attending valentine balls and parties. Schools are not far behind in holding such parties for their students. As a result, even young children are fed new ideas of developing lusty feelings and expressing them boldly. Closet romantics are given a chance to emerge. They imitate their favourite movie love scenes in broad daylight. In all this ‘love’ fever Islam is given a backseat to sit and see how it’s teachings are being ridiculed in public.
Now that not the issue of only one day. These all things are getting acceptance in our society all the time. In short, Deedon main haya khatm hogai hai..
But the point is we have to redefine our boundaries and teach our future generations whats right and whats wrong based on reasoning. Because gone are the days when children accepted what they were told by parents. Now we live in an open society that requires more efforts from our side to preserve our good traditions and eliminate bad ones.
I don't realy think they even consider religion when they follow such acts.... its more to do with wanting to be more like the west which they immitate in a very bad way.
Valentines day is celebrated in name of St Valentine, most pakistanis wouldn't even know that.
Yes and most of people in west also don't know reality behind St. Valentine. In Pakistan its a new trend, probably its been discussed and celebrated since last 10 years.
In the west a majority of people are none Muslim so them celebrating valentines day whether they know what its in reference to or not doesn't realy matter. In Pakistan the majority are Muslims, who should see the bigger picture
100% agree to have bigger responsibility being Muslims, but the things related to this day (as mentioned in one of the above posts) are getting overall acceptance in our society. Thats where we need to put our attention.
IMO most young pakistani's living in pakistan try too hard to be like their western piers.... so much so they need to take a few steps back and realise what religion they follow.
Its the duty of parents to stress to children that following such acts is wrong. Then you have the Goverment who need to wake up and see what's being promoted in their country
Thats just silly.... I think pakistan go into over drive with valentines day as they do with other celebrations....
Its the situation of 'Naqal ke liye aqal ki zaroorat hoti hai' warna 'Kawa chala hans ki chaal apni bhi bhool gaya'.
I don't know about the flowers but it would be nice to revive some serious urdu love shaiyri on valentines day
But we have started following so many bad things from others cultures (including Dowry, show off, denouncing relationships) and celebrating Valentine's Day by just exchanging gifts and flowers seems a harmless thing compared to those things.
^THIS!!
Why we need to give examples of bad things we do to add just another BAD thing in our life.. why don't we list it like.. "Dowry, show off, denouncing relationships.... lets just not add another worst thing in our society/ life!!"
^THIS!!
Why we need to give examples of bad things we do to add just another BAD thing in our life.. why don't we list it like.. "Dowry, show off, denouncing relationships.... lets just not add another worst thing in our society/ life!!"
It was not for adding another bad thing in our society. It was to point out other bad things which need more attention that is being given to criticise Valentine's day.
Religion and Culture are two differnet things and if you are going to ask about Religion then I"m totally against him but if u r taking it lightly and looking this festival as cultural then there are some relaxation :cobra:
Basically our cultural is mixture of Hindu & Muslim Culture so there are many things common which are basically from Hindu’s culture. Especially in Lahore & Karachi we have lot of common things like Mehndi, Jhund Utrai aur Dulhan jub ja rahi hoti hay to Chawal phainkti hay ![]()
Religiously Its totally wrong and I"m sure No one can bear that his sister or Daughter receive gifts or flower from some stranger.
Last time i heard that In a school or college in Karachi they celebrate Halloween day ![]()
Jhund Utari bole baal mundwana or its something related to Jhandoo baam ![]()
Bhai Good Bharwai bhi hay ![]()
Bibi jee dulhan ban kar baith jati hain aur 7 nasal kay phall ![]()