I’m not sure if that is really a surprise, but we need to start thinking seriously how to deal with terrorists b/c as of now there are no plans & no long term strategy.
US: Pakistan Lacks Plan to Defeat Taliban
Report Warns Pakistani Military Struggling to ‘Hold’ Tribal Areas
A report released to Congress today warns that the Pakistani government still has “no clear path” toward defeating the insurgency in its tribal areas, beyond sustaining a deployment of over 147,000 troops in the areas. Even then, they are struggling to “hold” areas after they’ve been cleared.
The report also insists that the US war in Afghanistan cannot “wipe out” the Taliban there either, unless Pakistan is able to control their side of the border, and details Pakistan’s “concern” about letting US troops operating on the ground in Pakistani territory.
Interestingly enough, the report could well have been written with exactly the opposite take, as Pakistani officials have long maintained that they cannot win the war in the tribal areas until the US is able to control the Afghan side of the border.
On both sides it seems to be the case that offensives drives the insurgency away from a region, only to crop back up when the attack is over. Neither nation has the ability to occupy the entire region permanently, which means there is always someplace to flee to.
Indeed the US admitted in December that it wasn’t even theoretically possible to secure the border between the two nations, which is largely mountainous and sparsely traveled. In this context the report seems to be more about blaming Pakistan for the reality of an unwinnable war than anything.
I care less about US, they will eventually leave and left us again with torn apart region with such complex dimensions that have capability to take whole of Pakistan in the spiral of death.
1) Federal Government should call the national meeting of all the political forces in the country regardless of their affiliation - make a joint declaration, setup a new Federal dept or Agency with broad powers to deal with terrorism and counter-terrorism in decades to come.
2) Government should create a mechanism to engage the public specially businesses to fund the project for better rehabilitation of wounded/dead and their immediate relatives.
3) Terms of engagement on terrorism related agreements with foreign governments must be made public.
Yeah, like USA had a plan... they still don't seem to have one after a clear defeat despite having several times strong force with all the technology and stuff...
as for Pakistan, i think they do have a plan now, they had non in recent past when they did everything USA asked them to do. now when they are not poking their nose everywhere and have not started new war fronts wherever USA wants, shows that they do have a plan. also acting fiercely against TTP in SWAT and Dara Adam Khel, and not doing operation against Haqanis looks like a clear plan.
USA's problem is not whether pakistan has a plan or not, her problem is why Pakistans plan doesnt always match with those of USA.
So what if Pakistan does not have plan… we didn’t start this damned War the Americans did so they should be more prepared for the consequences. Offcourse Paksitan should also be ready to clear up things our side but yet again were being blamed when all were doing is trying to clean up others mess.
The Americans really should learn to stop being so ambitious. :nono:
Instead of making friends they make enemies… I had a long talk with Major Simmons Royal Marines Instuctor… in Chelmsford Barracks he put it very simply.
“Take an American force into a region where theres 50/50 blue and red and thye will turn the whole place into a red zone one way or another… a British Force at least makes it 60/40 in favour by having a better plan to deal with the pre and post effects of intervention…”
What he basically meant was the Americans never seem to have any planning sense at all and tend to make a bad situation worse…
“I feel sorry for Pakistan becuase it has every right to look both ways after all you Pakistani’s have to deal with the Talibs and Al Qaeeda fundamentalists in the long run… how you do it should be up to you… not anyone else.”
His views are very much in line with my own. Also I would like to further point out to those who have no insight in the matters of Afghan and Pakistani military and Political matters… it was in fact Hamid Karzai and even some elements of the British and Americans who first tried to talk peace with the Taliban… that was when Pakistan was hurling them back from from our side…
Talk about looking both ways dare I point out that just when Pakistani forces were fighting and dying in attemptes to push back a very hostile presence on our frontiers the “Coalition” were trying to talk peace to the same “Terrorists”.
Give me one reason why you think Pakistan should have a plan to match that of the USA? We are in no way subordinate to America and we have our own Soveriegn State and responsibilties, wether we have a Plan or not is our problem not America’s.
America has no right to dictate Pakistani foriegn policy in any way shape or form it is up to the people of Paksitan to decide what they do in this War. If the US and it’s allies can make underhand deals with the Taliban thugs then so can Pakistan.
Give me one reason why you think Pakistan should have a plan to match that of the USA? We are in no way subordinate to America and we have our own Soveriegn State and responsibilties, wether we have a Plan or not is our problem not America's.
I cant find any, and i'm sure I cannot find because there is not any : )
Exactly merey bhai... the World keeps bashing Pakistan when they dont realise we are merely clearing others mess... Even the Terrorist phenomena and twisted doctrine is an imported ideology and it's ruining centuries of hard work for peace. Shame on these cowards.
That is so true, Pakistan lacks the plan, they should listen to grand-master of anti-terrorism US and coalition, let Xe work in Pakistan and all terrorism will vanish in air
Exactly merey bhai... the World keeps bashing Pakistan when they dont realise we are merely clearing others mess... Even the Terrorist phenomena and twisted doctrine is an imported ideology and it's ruining centuries of hard work for peace. Shame on these cowards.
So why are Pakistanis willing to bend over for Saudis since it is an imported technology?
Dear readers, contrary to the author’s claim we do have a plan for defeat; the defeat not of ourselves but of the Taliban? Does not our 2014 withdrawal date clearly indicate the successful transition, despite Taliban interference, to full Afghan Security Force responsibility? Our successful phased withdrawal from Iraq provides an excellent example of our commitment, according to conditions on the ground, to withdraw from an Afghanistan whose forces can defend this great nation from all enemies internal and external.
Pakistan does not take orders from the US. Both nations are allies. Allies are dependent on one another and so must cooperate. Are you not mistaking disagreements between equals for orders between those of unequal stature? Does not Pakistan disagree on occasion with the United States? Yes, and we welcome and respectfully consider their point of view. Does not the United States disagree with Pakistan? Yes, and they welcome and respectfully consider our point of view. This is a disagreement between equals and allies, and not as you claim, a master-slave argument.
Both Pakistan and the US are victims of the same terrorist injustices that claim so many innocent lives and now strengthen our strategic alliance in the war against terror. So, does it make sense to blame the United States and Pakistan for being in what you claim, without proof, is an unequal relationship, when it will take the strongest of alliances to defeat terrorists?
In the following link you can read what a 14 year old suicide bomber had to say after he was captured:
Captured Teen Suicide Bomber in Pakistan Vows Attacks](News, Politics, Sports, Mail & Latest Headlines - AOL.com)
How long will you continue to blame the US for crimes being committed by insurgents residing within Pakistan? Swat is a prime example. Taliban had created hell on earth for the people of Swat valley. Pakistani government restores the writ of legitimate government by force. After intense fighting the Pakistani army recaptured Swat and Taliban were either killed or driven out. We fully support the Pakistani military’s actions in the interest of its own nation. We fully support Pakistan in its mission to eliminate terrorism and we will continue to do so until the terrorists are no more.
Does not our 2014 withdrawal date clearly indicate the successful transition, despite Taliban interference, to full Afghan Security Force responsibility?
That is not set in stone. Even the taxpayers that fund you won't take this completely at face value. I think the US would always be in afghanistan if it can just like there are a small amount of non-combat troops in iraq right now. There is not even a strong government like Iraq by comparison and ground situation would never ever be "stable".
yh right after losing more than 35 thousand ppl .. we still hear this ... "we are not doing enough" ... kindly leave afghanistan .. and then so called karzai american's puppet can have his taliban friends back in his country ... seriously .. we have had enough .. no one understands wht pakistanis have been going through .. we have had more casualities thn a war zone ... yet the Us keeps on staging dramas! ... azaab naazil ho is pe .. or Pakistan k dushmanun pe .. InshaaAllah they will doom soon and Pakistan will be here forever inshaAllah!!!