OK..so am in the US of A for 3 and a half yrs now..and mashallah have a very good job..so career wise mashallah am well set.
But am planning to return to Pakistan in a couple of year after inshallah getting my Masters from Australia. Now is this a stupid decision?? I mean returning to Pakistan??..Am I the only one who wants to (AND IS DEFINITELY INSHALLAH ) leaving the US and my job to return to Pakistan??
I dont say its a bad decision, depends on your circumstances......
If you have family there and get a good job in Pakistan than I think there is no harm in moving back. Some of my friends who had good jobs here moved back after they got good job offers in Pakistan
ffaisal80, its my dream to move back to Pakistan too, but unfortunately I couldn't enter the field I wanted to after my MS, and now at this point its tough to change career (one area of EE to another area of EE) and there is no scope of current career in Pakistan unless I start all over. If you have opportunity to do it, then I don't see any reason why not, especially if you are mentally prepared to do it. But don't forget the fact that when you left Pakistan some years ago, now you won't find it as it was, but actually worse in most areas, sadly it really is true.
Have you worked in Pakistan before? Do you know what work/business environment is like? Second hand knowledge is all second hand, if you haven't seen/faced it yourself then that'd be BIG a problem when you move.
Can you tell us about how working in Pakistan is like? I have lived in Pakistan, but dad worked in the Middle East, so never really knew about the work enviornment. How is it different from the US? I know it is different, but how? Positives, negatives? I am more intrested to know about private sector. Something my dad always tells me is that in Pakistan once you get into a company, you hardly ever get laid off.
Amelie...I am planning to do my Masters from Aussie land and not US coz its half the price..over here its gonna cost me 40K and over there 20K.. I plan to get my Masters in Finance and not MBA...and that is not offered part time in the US so i cant work and atudy at the same time...Plus to be honest masters is just a back up that my dad wants me to do...mashallah we hav family business that i will join...
Captain 1 ...I hav interend in Pakistan ..never worked a job there...but hopefully things are better in a bank (thats where i will work inshallah if i do work)...
*Originally posted by ffaisal80: *
lots of smart ppl here...but here goes
O-Levels from Saint Peters High School- 1996
A-Levels - Avicenna -1998
CBM - Karachi for 2 yrs
Then completed my Bachelors in Accounting from Baylor UNiversity, Waco, TX 76706
Working as an Auditor for a local CPA firm in Toms River, New Jersey.
Planning to do my Masters in Finance from AUstralia inshallah and then return to Pakistan
i'm o levels class of 96 from saint michaels and a levels class of 98 from kgs :p
then i did undergrad from usa
u were in avicenna for a levels? hmmmm i know a couple of ppl from ur class. in fact one of them is a very good friend of mine i'm gona ask her about u now :D
p.s. i moved back to pak too and am lovin it. i think its a great idea if ur family is here. ur life is much nicer.
IREM...in Avicenna i was pretty low key...sort of never in skool always out and was one of the good kids :S....so i dunno abt ur friend knowing me...i mite know her though...i knew most of the girls atleast by face ;)
thanx Umer...I just hope that ALlah gives me the courage to move back..I still hav another year in the states...and believe me its not esy to leave everything and go backl and start a freash career. But inshallah it shall be done :)
lol...its true that I can only remember faces coz I am horrible at remembering names... but then come to think of it I compare between guyz and gals I remember more of the girls names than guyz ...selective retention ;)
anywayz...dont you think that if I remember a girl by her face that is a compliment meaning she has a beautiful face with good features ??? :P
i remember when i was younger and was talking on the fone all the time with girls...my dad used to say "TUMHARI SIRF AIK HEE BEHAN HAI" ....his point was keh mai apni behan ko time nahi daita and my moo boli sisters ko time hee time...
if you have a family business AND you are comfortable working in the business culture of pakistan..i say go for it. It's different BUT you can have a very comfortable life in Pakistan....
My husband's family has a great business there BUT we both aren't comfortable living in pakistan full time...and he doesn't like to do business in urdu or as he would have to in pakistan...so henxe we didnt' move back but ware open to being international and moving up by moving around...
Amelie...thanx...yeh I guess its all abt where I am comfortable being at... and I guess at this point in my life thats in Pakistan..
Irem...tauba...allah maaf karay..aap ko tou humay border par bhaijna chahiyay tha...guaranteed saari wars hum jeet jaatay ;) ...and St. Peters key larkay are disciplined and well rounded ... hehe...that doesnt sound convincing..but yeh watever :)
aray! saint michaels kee hoon wat do u expect :soldier: infact i was the deputy head girl there :soldier: michaeleans kee rep ka toh aap ko pata hi ho ga how laraka and badmash we r :soldier:
as for saint peters k larkay: bas Allah hi maf karay