US considering apology over Salala attack

US considering apology over
Salala attack; drones to continue**

WASHINGTON: The US officials have claimed that the United States has no intentions to stop drone strikes in Pakistan.

The US newspaper, citing officials, have claimed that drones strikes will continue against militants and their hideouts in Pakistan.

Meanwhile, the White House is considering to issue an official apology over Salala check post attack that resulted in the martyrdom of 24 Pakistani soldiers.

Committee’s Chairman Senator Raza Rabbani said the US footprint in Pakistan must be reviewed, calling for an immediate cessation of drone attacks and infiltration into Pakistani territory on any pretext including hot-pursuit.

He said Pakistani territory including its airspace shall not be used for transportation of arms and ammunition to Afghanistan.

“G****overnment of Pakistan should seek an unconditional apology from the US on the unprovoked incident of Salala attack and those held responsible for the attack, should be brought to justice,” he said, adding Pakistan should be given assurances that such attacks or any other attacks impinging on Pakistan’s sovereignty will not reoccur.

He said no verbal agreement regarding national security shall be made with any foreign government or authority and all such agreements and understandings shall cease to exist forthwith.

GEO

A nation which is famous for saying sorry all the time, and which instantly offered apology to Shah Rukh Khan for a 2-hour detention at the White Plains airport of New York, now thinking about saying sorry for killing 24 soldiers around five months ago.

Re: US considering apology over Salala attack

wow ... they are still considering! whts the point of apologizing now? is it going to bring our soldiers back?

if they couldnt make a genuine apology then, there is no point of making one now ...
even if they do it, its doesnt really make a difference to us, they still havent prosecuted the guys who carried out the attack!

Too little too late.

This is what OUR government is good at. Word play. Words like ‘muzammat’, ‘afsos’ play well with their constituents.
That is why they seem to be ‘insisting’ on a lame duck apology 5 months later, which they will use to ‘pacify’ their constituents at home, and in return, americans can continue on with their drones that kill innocent civilians more often than not.

Yeah Right!!!

Here comes the nation who cannot dig out their own Jawans out of the snow in their own homeland and that is in battle field... they are out there challenging US, that you have killed our 24 Jawans, now we don't want to talk to you! and also we don't know what to do, yes we claim that you are our enemy and we have to visit US to collect donations to run our projects and yet we will fight you with bailan, chimta and whatelse we will find and also we will object on increase in our nuclear arsenal and yes we will actually do not know what APOLOGY in diplomatic terms means, and yes we are not ready to learn about it.... but one thing we know, we do not know what we want, and yes we will oppose each and everything the parliament has to say why, just because this is out habit...

^ dont drag siachin into this! Siachin is not an ordinary piece of land and the avalanche itself is so big that any army would have struggled to clear it.

^^

Sicachen is Part of Pakistan and Jiyalas like you who want to fight US should know that if anything goes wrong, US will not pick the battle field of our liking??? or would they send you a PM asking for the apt battle field???

Oh bhai if the parliament cannot do anything they should stop the drama baazis as well as we know they cannot get anything implemented from anyone in the world. There was no use of the wastage of time in this useless parliamentary review.

^^ why not take your gun and go to border and kill all US soldiers you found there this way you can revenge your fallen brothers????what you say to this??? can you dare to do this, because this is what you are saying

lol stopping NATO supplies is equal to taking up gun and kill Americans soldiers?

LOL

Tells alot about your knowing of international affairs, tell you what, since you are PTI Supporters and Follow Imran Khan, last year IK said if Drones are not stopped in a months time, he will have Dharna and will block the NATO supply for good... why not implement that.. since govt is opening up the supply after 4 months, why not you join JI and Difa-e-Pakistan Council and block all the NATO trucks and supply line...

The government will do whatever they want to or what ever the orders they receive. But is there anything new in the new parliamentary recommendations as I have not seen what will Pakistan do if the Americans dont comply with our conditions?

I do not like the sectarian rats in DPC.

^ you sound like one

What you want Pakistan to do???

In one of the threads i have seen you were opposing USD 2.5 Bn spent on nuclear arsenal.... and now here you are.. saying what will Pakistan do... tell me what Pakistan can do??? can they go to war against US??? or can they walk away just like that???

Changing diplomatic ties with any country take proper homework and that includes getting alternate routes on which Pakistan has been working for last few years, the ties with Russia, Turkey, China. Iran and other Central Asian States is example of the same.. you just do not walk away from a super power who have just declared you guilty of sponsoring terrorism... you have to make your way out of it....

Now please suggest some realistic alternates... i am eagerly waiting for it

I was opposing extensive expenditure in nukes as nukes alone cannot save us, the challenges that we are facing (each and every one of the 200 million people) is due to security, inflation, loadshedding and internal fragmentation as the nation. We can have a million nukes but our security can be guaranteed by the strength of our economy and internal cohesion.

Anyways we need to get out of this illusion that we are an allies, because we are not. Our realistic relations with Americans are that of a ruler and a slave that's the reason why American ambassador is the center of all of this. If we are allies can't we exPlain the damage that we have to endure due to the drone strikes, and the damage to our Infrastructure and society due to the NATO supplies passing through Pakistan. Most of the stolen NATO goods are available in Karkhano bazar which will again be used against us. If the supplies won't pass through Pakistan that would not be the end of the world but they have become a very divisive issue in the country. Having said that we should try to help the NATO forces in ending the conflict with taleban, and improving our relationship with all countries of the region including Afghanistan, Iran, Russia and India.

Please read the recommendation of PC.. and then also read my reply and now, please give me realistic solution not idealistic but realistic...

How would you help NATO by ending their conflict with Afghans? by cutting their supply line!!! this way the only thing you will do is get in the list of the enemies of the NATO countries because cutting supply is war tactic used by the enemy..!!!

Stolen goods, Smuggled Goods and many things like that is not because NATO supply it is because there is no implementation of law and order!!! during the blockade or NATO supply, was the shops of Karkhano bazar were empty???

Now please some real solutions over the topic??? this time try to have realistic ones

I have given my solutions which I think are realistic, as the American policy to stabilize Afghanistan has destabilized Pakistan and I think Pakistan is more important as compared to agh and our army as well as politicians have not been able to explain this to the Americans.

I'll come back a little later on the remainder of your post.

These are the recommendations of PCNS.*

1- There will be no verbal agreement on national security.*
2- National airbases will not be allowed to be used by any foreign power.
3- All verbal agreements with the US and Nato will be ceased.
4- Supply of weapons will not be allowed after reopening Nato supply lines.
5- Perpetrators of November 26 attacks on Salala check posts shall be brought to court of justice.
6- November 26 attacks will be declared a violation of international rules.
7- Pakistan must be assured that no more incidents like November 26 will ever happen again.
8- The United States must unconditionally apologise to Pakistan over check posts’ attack.
9- The US drone attacks must be stopped on Pakistani soil.
10- The US must reconsider its drone attacks policies.

Point 1: I agree with this

Point 2: I have read reports of even Shahbaz Airbase and some other airbases in US control if so how can we have them vacated?

Point 3: similar to point 1

Point 4: how will we check if they are not supplying weapons to their forces (do we have the capacity to check each container? And if we establish they are supplying weapons what will we do?)

Point 5: They have already said that Salala attacks were prompted by Pakistan, so why should they try their people. If they dont try them what would happen?

Point 6: If Nov 26 is considered violation of international laws, what does that make drone attacks?

Point 7: Agreed

Point 8: If they dont apologize what will happen, same to 5.

Point 9 and 10: Similar and the Americans have categorically stated that they will not end drone strikes.

We can help them in initiating talks with the taleban. Besides the NATO forces are not completely dependent on Pakistan, they can use other routes for their supplies which would be costly for them. But we should see our strategic interests, like the rest of the world does.

They were not empty but at least they didnt have the newest gadgets, the first Afghan war gave us klashnikovs and rocket launchers. I dont know what we will get from this war. And yes I know the reason for this is due to poor security conditions in large parts of the country as well.

Incase you are not aware, US is not asking us to initiate any talks with Taliban and talibans are not interested in the talks with the invaders who are loosing the war and is expected to live by 2014.... so now please some realistic solutions... and that is on the topic of the thread... i am waiting... if you have missed the topic of the thread is "US considering apology over Salala attack"