URGENT FOR SARA516

**Hi… I don’t know if I should be posting this, it may be too late-- sorry for being nosy, but I read your journal in regards to raheela beauty parlor-- i hope you got a test done to see what your makeup looks like and if the things she does suits you, because I don’t want to scare you but I know two sisters who went to her on the day of their wedding, and the stupid woman who did it (i don’t think it was Raheela herself) did such a horrible job with the waxing, the girl had burns on her legs and arms, her sister had a rash on her face from irritation to a cream that was used after the threading, and her sister’s makeup was God-awful I remember being at the wedding thinking poor girl— and recently my sister went there and a bride was throwing a fit because they poked her while putting her contacts in and her left eye was all red it was creepy! I hope you got a test done, adn try to make sure Raheela herself does your makeup, the pakistani women are very paindoo and never get a color from there, its DISGUSTING and your hair falls like no tomorrow! I don’t maen to scare you but if you have time, back out unless you know for a fact what your face will look like on your wedding day… all the best sweetie :)May Allah give you all the happiness in the world and may you be the prettiest dulhan that ever was :slight_smile: hugglez **

Re: URGENT FOR SARA516

I concur. My sister got a test done by Raheela herself in fact, and it looked very paindu. They didn't even match the foundation to her skintone and tried to make her appear more "white" even though her skin tone is light already! The eyes looked pretty bad as well.

I hate to say this about anyone.. but it was disgusting the overall look... i dont know why shes soooo famous, its just that shes the only major beautyparlor here in brooklyn... i personally hate it, i dont even go to get threaded there, tehy alawys manage to cut me!
you can tell what they're going to make u look like just by looking at the makeup and clothes they wear... and they dont want to make you look the way you want... if you tell em, i want layers... tehy say nai nai mai apkay baloon ko bob karti hoon, bohottttttt soni lagogi and im like ehhhh no miss i want what i want, this isnt "lets do what we like and give these people unwanted makeovers" day

aww no this place soundz horrible, I hope they dont mess sara's up.

whre is raheela beauty salon?

sara is gettng married in Canada so she lucked out.
But I agree Raheela is very paindu.

zainab raheela is in brooklyn ny and she is really really ,huh,,,,,,i took y neice to her ooh GOD the makeup was awful....very chalky,,wont recomend,,,there is one in hicksville ,,suna hai acha hai..

i've been to three weddings where the bride got makeup from raheela. two of them were actually pretty good. not exactly stunning but not bad. the third was horrible cakey and streaky. but this much is true of raheela's parlor that the bride is not given the full attention and care they require....one lady is simultaneously working on three four different women at the same time...and it can get very annoying. and they have no manners. on top of that raheela herself has no idea of what sort of makeup to put on keeping the dress/look in mind...she expects the bride to tell her before-hand if the foundation should be whiter/darker, what sort of eyeshadows to use etc....and if you dont tell her in advance then you can expect almost anything from her!

i dont understand why desis dont get their makeup done from non-desi makeup artists? i've seen some gori brides and their makeup is beautiful on their wedding day. they look polished without any cakeyness.

I don't know why the people can't do the makeup good here, the resources are much better than pakistan, yet pakistani dulhans look like princesses straight out of a fairytale... and thank God! I'm gladd she's not getting it done from here :sigh of relief:

I dont think american people can catch the glamour that is required for Desi Brides.
The american way is to donwplay everything.

*pics removed *
just to give u guys an idea...this girl got her makeup done from a makeup artist in manhattan. i thought she looked beautiful. not over the top.

and this one got her's done from raheela. i thought it was fine but a tad bit too orange.

i dunno i find alot of paki brides that get their makeup done from desi parlors here tend not to look so great. the makeup is always too caked on. i like the airbrushed way they do it in pakistan. a few of my cousins are prettier when they dont have any makeup on and on their weddings they looked orange and old.

wow that really is pretty.. the first pic..i assume it wasnt a desi makeup artist right?

no it was a makeup artist on 5th avenue. she'z done makeup for alot of celebs like catherine zeta jones apparently.

what do you think of these brides make up, this is done by the beutician who is doing mine in july.

pics removed

Please Dont Quote.

wow the first one looks so pretty! who is this makeup artist?

wow Mashallah all are gorgeous

She is called Moona from Leeds, she been doing it for over 20 years, used to work as make up artist for the BBC, so not paindu or cakey or watever clown look they seem to go for.

Do you think this is a reasonable price, Im paying £700 for the baraat and walima. $1378, 83959 rupees, i think.

What you lot think coz I have to take these pics down now.

thats a decent amount of money, not too much