Urdu Language Destroying Pakistan!

Language is the most important aspect of culture. It is the dominant feature in determining nationality or ethnicity. It is the binding force that unites a people, and makes them distinct from others. Language represents a people’s heritage and identity. However, the imposition of Urdu as the national language of Pakistan has been disastrous to the country.

Urdu language evolved during the declining period of Muslim rule in South Asia. But Persian (Farsi) always remained the official language of South Asia during the Muslim rule. Turkic and Arabic languages were also popular, Turkic language being the mother-tongue of many among the ruling elite, and Arabic language learnt for religious or scholarly purposes. The base of most South Asian Muslim empires was in north India, particularly in Delhi and surrounding areas. With the passage of time, due to the constant interaction between the ruled Khari-boli-speaking north Indian Hindu masses and the ruling Persian-Turkic-speaking Muslim elite, a new language slowly evolved called Hindustani, whose Persianized form came to be known as Urdu. Although, Hindustani/Urdu language eventually became popular, it was limited to parts of north India (Delhi, UP, MP, etc.) and never became the official language during Muslim rule. Other regions continued their native languages such as Punjabi, Sindhi, Pashto, Kashmiri, Seraiki, Baluchi, etc. having nothing to do with Urdu, while Persian was the official language throughout the Muslim empire.

Even in the case of north India, the official language continued as Persian down to the days of the last Mughal emperor. “Persian remained the official language of every Muslim state in India and the ambition to emulate Persian classics was nowhere given up, the influx of Persian poets being a compulsion for the study of Persian” (Indian Muslims, by M. Mujeeb). It was only later on, from the advent of the British that north Indian Muslims adopted Urdu and developed an attachment for it. “During the first centuries of its existence, Urdu literature was entirely poetical. Prose Urdu owes its origin to the English occupation of India and to the need of text books for the College of Fort William. The Hindi form of Hindustani was invented at the same time by the teachers at the College. It was intended for the use of Hindus and was derived from Urdu by ejecting all words of Arabic and Persian birth, and substituting in their place words borrowed or derived from the indigenous Sanskrit” (A Study of History, Vol. V, by AJ Toynbee). Also, the Perso-Arabic script of Urdu and Devangari script of Hindi are other significant differences between the two.

Despite these differences, Urdu and Hindi languages are extremely similar to each other, mostly composed of native north Indian linguistic elements. Having a common origin, both languages are intelligible to each other, and overwhelmingly share the same syntax, vowels, vocabulary, etc. It would be safe to say that both Hindi and Urdu are almost the same language, the minor differences being somewhat comparable to the Persianized Azeri language of Iran with the Russianized Azeri language of Azerbaijan. Leaving aside the undoubtedly close relationship between Hindi and Urdu, the fact remains that Urdu is only native to parts of north India, and is a foreign language in Pakistan.

Since north India (Delhi, UP, etc.) was the base of Muslim and British empires, the Urdu-speaking north Indian Muslims had an environmental advantage in better education, jobs, and businesses. The result being that the Urdu-speaking north Indian Muslims dominated in South Asia as the educated elitist Muslim class. Due to their domination, it led to Urduization of some other non-Urdu-speaking Muslims who sought better education and status. Also, to some extent, propaganda of Urdu as being the only true “Muslim” and “superior” language of South Asia was promoted. With the birth of Pakistan Movement, the bulk of it having a majority of Urdu-speaking north Indians, Urdu language was further promoted. Upon Pakistan’s creation, the peak of Urduization process became a reality with the imposition of Urdu on the non-Urdu speaking peoples of Pakistan, in the form of Urdu as the national language of Pakistan.

Except for the 7% of Pakistanis who are north Indian Muslim migrants or their descendents, also known as Muhajirs, whose mother-tongue is Urdu, none of the other Pakistanis have anything to do with Urdu. In fact, imposition of Urdu is resented among many peoples of Pakistan. The loss of East Pakistan was also mostly due to imposition of Urdu on Bengalees. There were language riots in Sindh during the 70s. And basically Urdu is resisted in much of the country. If many people have learnt Urdu, it is simply because they are forced to do so, for social and economic communicational necessities under the Urdu-dominated system of the country. Instead of Urdu, why was not Arabic or Persian made the national language of Pakistan? At least, Arabic is the language of Islam (of Quran), thus naturally it would had been more accepted among Pakistanis. Also, Persian was another logical option, because of its historical role of being the official language in the region (Muslim and other periods), and would have made us closer to the Muslim brothers on our western borders.

National language is suppose to unite a country, but in Pakistan, Urdu as the national language has caused division and resentment among most Pakistanis. But the worse part is that Urdu being a north Indian language and foreign to Pakistan is slowly destroying the local languages/cultures, and “Indianizing” the native Pakistanis. This is cultural and linguistic genocide of Pakistanis. It is Indian imperialism, wearing the mask of falsehoods about Urdu language. Many of the native languages of Pakistan are already in danger of being extinct, mostly due to Urdu imposition. And when a language dies, so does its people’s identity and heritage. Pakistan was created mostly based on our cultural distinctiveness; unfortunately, Urdu-imposition is only forcefully making us artificially closer to India. And with this linguistic imperialism, also comes other aspects of cultural invasion. For example, north Indian music/TV/film dominates in Pakistan, whereas native Pakistani music/film/TV is largely ignored by the Urdu dominated media. Indian culture is widely spreading in Pakistan and it is visible with more women wearing the Indian dress sari, people adopting many Indian words/phrases in their native Pakistani languages, many Indian customs and ceremonies followed by Pakistanis, Pakistanis being brainwashed with biased Indian socio-political views, and much more.

We Pakistanis are grateful to Quaid-e-Azam for his efforts in the creation of Pakistan; however, as a human being he was not perfect. Jinnah’s choice of Urdu as the national language of Pakistan was his biggest mistake with long-term negative consequences. Criticizing Urdu as the national language of Pakistan might be very painful to many Pakistanis. But ignoring this issue with falsehoods and illusions will only worsen the problem. Let us be open-minded and cease Urdu as the national language of Pakistan. At the same time, Urdu language should be respected, and people given the freedom to learn or speak it. Promoting native languages to become the official languages of their respective provinces or districts is the best solution to the problem. All native languages of Pakistan should be declared as the national languages of Pakistan. This will ensure the preservation of our language/culture, unity and respect between the various ethnicities, and pride and distinctiveness in our Pakistani nationhood. If a multi-lingual country like Switzerland can have a successful multi-linguistic system, then so can we. Let us make change for our betterment before it’s too late!

More on this topic: Persian, Urdu, English, or Arabic language in Pakistan?

Re: Urdu Language Destroying Pakistan!

Too long to read. Post a synopsis if you want others to comment.

hi pakistan4ever i totally agree with you that urdu is destroying pakistan. urdu speaking administration of pakistan tried to force urdu on east pakistan and they didnt accepted 7% minority language and declared independance.
i wouldnt accept urdu as my language as mother tongue or national. My mother tongue which had more litrature than urdu sixty years ago.i am proud on my mother tongue which is punjabi and wouldnt accept urdu as national or non national language at my mother tongues cost

urdu speaking minorty of pakistan always controlled pakistan media and propagated against other laguages of pakistani people that these are languages of "ujad" people
although most urdu poets or writers were punjabi origion

Mashallah, so you want Panjabi to be the national language ...

Urdu holds the status of the national language of Pakistan and whether you like it or not it will be standing high as the official language of the country..

What people don’t seem to understand is reason behind choosing Urdu ias the national language is ... it provides a linguistic basis for the formation of a Muslim national identity.

Urdu is a “neutral” language because it does not have ethnic or tribal associations.

Unfortunately despite the fact that Urdu is our national language and it also reflects our national integrity, Urdu is facing prejudices as Widespread ignorance among the masses is being exploited, with the false propaganda of domestic languages as the "better" languages.

That need to be eliminated …

yes despite the fact that Punjabi is not spoken by 65% of Pakistani population :)

How is urdu destroying pakistan.

urdu is national language but it shouldnt be forced on anyone. it can be national language while states can enjoy their own languages and their languages should be promoted.

there is nothing wrong in having many common languages in any country infact its a great thing.

we need to protect not just urdu but all other languages. i have seen many people, who dont speak urdu but want to learn it and they think its a great language.

and dont be like my uncle, who thinks idiots speak urdu and he wont let his kids speak, and thinks punjabi is the best. everyone have their own preceptions of it.

Urdu Akbar ka boya hua beej hai otherwise aaj hum bhi Faarsi bol rahe hotay, as for my kids....I'll concentrate on teaching them reading and writing ancient languages like Arabic, Persian, Latin and Hebrew rather than modern languages like Urdu which is just a mixture of different languages.

Erasing ancient languages is part of the agenda of the One World Government, even in English you'll notice that they are making English "Easy" by new version of classic books which are either unabridged or retold, in movies they use slang and easy language.
All is part of making people dumb.

Khuddi sawal, khuddi jawab. Firstly, he (Pakistan4eveR) never said Punjabi should be the sole national language (open up your minds people, its not like Baluchis, sindhis or pakhtuns are in love with Urdu), as that would be the same as imposing Urdu onto these 3 other provinces where its not spoken. Many countries dont have just one national language, take India for instance where Hindi isnt the only national language, and its worked nicely for them.

It was a big mistake imposing Urdu on all these provinces (a mistake, because it was done with good intentions), and our national unity has always been weak and Urdu is one of the reasons. When Jinnah went to East Pakistan in 1948, and said 'let me make it clear to you that I want just one national language, and that will be Urdu', they forgave him and accepted his word because the man himself hardly knew Urdu. But when others after him tried to impose Urdu onto East Pakistan, we all know what happened. With that, I think its too far down the road to have 4-5 national languages now.

and how many speak Urdu?

I dont think many people except ethnic Nationalists think that Urdu is a negative thing. Ethnic nationalists would rather see english as a national language - why should we have english? At least urdu is native to south asia.

If there was no urdu the illiterate man of Pakistan would find it very hard to communicate his pashtu, punjabi, seraiki, sindhi, baloch, brahui, kho, burushashki, kohistani, kashmiri, shina, gujari, wakhi. The illiterate people would never be able to learn English.

What else could be the national language of pakistan? Persian, Arabic? Persian would have been perfect as so much of south asian muslim historry rests upon persian - one of the major influences on Urdu.

the 2 most commonly spoken languages are Punjabi and Seraiki - if they were forced to be the national language of Pakistan even more would complain.

Urdu is a good national language because of its neutrality within Pakistan pre-1947 - it was nt spoken by any of the sons of the soil ethhnic groups so at least there was no favouritism there. Also it had developed a role after persian as a language Indian muslims could identify with. Urdu is very similar to Hindi so in a way it became a strong regional language and today it is understood from Afghanistan east to Bangaldesh.

I find urdu as an extremely excellent language for cross cultural communication within pakistan. regardless of people complaining about it being imposed i am pretty much sure those same very people take advantage of the benefits of urdu.

Pakistan would be hell if each and every person demanded you spoke their mother tongue with them.

I think it is a perfect thing that the provinces have urdu imposed upon them.

Look at Balochistan - the 3 languages which have the highest numbers of speakers are Balochi, Brahui and pashtu. In Quetta all 3 groups use urdu as a language to communicate with each other.

Imagine if Balochi was imposed on Balochistan - its not even spoken by 40% of the population. the Brahui and Pashtuns wont be happy at all. On top of that a considerable amount in balochistan speak punjabi, persian, Mekrani, Seraiki/khetrani....

Look at NWFP.......70-80% speaks pashtu but still a good number speak hindko, chitral speaks kho, seraiki is spoken in eastern d i khan......
which language do you impose there? if there was no urdu then many would be forced to learn pashtu

in punjab...punjabi, seraiki, potohar are spoken......which language would you impose there? almost half of punjab may even speak seraiki..if not more....

in sindh...sindhi and urdu are both spoken....sindhi is spoken more widely......other languages spoken include balochi, thari, kachi, and with recent immigration punjabi and pashtu......fair enough sindhi nationalists claim that sindhiis the historical language of sindh but demographics change and one should look at present day situations......

i do believe that mother tongues should be taught in schools theres nothing wrong with that but we cant have regional parilaments where people are not understanding each other.

Punjabis and pashtns are mobile people and you get them everywhere in pakistan migrating looking for work....they benefit from urdu a lot......

Urdu makes pakistan a lot easier for us....we dont need to be like india where english a distant language is used for communication when we have a local desi substitute....

i found urdu very useful travelling around different areas within pakistan......if people dont want to use urdu or dislike it....then dont use it full stop.,..it wil only harm you thogh

joke sahib, though its too late to change, we've already lost east pakistan, and thanks to some events, close to losing another part of Pakistan, but we dont necessarily need to have 'one national language'. As I stated earlier, India does not have hindi as their national language, but instead have about 17 official languages, and its worked out wonders for them.

I like the language, but in General people of Pakistan, majority of them who prefer their provincial languages arent very fond of it. Its one of the things that they think is forcefully attributed to them, and makes them wary of not only the Govt, but the native speakers of the Urdu language.

While we are at it I want a turban wearing Saardar to be our president.

cheara??
halattun chitoray??

What destroying pakistan is our short sighted politicians,
Now leave language thingie alone,

If Pakistan would have not come into existence, still Urdu or Hindi would have been the common language of the present Pakistan.

Most likely yes, Persian was eradicated long time before Pakistan.

I guess the lady in the saree rejected em.