Urdu is Dead

Re: Urdu is Dead

zabaan e yaar e mun turki wa mun Turki na mee daanam

Thanks proudpakistani :)

Yep sab sahi hain… DDah is more close to jalousy, to envy.

Okay another word that comes to mind right now is … “amm”… “ammzaad”.

:bravo:

Nice sher AH :k:

“aamzaad” is someone you share your secret with? Kinda like bosom buddy?

That sher raises more questions.

Taair?
Kotaahi?

Pervaaz here means flight?
rizq means like income?

Rukhsarbibi : No.

PCG : If i m not mistaken “Taair” = bird.
Kotahi = smallness, shortness, narrowness

Yes Pervaaz is flight.
Rizq is yes like an income but i would say more closer meaning would be Subsistence.

:bravo:

I can speak it but I don't really like Urdu anymore, I wish we didn't have to learn it. :(

As soon as, my password gets reset on my orignal ID (as it was changed/taken over by an Admin), I will come back to join you guys with real me :wink:

Till then ciao:wave: from Ameer Hamzah :stuck_out_tongue:

PS: Millions Thanks To Ehsan Bhai :):flower1:

yaar itni mushkil angrezi kiouN boltay ho:P? could have simply translated as “Ghalati” :slight_smile:

In this specific sher it does not really mean ghalati, but it means more like rukawat.

ammzad is your peer rite? same age as yours?

PCG,

“Jarru ki jhappi” means To Hug a Broom

“karb-e-agaahi” Curb your front

:jhanda:

if u ask me..........standard of urdu on ptv is going down not up.....karb-e-agahi is very forced urdu, its doesnt really flow....it shud have been karb-e-ashanai......agahi is weird and so not right..... i am sure ghlaib wud agree wit me

Urdu hai jiss kaa naam, hum hi jaantay haiN Daagh
Saaray jahaaN maiN dhoom hamaari zubaaN ki hai

PP: you are right.... kotaahi does not have the meaning of "Ghalati" in the couplet...

what is the first verse of:

Aati hai urdu zubaaN aatay aatay

???

I kinddaa forgot it :(

Hmm Gudia ur rite some of the Urdu words are so difficult to understand that i think what is that? I've a friend and als we talk in Urdu then sometime's he use difficult words and im like what??? What are you saying?? LOL

here it is Anwar Qureshi sahab.

Nahin hay khail daagh yaroon seh keh do
Keh aati hai Urdu zubaan aatay aatay

Welcome back.

Urdu is pretty much alive and kicking !

If you can not read urdu in urdu text ( rasm-ul-khat) then your urdu is in ICU, And urdu for your children is pretty much dead.

Listen this beautiful ghazal of faiz by Iqbaal bano or Tina saani... that way you may relax and understand few new word

Dasht-e-tanhai main ay Jane jaahaa.n, larzaaaa.n hian
here are meanigs of few ...

Dasht= desert
Larzaaan = trembling
Saraab = Mirage
Khas-khaak= Dried leaves(sokhey patey)

Iqbaal Bano and Tina Sani are from an older generation. Young kids today don't have that kind of vocabulary. How often do people use these kinds of words in their every day speech? Even in speech at work?

Answer:

:slight_smile:

AQ, a language dies when people stop using it. Otherwise, I can say that Aramaic is alive n kickin'

Exactly what I pointed out.

As for urdu, only ABCD’s have stopped using it…

It’s still very much alive; and constantly growing.

Gey’soo-e-Urdu abhi mannat pazeer-e-shaana hai
Shama’ yeh sodaai, dil sozi-e-parwaanah hai!