updates !!!

for reference: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-and-relationships/500672-typical-desi-problem-solutions.html

AoA All,

Back again with MORE problems :frowning:

SO, I managed to convince mom to not to kick them out on the upper storey and try giving her time and space to sense that situation in HER susral is not even comparable to what her mom might have to face and she needs not to follow the formula she’s been fed. it’s been a month now and nothing has improved a bit. she is still disinterested in household or her husband (my brother) and just comes back from her housejob to sleep for 4 hours in afternoon and stick to tv with constant texting on mobile for the rest of the day. Even I have been there and witnessed that (for you who think I am building opinions whatever mom tells me since I live at my place). Now mom is really upset to see her son being depressed and quiet all the time. My brother even told mom he wants to go find peace and wants to visit dad ALONE for a month and that he wants to try applying for jobs abroad. Mom was happy and told that it might work for THEM staying away from her and our family,building relations with him and he said NO, I am planning to leave alone and she will stay here like most of the people do i.e. wives in pakistan and husbands working abroad,visiting once a year because he needs to escape from the entire scenario ! We are shocked to see that things have gone bad to THIS extent already? khair, we didnt say anything considering it a phase when he was trying to find a way out.

latest development: she is off to her place since few days now. My husband and bhabi’s dad work in the same unit at the hospital actually and her dad is really a sweet man (apparently) and HE had a talk with my husband that he’s upset because he can see that his daughter is not happy and settled despite 2 months of marriage and he cannot see them look like a merry,newly wed couple and asked hubby if he knows there are issues? my husband didnt know much (i didnt discuss it with him in detail obviously). We are REALLY upset at this now that things are moving in a bad direction. she has involved her parents without them knowing about her behaviour (they will obviously think she is innocent and uskay sath koi zyaadti ho rahi hai) and they involved my husband since he is the middle-man who knows both families and was involved in this rishta totally (which i hated because i knew this will bring him in awkward position if anything goes wrong) and i am SO disturbed because

step 1= arguments b/w the couple , which if fails and gets out of control, jumps to
step 2= involvement of either of parents, then
step 3= involvement of my hubby since both families know him
step 4= his dad talking to my brother if things dont settle after talking to my husband
step 5= confrontation of both the families face to face
step6= catastrophe because involvement of parents in such a situation when it is just preliminary state of marriage will be jumping on conclusions and decisions

maybe I am getting to pessimistic but I dont know !!

Now the dilemma:

I really want to talk to them before this heads on to any serious crisis but bhabi would possibly consider me from being a part of the ‘opposite’ group and that wont work at all.

Hubby wants to talk to her(she works in the same unit as her dad and my hubby) but he says he doent have any sort of direct dealing wih her and he is not in a position either.

So I talked to my brother this morning and got to know that there are more issues here :bummer: I explained that HE should talk to her when she comes back today about it and he was almost teary saying that ‘I am totallt helpless because she lies to me about EVERYTHING. I have talked to her about how to resolve issues and go on with building a pleasent relationship earlier and she discusses things and makes me believe that she will be helping around at home, wont think of staying separately and the next day she is still the same. She texts EACH and EVERY thing that happens in our place like we had khala visiting, mom is not well, the servant is on leave,etc to her mom and her mom never gives her positive advice.’ I asked how do you know that and he said that her mom accidently send texts to him because his and bhabi’s name start with same alphabets and most of us have their names in the phonebook next to each other. last msg he got 5 days back was ’ tum dafa karo uss aurat ko, uskao aisay dramay bahut atay hain. tum araam se kamray may baitho.koi zaroorat nai kisi kay pass bahir janay ki’ it was about my mom being sick (she is on anti platelet medicine for minor stroke attacks and has bleeds/bruises all over the body under skin since last week as a side effect and has aches+itching all over) and bhabi’s mom sent this msg by mistake to my brother. He says has talked to her about it earlier too to not to transfer every tiny info to her mom since her mom never give her positive directions and he even told her earlier with proofs from his and her texts in mobile nd she has been promising 4 times at different occasions that she will not do that and it is still all there. he is frustrated that ’ uss jhooti larki se mai kya baat karoon? mujay uski kisi baat pe trust nai hai. mujay chup karwa deti hai reassure kar kay aur phir wohi harkatayn karti hai’

I am really upset now. Is there a way to handle this situation ? I thought that she was naive and needs time to settle but yahan aur hee kahani hai :frowning:

Re: updates !!!

Shadi ko khamyaab ya barbaad kerney main larki se zada us ki maa ka haath hota hai. There are such moms who think they should interfere in their daughter's married life and guide her on the basis of their own experience. You have identified the root cause of the problem. If the matter has already reached your bhabi's dad, may be your brother can talk to him and show him the text messages as proof. Only bhabi's dad can discuss the matter with his wife and he can ask her to stop interfering in their daughter's life. This seems to be the only solution to me.

we are working on it :( my husband was just told by her dad that she is not going back home today (or ever for now) because she says she is not happy. time for a big confrontation/discussion ! :(

mods: can this thread be please deleted. there seems to be no solution :teary: or anything that “I” can do to prevent the upcoming disaster :frowning:

You can talk to your brother about how he will approach this situation with his FIL and give him your support. He should not confrontational or accusatory but explain the situation from his point of view; that he has done what he can to make her happy i.e. moving to the separate portion but he's not getting anything in return. IMO it's not even about her helping around the house or helping your mum or anything, she seems disinterested in the marriage and spending time with her husband. I think he probably should show his FIL the text, but not immediately. He should make it clear that he does now know what she wants from this union, so how can he make her happy?

To be honest, if they go their separate ways, I don't think it would be the worst thing in the world. Assuming she doesn't change. I don't see why two people should live in misery for all their lives. It just sounds like she is not happy nor does she want to be happy in this marriage and in the process is making your brother miserable. Again, forget helping your parents our or anything, what sort of life is it where you just go to work and spend the rest of the time sleeping or on the phone?

confrontation is necessary in this case, something that serious cannot be fixed otherwise, best think to do is show the txts to your SIL before they blame your entire family

Hello multinicked :

I can see that you are very understanding and I think you have the ability to fix the situaion. Sometimes we just need a right direction and we start things correctly. I will tell you a condensed version of the story. The purpose of the story is to give you some sort of direction as to how to approach the problem (and not how to solve the problem).

Characters of the story: Girl, girl’s brother, girl’s sister, girl’s father, girl’s mother, girl’s husband (also gir’s first cousin), girl’s father-inlaw (also girl’s uncle taya).
girl, brother, sister, father, mother, husband, father-inlaw (uncle).

So, the uncle being the elder of the extented family decided that his son (the husband) is old enough and should get married. he calls up his younger brother (father) and tell him i want these two to get married. the father was hesistant in the beginning since she was studying and the uncle told him to shutup and not to think too much. he obeys and their son and daughter got marriage (with rukhsati, since the girl was already studying). soon after the marriage the husband started ‘dictating’ to her wife, even though she was still living with her parents. he started putting restrictions and what not. obviously the girl got confused if this is the situation now what is gonna happen afterwards but she being an obedient daughter didnt say much. she didnt tell much about it to her parents much either. but afterwards the things got intense

the brother used to live abroad found out what was happening to her sister. he immediately pressured her to tell him every single detail. he realized the husband was a real nutjob so he got pissed off at his family for being blind and what not. so then he told his mother this is unacceptable and somehow convinced her. he also conviced his other sister. so the three of the family members (brother, sister, mother) stood up against their father and said we know that he (uncle) is your elder brother and you respect and obey him but this is our sister (girl) and we will not let this happen we will not ruin her life like this etc etc. the brother said to his father if you cannot tell your brother (uncle) we will do it. and they did. there was a HUGE fight. and in the end they got divorced.

after reading your first thread here are my thoughts:

if you want to solve the problem, you need to find out what is she up to, who is she interacting with. only then you will be able to have an explanation for her actions and possibly find a solution.

my question to you is: what in the world were you guys thinking when this ristha happened?

thanks stoppit and others for your input.

shehryar, my husband knew his dad since years, my uncle was collegues with him and he had a good reputation. both the parents are medical doctors at professor posts, the girl is a brilliant student herself. What else would be a good biodata with aquaintances for the rishta ? I am firmly believing now that no education can change the dirty thinking or practices of any family. sometime our servants who have never seen a school say the wisest things ever ! it is all qismat i guess .. sigh !

we are in the most awkward situation. I and mu husband have had numerous confrontations. My brother says that she went home all happy and was exchanging texts and call until yesterday and decided on her own not to come back so he doesnt care if she comes or not because he didnt tell her to leave neither he did/said anything wrong to her. My husband wants to resolve the situation by making my brother girl's dad and herself sit and discuss at our place for a reconciliation. Mom is angry that if they want to by-pass her to resolve,and no one ever cared to tell her or my brother that she is sitting naraz at her place , only that her dad talked to my husband, so she doesnt feel anything good about her already and doesnt want anyone to expect that she will ever love her again ! i just have no place to hide !

This sounds like a horrible situation for you and your family. if i could give a little bit of advice, get the families together face to face. YOur brother has proof of her mothers disgusting attitude and they cant deny it or wriggle out of it. Does her mother want her daughter to get divorced/seperated? what a stupid woman!
The girl sounds very immature, naive and frankly stupid too (sorry to sound harsh OP),
my heart goes out to you all, May Allah guide your brother on the right path.

I have seen a very similar situation.......almost identical.

The girl's mom never stopped 'spoon feeding' her daughter about how to handle her life..

The girl was herself kind of naive....so most of the stupid things she said/did were on her mother's instructions...

Things got really really ugly......the girl's family was kinda nuts....

long story short.... the guy and the girl moved away........from parent's house............and the guy restricted the girl's communication with her mom.....

now their married life is ok.......2 kids born after that fiasco

so.......the only workable solution...."Get the guy to take the girl away from your mom"

he doesnt ever agree with this solution.we even tried convincing him today but he says he can never respect or love his wife if she is the reason for leaving mom alone when there has never been a direct or indirect problems between them.

^ well thats the thing...... the girl wouldn't understand untill she is free from her mom's 'instructions'...and that can happen when the girl lives the guy without the drama.....

so...he can give it a shot like that.....and move back with mom later...

thanks. I really hope things get better soon :(

and this is a perfect example of how its not always the guy's mother who's the villain...larki ki ma can turn into a real villain too...

i hate to say this but girls once they are married need to act like adults and try and solve ur own problems instead of running to mom for everything...ive never seen any good coming out of the advices a girl gets from her mom after discussing a so called problem

ur bhabhi seriously needs to realize that of all the things she is doing wrong this is the worst...i dont wanna sound pessimistic but i feel like so long as her mother is interfering nothing...these issues cannot be solved

i dont think ur bhabhi wants them solved anyways...she sounds like a typical whine about everything make herself look like a bechari kind of chick...i wonder if she even wanted to get married or if she even wanted to marry ur bro

i think nomi is ryte the best solution might be to get the couple to live alone for a while

I think, NomiCA wanted to say... Get the guy to take the girl away from HER mom (the girl's mom) because she is spoon feeding her. But how is this possible? The guy can't restrict the wife from communicating with her mom over the phone.

The couple has already move upstairs so they are kinda already seprate from the guy's mom.

maybe he meant get the couple away from everyone for a while ...cuz if they're living independently then what is the girls mom going to spoon feed her? ur husband is a jerk? right now the husband's mom is a scapegoat but what if they werent even living with her then what?

yest thats what i meant......

the girl's mom needs some 'issue' in order to 'advise' about.........once the couple is away from home.....she wouldn't have those.........and the girl's actual self will show...and they will be able to judge how much of a problem is the girl and how much her mom.....

Well the OP said they were hopeful when her bro said he was going abroad as they expected him to take his wife along and maybe being away from all the family would allow things to change. However, he's rightly worried about doing that because it's going to be very difficult if she's the same there and instead of him getting some breathing space it will be more stress.

OP, the confrontation is going to happen. I still stick by what I said before, that your bother really should discuss this with your FIL first without his wife and daughter present who could say all manner of things, which is going to make it difficult for your bro to make his point. However, talk to your brother first and if he wants to give this marriage a go, tell him that the best way in the current situation is for the two of them to go abroad to give it a chance. If nothing changes there, he knows where he stands. Once he has explained the current situation to his FIL, he should tell him that if his daughter wants to give the marriage a proper chance, he is prepared for the two of them to immediately go abroad for some time so they can have a fresh start AND his FIL needs to ensure that his wife backs off completely. If they refuse... again, your brother knows where he stands.