updates !!!

Re: updates !!!

I have seen a situation exactly like this in my family.

The girl was from a good family but she had alot of interference from both her father and mother and in this case her father would give her 'bad advice'

However. Now i am just decribing what happened in my family i am NOT saying you are doing this. But the guy in the situation he used to tell every minor detail of his marriage to his sisters and his sisters developed resentment against their bhabi, their bhabi started to behave even more badly and the sisters all disliked the bhabi even more.

As a result the bhabi left and the marriage unfortunately broke down.

A few months later it was found out the everyone was unhappy with the girl because she 'had no interest in the home' and the girl said that, due to her upbringing, she never had to look after the home she had never been expected to so it was a shock to her when she got married to have all these expectations and she found the transition from single uni life to bhabi bahu with these expectations and lots of nands on her case horrible so she would lash out, maybe if she had been given alot of love and support and shown how to slowly look after the home and if people from allllllll sides stopped intefering so much things would have been different.

Im not saying this is the case in the OP situation but it is another perspective on things.

you are right inspiron. there could be other perspective and this is why I came up with the problem here to see if there is something that we can improve from our end.

So, they came over and had a discussion. I felt really embarrassed and awkward because every itchi witchy things came out and all her complaints were childish. ‘mujay ghussay se dekha’ type of things where no one could give explanations except feeling pity on her brains. and when asked about the texts her mom sent, her dad complete ignored saying ‘maa beti kay hazaar dukh sukh hotay hain, uskay mobile phone ko ko uss se poochhay baghair kyun check kiya’ !! buss fazool baatayn which he was not ready to admit at all and accept his mistakes. He even told that he had confiscated her cell phone for two days and he had been replying to my brother’s texts to her because he felt she might get more disturbed if she communicated with my brother over texts. wtf !! abb aik pagal ko kya jawaab de insaan.

anyways she is back home now, my brother is highly annoyed and warned that next time if she goes there all happy and has a fit of thoughts and decides to stay and ggather the whole khaandaan to resolve issues, she should do that in her dreams.

and my husband thought i give him tough time !! :snooty:

so the dad took his daughter's cellphone......and replied to his son in law's text acting as his daughter????

Right...living independently does seem like the best option what with the interference involved

interesting you're right there is an another perspective on things, but I would like to ask just one question, zaroori hai ke jo ek karta hai woh dusra bhi kare? i mean if ur husband is making the mistake of involving the women in his house in his marriage, and you can see that that involvement is wreaking havoc in your marriage, is it necessary for you to make the same mistake? can you not see that if you involve more ppl (his family is already involved now u r involving additional people: your family) then you're just asking for trouble?

and by you i mean her not you lol :p

YES. he says he wanted to sense what type of behaviour his daughter is facing!

he was acting smart and thinks that he used a wise approach to get her daughter settled !

^ this girl seems very very 'ladli' and thats why she doesnt know how to handle herself, shes behaving like a child.

You know what, ignore her for a while and just like children do, they realise the behaving in such a way results in NO attention but be nice to her when you see her etc and she will come round herself maybe.

Even dad is interfering to an extent that he was replying to his daughter’s husband on her behalf. How childish act was that? No privacy to his daughter and her husband? What kind of parents are they? :smack:

well…you have got a ‘nuts’ family on your hand…i also thought what stoppit suggested was good approach…to talk to the FIL…but it seems the same way as was the case in the story i mentioned..

such people aren’t ever hesitant about getting their daughters divorced…so now you can do nothing but pray …:nahi:

i just hate the guys who share every single details of their married life to their mothers or sisters (and vice versa with their wife). Such guys can never live a happy life and also spoil the life of their partners.

unfortunately the girl's father doesnt seem to be reasonable either so i dunno what good would come of speaking with him....just really need to get the couple to live separately for a while...so there can be no scapegoating....and see how it turns out...only then can u truly reach a conclusion

true but all I am saying is that just cuz a girl's husband is doing it doesnt mean the girl should do it too ...two wrongs dont make a right,...

with no offense to any one at all, larkia to aisi situation mein aksar aisay hi behave kartee hein but men should act reasonable as they are supposed to be emotionally stronger.

alright i see your point :)

I dont see a room for improvement, shes not being compromising and on top of everything shes not willing to put her part of effort with ur brother to make the marraige work. If she wants to re-think, let her.It will be better for ur bhai

One of my closest friends...once told me that her sister was having issues with her husband. And the sister would turn to everyone for advice within her own family. Well, it made matters worse. Family members all have their own personality and perception of things...and can differ in their advice...and it can leave a person feeling more confused and frustrated. Once she stopped asking them for advice...things improved in her marriage. This is not to say that you shouldn't turn to your family for help...but not every detail needs to be shared. There's the saying that a husband and wife are like a garment for one another...and I thought that this saying also means that they conceal or cover one another from embarrassment, etc. I'm sure it can't be easy...your family tends to be the first and closest support network through so many years of your life that it's natural to want to vent to them....it would require some discipline not to go overboard with that.

Its a long read but you have still not explained the problem. Anyway I believe that a couple should solve their own problems and not involve family, however if that is not possible then a conference should be called of the both sets of parents in order to resolve matters. The situation will only be improved by talking and not by ignoring the situation.

Reading the link to the previous thread suggests that the real issue is that your SIL wants to live separately and your brother doesn't, because he cannot afford to.

Why did he get married if he cannot afford to live independently? It seems that he can afford to live separately but does not want to spend the money and would rather that his parents paid for his upkeep. I think your brother needs to grow up. Or does he expect the parents of the wife to buy him a house? I don't think your SIL would be making a drama unless she was under the impression that she will live separately.

Reading ur post it seems that you don't like ur sister in law. It also appears that she wants to live separately and is not interested in living with a joint family. It seems that your brother is only concerned with costs and living off his parents and doesn't want to support himself and his own family just by himself.

Maybe ur sister in law doesn't like housework? She works and some women just don't like housework. If they both work then maybe the husband should look after his own stuff and if he feels his mom needs help then either help her himself or hire somone to do so. In Pakistani culture it seems people get married so their wife can be a household servant also even if she works full time. There's nothing wrong with not wanting to do the housework. In that situation the husband and wife should communicate - if they can afford this, the easy answer is to hire some help.

The best solution in this case would be for the husband and wife to live separately and not have all this family interference that they do now and see if they can sort things out between themselves. I think right now there is too much interference from both the husband and wife's families in this marriage and that's one of the reasons it's in serious trouble.

did anyone in your family do istekhara before the wedding happened?