Re: up to date city reports on law and order situation
Hey skipper1, i was thinking of you since you mentioned you were heading to karachi... be safe dude!
Thanks man... fortunately I was sick on that day and stayed home, many members of my family were on road when protests started, somehow they managed to come home after spending few hours hiding/hiking.
Saby I agree 100% with your statement. I witnessed similar scenario way back in the early 90s when I was in Karachi. These morons have no sympathies with anyone and they just do it for the heck of it. Maybe they get paid from somewhere to do such stuff. The people who are genuinely disturbed and sad dont go out and torch public property.
Similar scenes were observed during the Danish Cartoon saga, where the objective seemed to be looting the property and people had real fun burning shops and running away with electronics and such stuff from the malls.
They should be treated in a proper way - shoot to kill maybe a bit too much, but yes once they are caught a proper chitrool should be done so that they may tell their generations to come to NEVER ever burn or loot public property.
Are the cities any calmer now? anyone...?
The protests were on full strength for probably first 12 hours, some areas/cities picked up late on protests. News coverages were not great probably because no one including media men felt safe to go into troubled areas. From what little I heard private traffic/rickshaws started (limited) movement on Friday morning. Hopefully today will see much better situation.
Things are pretty normal in Rawalpindi Cantt, the Westridge area. Thats the headquarter of the military so it has to be like that. Folks staying at home and avoiding going out totally. F-10/F-11 are totally quiet as well.
Saby I agree 100% with your statement. I witnessed similar scenario way back in the early 90s when I was in Karachi. These morons have no sympathies with anyone and they just do it for the heck of it. Maybe they get paid from somewhere to do such stuff. The people who are genuinely disturbed and sad dont go out and torch public property.
Similar scenes were observed during the Danish Cartoon saga, where the objective seemed to be looting the property and people had real fun burning shops and running away with electronics and such stuff from the malls.
They should be treated in a proper way - shoot to kill maybe a bit too much, but yes once they are caught a proper chitrool should be done so that they may tell their generations to come to NEVER ever burn or loot public property.
That Danish cartoons saga was sooooo mind boggling. People were burnign motor cycles, shops, cars for NO REASON AT ALL. We as a nation dont deserve this much liberty to protest because in the end we will be damaging our ownselves. kisi ka kuch nahi bigarta.
Proper chitrol will not set their screwed up minds.
This is BS! Government jams it! Believe it or not I'm on spot!
Sir Ji, I know a lot of people in ISPs and being an IT person we know the difference between 'jamming' a signal and cutting main cable. Some Internet companies were still running and if a signal is jammed, it will affect all links and not just a few selected ISPs.
That Danish cartoons saga was sooooo mind boggling. People were burnign motor cycles, shops, cars for NO REASON AT ALL. We as a nation dont deserve this much liberty to protest because in the end we will be damaging our ownselves. kisi ka kuch nahi bigarta.
I agree! Definitely! Even western countries have limitation about protests, you cant just go around burning every thing!
What message are we giving to the world when they see those images? But then, these so called protesters dont give a tiny rats a$$ about what the others think.
I personally think there are people (read thieves, robbers) who take advantage of such situations. Burning Banks, shops ... cmon guys no sane political worker would do that.
Massive riot rally on Murree road confronting the riot police, apparently they want to go and torch Lal Haveli, which is the famous house of Sheikh Rashid. Shiekh Rashid has gone underground though.
Sir Ji, I know a lot of people in ISPs and being an IT person we know the difference between 'jamming' a signal and cutting main cable. Some Internet companies were still running and if a signal is jammed, it will affect all links and not just a few selected ISPs.
Not everything is a conspiracy dear.
Acha yeh baat hai. I thought cut cables need repairing time. Internets here are off and on almost in minute phases and I"m still fighting with this "problem". Dont worry Its not my modem and I'm no tthe only one experience the same "jamming". Haan It might be the bad weather j/k.
*****edited- please guys. just keep this as a source of info, plenty of other threads to have the discussiosn about rioters and their political affiliations. I am not saying cant have these discussions, but please leave this thread as an info source for people**
but the thing is not all of them are of ppp...a lot of them are young kids burning down places for the fun of it.Like people have now got opportunity to rob banks escape from jail.It doesnt mean to say all of these people are in ppp
That is very true. As with all such events (like natural disasters) common criminals take advantage of the situation, and wreak havoc, and there is a lot of that happening.
Talked to family in the Gulistan-e-Jauhar /Karsaz area of Karachi, and things are pretty quiet there now, though everywhere seems to be closed, and people are staying indoors.
I have talked to friends in Punjab - Gujar Khan, Lahore, and Gujrat and no reports of any disturbances there, or anything major.
talked with mom in north Nazimabad - karachi, my brother and his family had arrived from islamabad to spend eid here and they had to change their travel plans and extend their stay here. Things on the galli mohalla stage are okay, traffic is still thin on the roads. Some shops have opened. Phone and internet seems to be working fine.
Acha yeh baat hai. I thought cut cables need repairing time. Internets here are off and on almost in minute phases and I"m still fighting with this "problem". Dont worry Its not my modem and I'm no tthe only one experience the same "jamming". Haan It might be the bad weather j/k.
Sir ji, cable is still in the repairing process. We all are being routed through alternative 'limited' alternate route for internet traffic which is why its so intermittent (on and off) and you are right you are not the only one who is experiencing that.
PIA operations return to normality
KARACHI, Dec 29: Normality returned to PIA’s domestic and international flight operations on Saturday morning at all stations, according to a statement. The statement said minor delays were experienced due to late reporting of passengers, crew and staff because of transport-related snags in Karachi and other cities. The airline said it had made arrangements for accommodating passengers on the next available flight if they missed theirs.
All flights originating in Lahore, Islamabad, Peshawar and Karachi reported no cancellations on Saturday, the PIA said. However, one Haj flight (PK-3020) arriving from Jeddah and bound for Quetta was diverted to Karachi because of evening visibility problem at Quetta.—APP