Unwanted Guests

Im talking about those annoying aunties. The reason I say anoying is because they come over, and no matter how hard I try to talk to them, its impossible to start a conversation with them. I mean I do all the talking and these certain strange quiet silent type aunties sit and stare at my face, answering once in a while with monosyllables. I mean yes maybe they are the quiet type, but when I try so hard to talk to them, why cant they just TALK. Why not ask something or let the conversation flow!!!

And then when Im about to give up, I get the “Beti kuch kaho na. Baat karo na. Chup chaap behti hau” !

I mean when you go over for dinner or whatever, I think there should be a law that says either have a proper conversation or leave! Refrain from staring at my face, it makes me think I grew another head!

Arghhh :mad: .

Re: Unwanted Guests

Please keep in mind these aunties may be married to some a$$hole and probably have lost all the apetite of social norms.

theres no such thing as an unwanted guest, my daddi always says you should treat guests as if the are God, no matter how "rude" they seem to be.

I never thought of that. But this was not just one person. Quite a few people actually. I cant understand why theres the need to make me feel so odd. But its possible , they might be having some other issues. Now Im all depressed, its your fault. :frowning:

Well I dont find it rude, just irritating. I mean I do all the talking, and I get nothing back, makes me feel like Im nuts. I feel really silly sitting there doing all the talking.

Maybe I should just let the silence hang. But God knows thats so much worse.

I agree MM - when people come to our house, they are treated so well. No one has a chance to stare inanely at wierdo mutations - they are too busy enjoying themselves. O well, I guess we can't all be good hosts.

Maybe they don't feel comfortable talking to you and are more at ease with women their own age?

My mother deals with aunty guests and she does it pretty well. Besides all her friends are quite fun to be with. I only have to be present if I want to, fortunately, and they are lovely enough for me to want to be there.

Now Im a bad hostess . My dears trust me I walk in wearing a stunning outfit and a glowing face, which they just cant resist. :rolleyes: .

I have friends of all ages. Esp people who are older. I get along well with them, and we never run out of things to talk about. Aunties are usually great to chat to. They’re funny and amusing. But these "silent staring at me " types - Ive no idea what to do with them. And these same aunties are the same with women oftheir own ages too. Nobody else has met up with one of these aunties? Ajeeb.

Ha! I always have to be present. Its not possible to hide at dinners.

^ ditto Femme, but aunties love me anyway, eventhough I am very shy and never talk to them … unless I have to. :blush:

queen :) , i feel that these days we are too concerened with being talkative. It has become a norm to have the conversation going. At gatherings such as parties, dinners e.t.c silence is seen as a weakness and a social defect. Listening is golden, its precious. Silence puts us in a composed state so we can calmly absorb and reflect. It makes us examine rather than just see, we start listening instead of just hearing. I hope you will appreciate these aunties who have years of experience and are much wiser than you. Learn and you shall grow. God bless.

• Gamma

ya ya ‘love’!!! :smiley:

My aunties are a lot of fun. There may be a few who are not and I just deprive them of my august presence :snooty:

i have to deal with aunty ji’s alone, and i think they’r a laugh…some of the stories they come out with are hilareous and you always learn something new…whether it be how to make a new dish or how to make your husband believe hes always right and con money out of him at the same time :smiley:

LOL. gamma when did you become a philosopher, although yes you still have some valid points. But do you know how completely weird it feels to be so silent at dinners? Forget about social norms. I mean do we stare at each other and not talk? Talking is important. :(

Maybe you are just a crap conversationalist? No one has that problem with me and I’m pretty fit.

And you would know because… ?

Sigh aside from gamma everyones started the whole self praise. Hai Allah. :frowning:

Not self praise sweety, its a fact. But I’ve quoted the post in which you indulge. have a read.

As for your skills, I am, just deducing from the fact that noone seems to want to speak to you, even when u look (apparantly ) half decent.

True true. We need to pick up on those money coning tricks soon enough :smiley:

But honestly I do not like being alone with aunties. My mother always has to be there even with the best of them.

“noone?” You’re all in this thread. Shall I do some deducing on that too?

Well if they talked to me based on the half decent looking part, I would make sure the dinner ended up on their heads.

Anyway I like aunties. Dont mind being alone with them. I just thought maybe somebody else has encountered the silent aunties. Maybe Im just too used to the ones who chatter all the time. No clue.

perfecting the art of serving tea and which way to stir it really helps with this whole money conning thing…the aunties always spill after they’v had a samosa or two

indeed, talking is important. But dont you think we are too obsessed with speaking our mind without any reflection?. Most of the time we just hear other people, not listen, waiting for our turn to talk. Our voice, our ability to speak should be treated as a privilage. Speech a gift, use it wisely. Every word should have purpose. Try listening , encourage others to speak at these parties. 'Open-ended' questions like: "What have you been doing lately" , "How have you been feeling", "You seem fresh and happy?" encourage others.

I dont mean to be sexist but i think i am correct when i say that women have the need to verbally express their feelings. The ability to communicate well is the key to establishing good relationships and in my opinion communication is mostly about trying to absorb the other person. Its an attempt, free of judgments, to dig deep and listen to every word the other party has to say. God Bless.

• Gamma